Ratings based on 805 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near the beach

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Had the best Holiday. LOST 2014! Waikiki and Oahu has some amazing and beautiful locations. Always so close to the beach and the mountains. I have never felt sea water so warm either.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Good value apartments 200-300m back from the beach

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Having one bedroom apartment for this price
Cons: A little room maintenance
Location: The beach! Also close to Aquarium, which is excellent and zoo, which is average. Walk toward beach to take Pink Line trolley to Ala Moana shops ($2)
Pleasant enough accommodation in average to tired condition. Air conditioner was either full on or off. Plug in bath broken. Significant dust accumulation around louvres etc. Internet was somewhat annoying to use connecting to remote servers although web browsing was OK. Had stayed at the Modern Honolulu the week earlier so this review is probably a little negative-biased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales UK

Fantastic place to stay

Posted Sep 21, 2014
We stayed here for 14 nights, had read some reviews and was a little apprehensive but everything was great. We stayed on the 20th floor that looked over. the pool area and had a fantastic sunrise veiw The kitchen and dinning area was clean with large cooking faciilities and fridge freezer.we mainly had our breakfast here then bought sandwiches from the ABC stores for lunch. Coffee was replenished daily and clean tee towel and oven mitt replaced. The bedroom again was great, very large bed and plenty of wardrobe space for hanging clothes and drawers for smaller items. Bathroom had plenty of storage so that you could put away all your toiletries, towels were replaced daily as was soap and shampoo. The lani was big enough to sit and relax on. The lifts were fine there were only a few occasions that we had to wait and even then it was not for to long.there are four lifts serving the block. The pool is small but nice to sit around and relax. Yes it does lose the sun at around 12 but it does return around 2 ish for a few more hours. To be honest it was so hot it was nice to have shade for a few hours. I used the laundry on a few occasions without any problems. It was only a short walk to the beach so the location it great. Yes it could do with a paint on the landings and possibly new carpet but could not fault the room. I would recommend this to friends as you have all the facilities needed in a convenient location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A truly wonderful and enjoyable vacation.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, the staff was very professional, respectful and helpful.
Cons: none
Location: Close to beach activities, shopping, restaurants, etc.
Fun, relaxing, enjoyable time. Enjoyed the activities. We were treated very well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Family friendly

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Had a great stay. Room ideal, bedding, towels and tea towels changed regularly and coffee kept stocked. Only slight worry was that the windows opened very wide - not ideal with a 7 yr old when you are on the 24th floor! otherwise perfect place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from california

Near to beach but not close enough for shopping.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Felt like home and the staff was so kind.
Cons: Air conditioner was very loud.
Location: Away from night life and shopping, beach was very close.
Very comfortable and equipped with all that we needed to please a family of 4, our twin 7 year old daughters had everything they needed, the hotel had free movies to select from, beach towels for the beach to use, a small on site convenient store who rented beach chairs to us, but they did not have beach umbrellas.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, needs dusting, close to beach.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Walking distance to the beach and all of the stores and shopping in Waikiki.
Cons: It could be cleaner and renovated to make it look newer. The staff can seem to be nicer.
Location: Walking distance to Waikiki Beach, ABC stores which is a convenience store and a lot of shopping stores. Also close the bus stops and tour bus stops.
It looked very old and it needs lot of dusting. Even though, house cleaning came every day and we paid 18 a day for that, they only change towels, made the bed and vacuum. They never did any dusting. I have dust on all of the windows. The first day, the shower coil was found all twisted loose but was fixed promptly. Great maintenance staff! Walking distance to the beach and all of the stores and shopping in Waikiki.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2014
My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Aston Waikiki Sunset. The room was very comfortable and quiet and we loved the size of the suite, kitchen, and full bath. Parking was good as well. My kids loved the pool - perfect size for younger children. Lastly, the location was excellent to get to the beach and restaurants. To be honest, we weren't wow'ed by the look of the hotel and room when we first arrived but in the end, it was so functional and comfortable, we really felt at home and I'd rather have that than anything fancy. However, a suggestion would be to update the carpets and living area furniture to look a bit more modern. Similar comment on staff - everyone was very efficient and helpful that we interacted with but I'd have to say not overly friendly but always polite. Thanks for a great stay and we would strongly consider staying there again next team we vacation in Waikiki.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Got lucky with a great oceanview

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Clean hotel, outdated though, extra fees $18/day, location on far end of waikik but still walkable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from georgia

Disaster from the beginning to the end.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
It was not what I purchase online. My entire party was split up with rooms that were separated. Which put a damper on our whole vacation. As a result, the dream vacation turned into a nightmare from hell. When I tried to rectify the problem, I was told that I was on my own and hung up on. My party was totallmy dissatisfied.