Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK - BUT NEEDS IMPROVEMENTS

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Room refurbishment
Cons: £100 deposit Cleanliness Breakfast offering
Walked in and thought oh no its under renovation. Was pleasantly surprised when told that Hilton are taking over and that the rooms had been completed. CHECK IN - Wonderful polite gentleman checked me in, couldn't do enough to help. PROBLEM - £100 deposit / holding fee on room returnable on check out - EXTORTIONATE ROOM - Stunning refurbishment similar to Hilton Chain in London HOWEVER even though sufficiently clean in bathroom and room in general, leather stool and cupboard doors full of dust! BREAKFAST - Potatoes not cooked and sausages had been stewing so long it was like chewing boot leather, Suffice to say I left almost a plate full of food and was not asked if everything was ok or even a goodbye.
1 out of 5
by Bill from Warrington

Extremely disappointed

Posted Apr 30, 2014
If I had been advised of the extent of the renovations I would not have booked. Facilities were severely restricted and noise dust was invasive. This should have been made clear at the time of booking and resulted in my worst experience in booking through Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jackie

Spacious hotel in process of upgrade/refurbishment

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Safe and secure large parking area. Cleanliness of bedroom, friendly staff and reasonable room rate.
Cons: Will be greatly improved after refurbishment and addition of spa.
Location: Close to tram stop so easy access to town centre, arena, shops.
Room upgraded which was lovely, everything you would expect and even some extras! Friendly staff who were helpful and informative. Great breakfast, cooked well and nice additions such as Danish pastries available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by travel agency o from Williamsburg Virginia

Bad upon arrival. Better once room was switched

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Upon arrival, the hotel was under construction. I was put in a older room riddled with mold. But once I spoke with staff, they moved me to one of the newer rooms. The staff was great with an accept ion of one male receptionist. He was quite rude. And would not allow me to speak to the general manager about booking a group.
2 out of 5
by Sandy from Kent

Undergoing refurbishment

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Very pleasant, helpful staff. Well decorated room with well designed lighting and plenty of power sockets.
Cons: There should be a dressing table mirror. The telephones should be working. Hopefully these will be rectified when the refurbishment is finished.
Location: Very easy to reach from the M1. Easy to get to Nottingham.
We stayed in a refurbished room which was, overall, good. But there are a couple of serious design failures: there is no mirror over the desk, so to dry your hair you have to stand in front of the full length mirror on the wardrobe and brushes, hair products, etc., have to go on the floor. Makeup has to be used in the small bathroom, which gets very steamy after two people have used the shower. When I reported this to reception, the very pleasant receptionist said she had not hear about this before! The lighting is good, but confusing to use, but there are good reading lights either side of the bed, as well as bedside lights and there is an excellent nightlight in the (rather small) bathroom, which is essential at night because the toilet is very close to the door and would be easy to walk in to in the dark. The large screen TV is difficult to use and there are only Freeview channels. The room telephones are not connected and the Ethernet connection is not functioning. There are, however, 8 power sockets in the room - a really good idea with all the chargers associated with phones, tablets, e-readers, etc. Breakfast staff were helpful and pleasant, but the hot food was lukewarm. Overall, this is not a hotel with 4 star rooms, I would give our room 3 stars, once the serious design faults and telephones have been fixed. I would consider staying again when the refurbishment is complete, but only after confirming there is a mirror at the table and the phones work.
2 out of 5
by Diane from Cardiff

City Break

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Near to the City center
Cons: The whole place to be refurbished
Location: Near to the City
The Hotel was undergoing much needed refurbishment. Our room was in the older part of the Hotel and was very tired and sad looking. Our room smelled of cigarettes and there were cigarette stubs on the sloping roof outside the window. The hairdryer did not work properly. There was some confusion re our booking which was for bed and breakfast but the Hotel only had us booked for a room. I could not recommend it now but perhaps things will improve when refurbishment is complete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will be excellent

Posted Mar 17, 2014
I was shocked to find the hotel under renovation as I don't recall that being mentioned when booking with Expedia. Again, I only saw the new rooms when booking so was shocked at the old room we were offered on arrival. The receptionist said we could upgrade for an extra fee. The new rooms are excellent and would well recommend. The breakfast is also very good. We went into the restaurant for a meal when we arrived and that was very nice. Staff are very pleasant. The hotel will be excellent when finished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well appointed room; very clean and well decorated

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Quiet, pleasnat grounds for a city location. Good value for money
Cons: King room was smaller than I expected
Location: Good location - near Nottingham city centre. Free parking
Everything was ok. We arrived late but that was no problem. The hotel is being rennovated and so the lobby area is not aesthetically pleasing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Flintshire

Good value for money

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Value for money, convenient.
Cons: Room and bathroom need updating quite urgently. TV was small for size of room.
Location: Nottingham Gateway is approx. 2 miles from M1 and very easy to access. Trams and buses make Nottm city & area very accessible.
Hotel itself is very near motorway and has good links to the city via tram/bus. Hotel facilities are good and staff are friendly without being 'in your face/over the top to please'. Room was tired but clean and bathroom very tired but clean. Obviously the hotel is undergoing a refit of rooms. Excellent value for money. Breakfast was great - no heavy fried food and plentiful. Will definitely use the Nottingham Gateway again; hopefully prices won't increase after refit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Geoff L from Surrey

Better option for overnight stop than budget hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The positives were friendly staff, comfortable bed, good shower, free fast wi fi and very good value for money at the rate I paid. Negatives were furniture and bath in room were tired and needed updating, evening meal was soggy fish and chips and breakfast needed a few more healthy options. Very close to the motorway so convenient but the short stretch between the motorway and the hotel can be jammed during rush hour.