Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shelley from Australia

Very happy with our stay

Posted Mar 24, 2014
I have just spent a week staying at the Aqua Bamboo. Great location; easy walk to the beach and bus stops, main strip shops and dining. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Free wifi in the room and lobby is a bonus as is free access to cold water, coffee and tea, and the daily paper in the lobby. The hotel itself is a little older than most, however our room was clean, spacious and we heard little street noise. Free drinks and music are put on by the hotel staff each Thursday afternoon. Access to beach towels and chairs is also a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from Sydney

Nice hotel for our Honeymoon. Close to the beach,

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The staff and the welcome that you receive.
Cons: Bathroom was a little dated but manageable. The positives by far outweighed the negatives.
Location: Close to the beach, transport, ABC stores (but they are on every corner anyway) and the ease of access.
The staff were excellent, the hotel close to everything including Waikiki, Value for money, nice pool area just had an overall great time in Honolulu. It is the staff that make any establishment, while there are many more expensive hotels, and I mean more expensive hotels, the personal service we received was commendable. Our parents have stayed there before and plan to stay there again this year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Ron from Victoria BC

Short stay

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The kitchen was poorly equipped. Stove didn't work well and they could have given you a dish cloth and a decent frying pan. The view out our room was horrible, but if you get one on the back looking at the courtyard it could be nice. The lobby and the pool areas are nice and the staff were helpful and courteous. You can use the parking lot next door but you can't access the elevator so you have to walk up. Generally found Wiakiki is getting dirty and full of homeless people contrasted by exclusive shops and hotels for the rich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bev from Adelaide, Australia

Comfortable hotel, friendly staff

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: They had a kitchen..helpful staff, comfortable bed
Location: Close to beaches, shops and a good walk to Diamond Head.
Excellent service, and comfortable roomy place. We walked everywhere, but the public bus was just outside and for $2.50 you can ride all over the place. The zoo, beaches, restaurants are all within walking distance, and for a bit of exercise one could walk to and back from Diamond Head...a shaved ice is great on the return journey
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jack donahue from Lisle, Il.

Central location

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is a little older, but my wife and I enjoyed our stay. Great location and reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Business travel from Virginia

Nice but not fancy

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: It was an easy two block walk to the beach. The rooms were clean and well attended. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
Cons: Some traffic noise but that could be drowned out by the air conditioner if you choose to run it all night.
Location: It's part of the beach strip so there are lots of restaurants and shops nearby.
This is a very nice, older hotel that is close to the beach and very comfortable. The staff was helpful and pleasant. I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by fr3man

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, TX

Nicest people!!!

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Cons: The beds
The staff was so nice and super helpful. We were able to schedule all tours we wanted to go on through the hotel. The free beach towels were awesome. The beds weren't super soft but worked fine for me. There were some cosmetic repairs that would make the hotel look better. The walk to the beach was so easy. Overall, I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by alanna from waikiki

a little noisy

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were on the 2nd floor next to road and it was quote noisy. We paid an extra $20 a night to upgrade to a different room on the other side of the hotel which was much better but ended up making it more expensive then planned. Overall very clean, friendly workers and great location for beach and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Virginia

Perfect budget location

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Big room, free Wi-Fi, location, complimentary coffee, tea, water and lemonade 24 hours.
Cons: Rooms could do with an update.
Location: 5 minutes from the beach. Perfect for shopping and restaurants.
This is a great hotel in terms of value for money. The room was surprisingly big. We had two queen beds, a balcony, fridge, microwave and a sink. There was complimentary coffee, tea, water and lemonade 24 hours and the concierge service was also really good for booking trips. Staff were always helpful and friendly. Wi-Fi was mostly ok and free. Location was great, in the main shopping area just 5 minutes from the beach. The rooms were a little dated in terms of d├ęcor but these were just cosmetic and irrelevances for us. For service, value for money and location, this place is real hidden gem. HIGHLY recommended.