Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Aqua Waikiki Joy is a moderately priced treasure

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: The central location and the modest price are an unbeatable combination.
Cons: They are already working on upgrades in the open air lobby, and that will probably improve their food service.
Location: Shopping, beaches, restaurants are all within a block or two.
This hotel is in the midst of the action, the beaches, the high fashion shopping, and the uber-expensive hotels, the trendy restaurants etc at a price point that is less than half of big names. Our room was immaculate, the bathroom as good or better than any, the staff was gracious and helpful. They are working on extensive remodeling especially in the second building but even that was not bothersome. The pool is quite small and the continental breakfast is fairly lame but everything else was generous and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gene & Lori from Elizabethtown PA

Outstanding Hotel for the price

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome.
My wife and I stayed at this location, the staff was great and very helpful, We have stayed at other hotels and this by far was the best over all experience we have had in any of our trips to Hawaii.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by christy from los angeles

just fine

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: very convenient small
Cons: rooms water stained bed and beddings
Location: very close to everything waikiki :)
they were very friendly nice stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by grazier

Somewhat outdated, relatively comfortable

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Room needs some face lifting, but It's clean. If the Oahu vacation in your mind is something like relaxing on the Lanai, see pics for what you may look out at (we were at 3rd floor). The street the hotel is on happens to be a truck and tour bus load zone. More often than not you'll see or hear trucks/buses idling nearby. On the plus side, they have a lovely little koi (gigantic relative to the size of the pond) pond, which quite often you can keep it to yourself. Staff is friendly and good.
2 out of 5
by Val from ca

Hotel Near everything...

Posted Nov 12, 2013
The hotel needs to be updated badly!!! Its in a really good location and the price was good...so if you are short on cash then I would recommend this hotel other then that I would go some place else
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gen from Honolulu

Not as advertised but good location and clean

Posted Nov 12, 2013
The Jacuzzi tub was actually just a large soaking tub with no jets and no stop for the drain. The bose speakers did not work. However the hotel is in a great location and is the best price in Waikiki.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roy from Honolulu, Hawaii

Best Deal Of The Month

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Very big room, it included a kitchenette, morning breakfast and a very friendly environment.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Shopping through Waikiki and going to the Beach.
My partner and I have been having weekly get--a-ways, by far this was our best experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location to beach, shopping, restaurants

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: Location
Everyone was very nice & helpful. Bellman Mark Yoshida was very helpful, courteous, & acommodating for services.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by norm from oregon

good hotel and staff. location a little less so.

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: clean, comfortable, friendly and helpful staff. Right across street was the tourist trooly center--very convenient.
Cons: Absolutely no complaints about anything but the location
Location: Lots of evidence of partying and "ladies of the night" when leaving for sightseeing in the AM. We had no problem with the local "denizens" however
Easy accss, very friendly and cooperative desk staff. That section of Lewers Street seems to be a litle closer to the "red light district" than s ideal for a family with children. But, I must say, there was no intrusion into our privacy or enjoyment of the stay. The ad said three blocks to the beach but it was mor like 3 blocks to Kalkaua Street.