Ratings based on 696 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Stayed for 7 days. Kitchen a huge plus! Comes with stove, frig, sink, and utensils. Comfortable stay. 5 mins walk to Waikiki beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within walking distance of beach, shops

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: convenient to get to all of Oahu
Cons: The Hotel needs to be spruced up
Location: very good
Had a wonderful time in Waikiki, The hotel was close to everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from alberta, canada

good for family with average expectations.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: full kitchen
Cons: dishwasher, more bbq (in my case give us what we paid for ie., ocean view not mountain view unit)
Location: the location of this hotel is good, short walk (10-20 mins)to everything from beach, restaurant to grocery.
we paid for ocean view but got mountain view, disappointed. everything else just like majority of the review said. full kitchen with rice cooker but no dishwasher. good selection of dvds, slow wifi, short walk to the beach and restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't stay here again

Posted Apr 6, 2014
This is the second time in 3 years that we have stayed at the Sunset, but we wont be staying here again unless the Aston puts some money into the building. The shabbiness of the place has gone beyond what we can overlook for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Convenient, affordable

Posted Apr 4, 2014
For a short stay with a family of five, we did enjoy the moment but the pool needs an upgrade.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fambam

Hawaii on a budget

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Certainly not a 5 star, but you're not spending much time in your room anyway. Literally 3mins walking distance to the ocean. You have a full kitchen, so stop at Safeway & plan a few meals in your room and the money you save can be spent on countless other activities. We're a family of 5 and no one had any complaints. We did Hawaii on a budget and we had a BLAST doing so!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of the "extras"

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Include the mandatory cost to the room rates rather than asking the guests to pay out at the end.
Location: Short drive to Hanauma Bay, Diamond head crater trail, Waikiki beach.
2 blocks away from the beach. Be prepared to walk past homeless people sleeping close to the entrance of the hotel. Liked having the kitchen. Thought the electric rice cooker was a nice touch. Be aware of the extra fees for parking and mandatory daily fee that you have to pay in addition to the rental. The mandatory fee should be included in the rental fee since we had no choice but to pay whether we used the service or not. Or simply charge extra for the movie rentals and wifi. I found the additional cost a deceptive way of marketing making the price of the room rate lower than the real cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Darien from Wisconsin

Good choice for family stay.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly, it was clean, and we had no noise issues at all.
Location: Right in Waikiki - 2.5 blocks walk to the beach, close to shops and restaurants.
We stayed for a week (2 adults and our 3 children). The room was clean and the staff was VERY friendly (everyone from front desk, to housekeeping to maintenance - we couldn't figure out how to work our safe at first). This hotel is not fancy, but it is reasonably priced for Waikiki, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was great (saved money making meals ourselves) and they have really nice gas grills down by the pool if you want to use them. We would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Raj from London

Restaurant

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Nice hotel , I think they should have a restaurant
Location: Good location , near the beach and walking distance to the shops/Restaurants
Nice hotel , I think they should have a restaurant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LE

Great location

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: We liked the location.
Cons: We recommend that the hotel improve its attention to detail in ensuring rooms are clean.
Location: The beach is only two blocks away, along with many restaurants and stores. The hotel itself has a nice pool, too.
Only two blocks away from the beach, this was a great location for a family with two children under six. Everything we needed was in a short walking distance. The room had some updates, but we were disappointed with the bathroom in particular (very dated, very small bathtub) and the lack of cleanliness on many surfaces, including the tub itself and the top of the fridge, for example. The beds were surprisingly very comfortable and the kitchen offered all the conveniences we needed.