Ratings based on 810 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Edmonton, Alberta

Close to everything ,walking distance to everythin

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Wonderful staff!!!
Cons: Nothing ,except a coffee pot would be nice in the rooms.
Location: Everything was close. We were able to walk to almost everything we wanted to do. Loved the whole experience.
First time to Hawaii ,hotel staff was the best I have ever experienced. Everything was wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last minute layover.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
I booked this hotel due to a layover. They have no shuttles to pick you up at the airport. Had to take a cab and they were not polite, was not accommodating. Had no toothbrushes or anything for those whose luggage is lost or already left. When you ask for any assistance their response is brief and cold no.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room, size was amazing

Posted Apr 14, 2014
The room itself was great, but the staff was not great. they were mean and had very bad attitude. not wanting to help the customers at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roy from Las Vegas, NV

Great but could use some improvement!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: I like the kitchen unit because I do not care to go out for breakfast.
Cons: Replace computer cable connections in the room with wireless connections. Be more competitive with parking fees.
Location: The location is fine since I was driving, and I am a visiting "local".
I like the hotel. No wireless in the rooms were a downer - should replace cable connections. Parking was steep ($20 per day in the open). Parking across the street (covered) is $7 a day. I would stay there again because of the kitchen available but would consider parking across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patricia from Tunbridge Wells, UK

HOTEL VERY CENTRAL

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Very central and have great staff with COMFORTABLE BEDS!!!
Cons: Well, there is refurbishment going on so should bring furnishings and d├ęcor up-to-date
Location: Central location to shops, restaurants and the beach MARVELLOUS!
Staying at the Ambassador for the second year running was very satisfactory. It is not one of the upper class hotels but even so very stayable and really you are not in your room that much. THE BEDS ARE SOOO COMFORTABLE!! The rooms are looking tired BUT there is a new owner and the refurbishment is under way - BRILLIANT!! Had a look at the new bed linens, curtains, etc and they will bring the look of the rooms up-to-date. Hopefully there will be some decorating done as the paint could do with freshening up. The staff are really pleasant and would like to say a BIG 'Thank You' for all their help (as I was ill for a few days). The hotel is central to the shops, restaurants and the beach is a walk 'across the park'. The Ala Moana Shopping mall is about 1 mile but if you are not in a walking mood take 'The Bus' for only $2.50 (BARGAIN).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Corona Ca

Nice and a close walk to everything

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Close to everything and friendly staff
Cons: Microwave oven in the rooms and a bigger fridge. Not that we spent a lot of time in our room but better cable and larger TV would be good.
Location: Beach, shopping just minutes away
Nothing fancy just a a simple quiet stay. One block from the beach and a couple of blocks form the shopping areas. Hotel staff was was friendly and the rooms were clean but the noise from the trash haulers in the morning can wake up people all the way to the mainland. This was just a little last minute package get away for me and the wife. We had stayed here before and it fit our needs and budget.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Location and security.
Cons: Bathroom cleaning
Location: You can walk to Waikiki and Ala Moana. Bus stop right by front door.
With a bus stop right outside the front door, getting around is easy, and walking to many sights is also close. Room was very roomy. Mentioned a clogged shower drain to front desk and it was fixed by the time we returned. Maintenance seemed very visible and busy. Room cleanliness wasn't great, just ok. Noticed 3 cleaners together coming out of our room, and yet the room was just so-so. As an example, the faucet in bathroom sink was never wiped off. Front desk was helpful and welcoming. Pool area was spotless and pleasant. A microwave to augment the refrig. would have been helpful. The security of having to use your key to go up in elevator was reassuring. As with most places in this area, there is a lot of city noise until late at night, but that is just the way it is...not a reflection on the hotel. We would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by condor TRW

It was the cheapest hotel on expedia . The only r

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Stayed three days and the hotels raised the hotel price by 50.00. Got a hotel gateway cheaper cleaner and a less rude manager. Thanks to expedia desk everything turned great !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Sydney Australia

Easy access for beach shopping

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: easy location good staff the fastest elevators no waiting
Cons: the noise of the doors slaming, brighter colour scheme, doors outside on balcony of other building would look great painted various shades of colour.
Location: Easy location, walking to beach, shops, 5 to 10 minutes Hard Rock Cafe
Pleasant, easy, efficient, noisy doors when people coming or going. Great for the price would stay there again. Staff very helpful and pleasant nothing too much trouble. The hotel is dated but very clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

was an ok stay

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: in room wifi would be much better, tiles in rooms need a really good clean
Location: close to beach and loads of shopping and places to eat out.
Staff were very nice, great place to get coffee right near hotel. pool was great very secure hotel with loads of parking.