Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

FIRST STAY AT THE CHARNWOOD HOTEL

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The staff, rooms and food were excellent.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to the A1 and lots of towns to visit.
This was our first visit to the Charnwood, our son has just moved to the area and we wanted a hotel which was close to him. It was very easy to find with lots of free parking right outside the door. The welcome we received from the staff was wonderful and we really enjoyed our stay, we will be using this hotel every time we visit our son which will be on a regular basis. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent with the breakfasts cooked to order, the room was very large and the bathroom had both a shower and bath with lots of hot water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Needs updating

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: It had a great location for us, near friends and relatives. Too bad that it was below par.
Cons: They had changed the heating over to summer and the Hotel and rooms were cool. We were given a plug in room heater otherwise would have frozen
Location: Not really applicable in this survey
We stayed here 3 years ago and enjoyed everything. What a change. We had requested and been given a particular room 6, when we arrived the room was occupied and we did not get it changed for 4 days. If we had not paid fully in advance we would have left. Will not do this again. Why does Expedia request us to Prepay over 3 months ahead of time??? We booked a car with you for the stay and were very pleased and paid on arrival.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from norfolk

don't stay there

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: nice pond in the garden!
Cons: most things
Location: good golf course
I telephoned through for directions to find the hotel but no one could help. No one new the road number the hotel was situated on and even told me there was no road number! I was given the poste code which was of no use as we had no sat nav with us. The receptionist was even unable to tell us which side of the A1 they were. We eventually found it, checked in and went to our room and then headed to the dining room. The meal was awful, vegetables probably cooked a week ago. When I enquired for a wine list I was told they have white, red or rose, quite a difficult choice! On returning to our room we found it to be very cold as the radiator was not on, tried to rectify but no joy. Reception closed so no hope of any help there. Looking forward to a nice hot shower in the morning, but no joy, water cold too. We then went through for breakfast. helped ourselves to orange juice, a little tricky as all glasses were stuck to the tray and very dirty. Not a promising start and whilst trying to find the cleanest glass my feet were also stuck to the floor! Breakfast was actually ok but I was worried how long my tummy would hang on to it considering the cleanliness around us. I don't think we will return. On checking out the receptionist did deduct the price of one breakfast to compensate for no hot water, this didn't make me feel any warmer. Yours sincerely Julie Whales
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night sufficient

Posted May 22, 2015
Room & common areas tired & need re decoration breakfast cold
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mid bedfordshire

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Welcoming staff
Cons: Wi fi poor , could only get in reception , saying that it was free to use.
Location: Great location , rural but easy access to A1
Friendly welcome , all staff were excellent .Nice hotel , Recommend to a friend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

Convenient for a local wedding just outside Blythe

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Hotel receptionist pleasant and helpful, th restaurant staff were friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by darren from uk

would stay again

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
stayed 1 night on business. bit remote but overall quite good. would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SIU LING from China

Big and clean room

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
Good hotel, room is very big, comfortable and clean. Staffs are nice as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kenneth from Inverurie

Nice hotel and good service

Posted Dec 20, 2014 on Hotels
Quick stopover on road home following a business trip. Nice hotel, good service and would definitely return if in the area