Ratings based on 699 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Canada

Nice But Dated

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: I liked how close it was to the beach and the kids enjoyed the pool
Cons: -Updating rooms
Location: Short walk to zoo and lots of popular shops & restaurants
Nice, but dated rooms. A short walk to the beach, and had a fair size pool (although usually quite busy due to sharing one pool with 2 large towers). and 2 hot tubs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Just average at best

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Close to beach
Cons: Rooms and beds need to be updated. The pool should stay open until at least 11 PM.
Location: Close to beach
The positives would be it is fairly inexpensive in comparison to other nearby hotels, being fairly close to beach and main drag along with a friendly staff. The negatives would be the rooms and facilities are old and out dated, the beds are very uncomfortable, housekeeping tends to come at odd times and the pool closes at 9 PM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great location!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: I liked the beautiful lanai with a view of the mountains. I liked the convenience of having a fully equipped kitchen. I liked the location.
Cons: Definitely the size of the bathroom, way too small. The kitchen cabinets were old; no hardware on the cabinets. Flooring had scratches. More outlets!
Location: Great location; close to beach,shopping,restaurants. Good neighborhood.
Great hotel! A block from the beach, shopping, and restaurants. Room came with a fully equipped kitchen which was convenient. Excellent view of the mountains! Room was clean and staff was very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good value in Waikiki

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The reason we booked this hotel was because it's the only one available that could accommodate 5 people in one room. After we booked this, we heard mixed reviews that somewhat at one point had a buyer's remorse. I told my wife that I kinda regretted it. But when we arrived, most of what we worried about were not true. Perhaps we were lucky. We had good time in Honolulu. The location is awesome. Definitely we'll stay again. Parking could be a hassle at night. When they told you to put the parking sticker on the driver side, they really mean it. We got reprimanded when we put it in the wrong location. Other than that, it was a good stay. Really wish the bed can be better though. The staffs were friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawthorne, CA

Hotel with motel feeling

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Daily house keeping service
Cons: The entire room needs remodeling
Location: Basically a lot of things were within walking distance, such as the beach, the food pantry which was expensive and ABC's on every corner.
esh towels, and trash removal. Also if you are going to charge a hotel fee, your customer should feel that it is worth it. Consider putting a restaurant, that would help. I will visit Aston at the Waikiki Banyan again once they remodel and update. Also a TV and AC for the bedroom please. It was difficulty for me to sleep properly because it got so hot at night in the bedroom and change those bedroom sliding doors. That was a nuisance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel if you've been to Hawaii before!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Just ok ! Do-able but my room was an upgraded room w/ ocean view! It was more the area versus the hotel that was the concern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Basic but clean, the beach is why you go.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
The staff is friendly and your room is cleaned everyday even though they are privately owned. Each room is different based on how much the owner upgrades the condo. Eat breakfast, pack a lunch and you're gone for the day. Having a kitchen is a big help with kids. You only sleep there for the most part. None smoking building is nice as well. Have fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Old world Hawaiian Style

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Clean and old world style.
Cons: I don't know.
Location: Everything is great, even had picnic areas with BBQ grills!
I liked the decor/style of this place, very open and old world style. Really reminded me of Thailand from their use of deeps wood colors. Once you get in the room you can tell its been around awhile, furniture is dated, but that was okay with me. Everything was clean and comfortable. Fyi, if you use a debit card they will take a $300 deposit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Posted Jun 28, 2014
We just got home and were completely satisfied with this hotel which is literally a 2 min walk from Waikiki Beach. The only things wrong with our room is the lock from the bathroom door is not working and there is no queen sofa sleeper as described but were provided a folding bed instead. The resort fee is also mandatory unlike the neighboring Aston Waikiki Sunset where it was only optional. But the location and comfort of the room can make up for it and there plenty of parking spots in the parking garage no matter what time of the day ($15/day). We were also given two sand buckets which my kids put to good use during our time im Oahu. Would recommend this hotel for any one finding a budget and kid friendly hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from perth, WA

Good location, average facilities

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Good stay, nice to have a kitchen but hotel facilities were very basic. Generally a bit shabby and fold out bed was unusable it was in such bad condition. Room not the best set up for family of 5 but for the price it was fine. Not sure we would stay there again but was ok.