Ratings based on 1,909 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach and the exciting Kalakaua Ave

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Close to the beach and the exciting Kalakaua Ave; Friendly front desk staff, told us where to find authentic Hawaiian food, from an "off the grid" restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

3.5

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Nice hotel and the staff are super nice. The overall experience was good, however would not recommend staying in partial ocean view rooms due to construction on east side of the hotel- very noisy during the day (6:30 to 5pm).
3 out of 5
by Tania from mel

Good location, well priced but far too noisy.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The staff at reception were great, always helpful and smiling. The Chinese restaurant in the lobby is very nice and the food was great
Cons: The only thing that marred my experice is the noise level, if it wasn't for the demolition of the market next door it would have been fine.
Location: Everything is in five minute walking distance, the location is great.
We arrived at the hotel at about 8am and they checked us in straight away. Our first night was a nightmare, the people staying next door decided to stay up and party until 5am, finally I called reception snd they sent security up to shut them up. The next day we were moved to another room on a higher floor. Overall the hotel is very nice, great location and very affordable. . On the downside, it was always very noisy. I had read other reviews saying that the street noise can be a problem so we booked a room on the 12th floor. The street noise was noticeable but not that bad. What really annoyed me was the fact that you could hear your neighbours, slamming doors, flushing toilets, the tv and so on. Once we were moved to a higher floor, room 1405, we didn't have many neighbours so that was great, but there were some pipes or something mechanical in the wall cavity next to the bathroom that would rumble 24/7. Most of the time I would zone it out but at night it was annoying. The rooms were very generous in size but the bathroom was tiny, only one person could fit in at a time. Also they cleanliness of the room was inconsistent, some days it Ws spotless and some days it looked like they just thew the covers on the bed. Lastly the noise from the demolition of the market next door was unbearable, it went from 9-5 Mon to Sun, try and get a room facing dukes lane. Overall if you are a heavy sleeper and don't mind the noise them this place is perfect.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
How wonderful it is that you were able to get such an early check in! Mahalo for the acknowledgement of our smiling staff who always goes above and beyond to give our guests the best experience possible here at the Aqua Waikiki Wave Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests whether positive or otherwise as it gives us the opportunity to focus on issues that need to be improved or worked on. We do encourage guests to call the front desk when any need arises and are happy to hear that you did and that our staff was able to move you to another room. We want to take this time to apologize for any inconvenience the neighboring guests may have caused you. The International Market Place near us is being reconstructed at the present time to include approximately 75 retailers and seven restaurants. So although noisy at times, this is temporary, and will add so much to our location for tourists traveling to Waikiki.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Check in time is 3pm, although upon arrival at 9am the very friendly receptionist had no problem finding me an available room - top service thanks!
Location: Waikiki beach - beginners surfing and paddleboarding.
A great hotel at a reasonable price. The only downside is that there is currently building work going on next to it at the moment, so it's probably going to be quite noisy on one side for the next year or two.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Mahalo for the kind words in reference to our staff, we’re glad they were able to meet your early check in requirements. It’s nice to hear that the Aqua Waikiki Wave Hotel met your expectations and you found it so reasonably priced. The International Market Place is being redone near us and we apologize if this inconveniences our guests in any way, but this reconstruction is a positive outcome for all future guests to Waikiki. A hui hou.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Excellent hotel staff, friendly and very helpful. Room was pretty good. Just one thing, there was a construction going on when i stayed there, a little bit annoying with the noises.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Aloha. We loved your review this morning. Mahalo, our staff works hard to give our guests the best possible experience and will appreciate your acknowledgement. The construction to rebuild the International Marketplace although may be noisy at times, will be such an added benefit to our location for tourists and we appreciate our guests patience during this time. We hope to see you again at the Aqua Waikiki Wave Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Yakima, Wa

had a ball-on the go loved it

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: right in the middle of things walking or bus every where
Cons: TV controls
Location: food restarants-stores abc pharmacy shops and the market
great but noisey daytime the construction-night the bar so sleep between 3and 7 am great
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Aloha. We’re so glad you had such a great time at the Aqua Waikiki Wave Hotel. Our location gives our guests access and convenience to everything they are looking for while traveling. The International Market near us is being reconstructed to include approximately 75 retailers and seven restaurants and will give this popular destination area even more added benefits. When you are in need of another fun vacation, please come see us again. A hui hou.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cath from Sydney, Australia

great location, amazing staff, generous rooms

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff, Beds (so comfortable!)
Cons: Bathroom upkeep - we found hairs from previous tenants when we moved in.
Location: Great location so close to the beach and shops only a 5 minute walk!
Had such a great experience at Aqua Wave! In such a great location only 5 minutes walk to the beach and main strip of shops. The staff were so lovely and attentive - especially Stella - she helped me to find a hire car for the day and told me where to go for the cheapest prices. Beds made daily, towels changed daily. Can be noisy at night time with street noise even on level 10. Ask to be higher in the hotel - otherwise perfect for the price!
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Aloha. Mahalo for your great review, appreciation of our staff and our location too! It’s so nice to hear you had such a great experience at the Aqua Waikiki Wave Hotel. We do hope to welcome you back someday. A hui hou.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Yakima , WA

noise

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: The staff was very nice and helpful.
Cons: windows/sliders could have made the noise less of an issue.
Location: in the center of town- buses and walking distance to just about every thing
Between the construction noise in the day time and the Bar across the street at night very few hours quiet time .
Comment from
Jan 7, 2014
Aloha. Although it seems you enjoyed both our staff and location you were a little disappointed in the quietness of the area. Our location right next door to the International Marketplace and in the heart of Waikiki with its shops, entertainment and nightlife does add to the excitement as well as the noise. We apologize if your stay was not as quiet as you anticipated. Mahalo for staying with us and for your feedback.
2 out of 5
by Steve from Huntsville, Al

Bad experience

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Got to the hotel and the room I reserved (with 3 beds) was not what I reserved. I specifically asked for three beds because I was traveling with my son and daughter. Also I requested a room on the 15th floor because of the noise level closer to the street. I was given a room on the second floor which had the three beds. Hotel blamed it on Price Line but my Reservation specified the one bedroom suite with three beds.
Comment from
Jan 7, 2014
We are sorry to hear you feel as though you had a bad experience, although from your review it does sound like you were given a room with three beds as you had requested. We would like to clarify that when booking your room through a third party site, it does not guarantee this room request can be met at the time of check in. We hope you and your children enjoyed some quality time together in Hawaii.
2 out of 5
by Theresa from Ontario

Basic hotel in need of refurbishing.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Location was ok.
Cons: Needs updating.
Location: Short walk to the beach.
Do not send people to this hotel if they want more that three hours sleep per night. The noise from outside is terrible. You would think you are in the middle of a party and it goes on till four am. When the music stops the shouting and screaming goes on and on. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from
Jan 7, 2014
We are very disappointed to hear our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are located in a prime travel destination area filled with shopping, activities and night life with just a short walk to the beach. As with an area such as this, the local establishments do have entertainment for the tourists’ enjoyment and the hours of these operations are out of our control. We would like to apologize if this inconvenienced you in any way. Mahalo for your feedback.