Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canton mi

Ratchet hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Loud kids and adults running throughout the halls. Unattended kids in all flours The swimming pool area was overcrowded and unruly. I wanted and threatened to call police. The front desk staff acted as if we were bothering them
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear ruth, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. I am very sorry that some unruly kids ruined your stay. Our weekends do get busy and we have staff on to help quit the kids down but too many unattended kids creates problems for everyone! I hope you will give us another chance on a slower weekend so you can enjoy yourself. Sincerely, Randall Richmond General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and price

Posted Mar 10, 2015
We were very pleased with our stay. The only thing that would have made the stay perfect is the staff making sure the pool and hot tub facilities were equipped with parental guidance. There were way too many kids running around the pool/hot tub areas unsupervised. We weren't able to use those facilities, which was very disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Definitely needs updating

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Couldn't control heat/air. Air vent in bathroom was a joke, and only turned on when light was on. Floor was dirty outside of tub. Room smelled old. Breakfast buffet was fine, the server was wonderful. Lobby staff was helpful too. For the price, very disappointed in the hotel; won't go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Randall, Hotel Management
Dear Kathleen, I am very sorry your stay was anything less than enjoyable. I have discussed your comments with our team & we will work to make the needed changes so other guests don't encounter the same issues. Randall Richmond General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lansing, michigan

Friendly staff

Posted Jan 19, 2015
The staff that worked during our stay were absolutely great! We had a baby with us and they allowed us to move one of our rooms and even placed us in connecting rooms. The original room was next to a barking dog, which is not a big deal except we had a baby with us. We got free breakfast in the morning and the two ladies working there were sooo nice to us. My niece didn't eat much because she wanted pancakes, one of the ladies overheard and went out of her way to make my niece some pancakes. Thought that was really nice. The only issue with this hotel was the overload of children and the running around unsupervised. It is not the hotels fault but the things they did have control over, they didn't really put their foot down about. I was with the children in my party of 7 kids the entire time down by the pool. There were kids running around unsupervised and overflowed in the hot tub. I know there must be a limit to how many people and the age of those people who can be in that hot tub. It was crazy. Another bad thing I felt was the early closing of the atrium area. I'm understand the pool closes at 10 but they have billards tables in the atrium that we wanted to use and hangout around but we were told to finish our game because it closed at 10pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu, HI

Good location, reasonable rates, great bed.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
The staff was friendly and provided freshly baked cookies in the evening. Indoor pool, fitness center, and sauna in center atrium makes hotel noisy. Fixtures and furnishings show signs of wear, but the room was clean and well proportioned. The bed, however, was amazingly comfortable. Snuggle down under soft coverings with fluffy pillows. There wasn't a breakfast included, but a complementary coffee bar was available. Close to Laurel Park Mall and movie theaters, across the street from Red Robin and Buffalo Wild Wings. Nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Randall, Hotel Management
Dear Janet, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay. Looks like you had a good time! I hope you will come back and stay with us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom dorchester

Glad I did not pay a lot

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Pool area
Cons: Place was empty. Put people in a good room to give them a great experience. Customer service 101.
The hotel was virtually empty . We asked for a good room and was put in room 128 which is right across from the laundry room. The room had no windows , was very dated . Not impressed. We usually stay at the Marriot down the road. I know better for next time. Pool area was nice. Only bright spot of the stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Randall, Hotel Management
Dear Wayne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry that the accommodations did not live up to your expectations and apologize that you were not happy with your stay. If you decide to stay with us again please ask for an outside room as all of our inside rooms do not have an outside window. Hoping you will give us another chance! Staff & management Holiday Inn Livonia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Livonia trip

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall....it was pretty good...easy to access to highway...shopping malls near to hotel...some restaurants..even Japanese, Thai...other foods. Swimming pool which was indoor location at the center of 1st floor...convenient to use, but some smells...
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2015 by Randall, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and rating your stay 5 stars! Randall Richmond General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Quick trip to Detroit area for 2 days. Not a lot of time spent at the hotel. Mainly just a point to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Randall, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Short stay but at least you were able to get a good nights sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, a little old

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Nice hotel, not a great neighborhood - few restaurants it gas close by. Pool in the courtyard makes interior rooms rather noisy. Price is appropriate for the age of hotel, neighborhood, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com