Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Christmas Market!

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: Good value for money and comfortable.
Cons: Leaky shower.
The staff were all welcoming and accommodating towards us. Location for town centre was good, 15 min walk or bus stops very close by. Parking facilities was very handy. Small convenience shop close and also small odeon cinema nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Doctor from Colchester

Would surely like to come back here

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was just a night at this hotel, but we got absolutely everything we needed. Sue and Daniel were very welcoming n friendly and helped us in every way possible. The room was very comfortable and the decor of this hotel is amazing. We both loved it. They have ample space, the lounge / TV room downstairs is cosy and the beautiful tea pots and other decorative articles seen all over this hotel are very very impressive. Lovely experience indeed. The only thing lacking if at all, is that there is no telephone or intercom in any of the rooms. You need to rely on your mobile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Good hotel and value for money

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed with three friends, in two twin rooms for one night - fairly large rooms, clean, comfortable beds. Bonus of freeview TV while getting ready. The man at the reception when we arrived was very helpful in directing us towards the city centre, bars and restaurants. He also made us aware that the building used as 'Wayne Manor' in the most recent Batman trilogy was a short drive from the hotel - Excellent place to visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice no fuss hotel.

Posted Aug 26, 2013
I specifically booked here as they had a 3 bed room, it was easy to find, clean, the staff were good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by El from Cambridge

Comfy clean friendly

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Room size and staff
Cons: Decor
Location: Perfect distance from town centre
Friendly and welcoming staff Nice big room very clean Decor needs updating other than that was brill. Only £5 for taxi to town centre. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richard M from England

Excellent value for money!

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
I paid for a standard single with shared shower facilities but I ended up with a double bedroom with bathroom! Maybe they upgraded me because the hotel was quiet...I don't know. Anyway, the bedroom was clean, bed was comfortable. The receptionist/bar-maid/breakfast chef (it seemed like she did everything there!) was friendly and accommodating, and even gave my mum a wake-up knock on the door in the morning, as requested. The breakfast (additional charge) was good and in addition the hotel had free wifi internet access throughout (signal was weak in my room but was better in the lobby and bar areas). Really was excellent value for what I paid and I would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Alex from USA

Posted Apr 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the P&J for one night before I left for London the next day. After reading some of the reviews, I was a little skeptical on what I was in for. However, the brief stay I had was excellent. The staff were friendly and quite welcoming. The linens were clean and smelled fresh, the room looked and smelled fine, and the bathroom was nice enough. The shower had a hard time in the area between boiling hot and ice cold, but other than that I had no real qualms with my stay. There is a Sainsbury's and a theatre less than a five min walk up the road so the location was convenient enough (there was also a bus stop into the city right near by). Overall, I was very happy with my stay and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Good Location

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed in the 1 bed apartment - perfect for my needs
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice little hotel, friendly, helpful staff, nice room, clean, quiet, good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Clan McCarthy

Perfect for a Business Trip

Posted Jan 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
A lovely hotel right in the town centre. Staff were exceptionally good, helpful and friendly, especially as I arrived late in the evening. Room was lovely and clean and surroundings relatively quiet. Food was good, but a tad overpriced. Overall, a great stay and amazing value for money!!!