Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location - 1 block from beach

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Need to park across the street in public lot. hotel pool is old. Room is a bit rundown - otherwise staff and location are great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Hotel for location, and price.

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Location!
Cons: Close the zoo.
Location: Hulas. Your 29 feet from the main beach. It's on the main strip of all the shopping and places to eat. ABC store and Starbucks in the basement.
When I booked this hotel I was really nervous bc of all the bad reviews it had gotten. When I checked in I was impressed with the room. It had a kitchen with a granite counter, and a massage chair in the room. It was the perfect location on Waikiki. You can walk to everything. If your gay the main gay club on the island is. Hulas which is on the second floor of the hotel. My only complaint is the hotel parking is very small space to get in and out of, and the the fact it is right across the street from the zoo; so the animals (Hyenas) wake you up at the break of dawn every morning. I guess they have redone a lot of rooms. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to beach and shops

Posted May 13, 2014
Overall an ok place to stay, but the front desk staff could be a little friendlier. The hotel only cleans rooms and changes towels once every 3 days only!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Week get away on the beach

Posted May 12, 2014
We had a great room on the tenth floor over looking the ocean. Awesome room, the manager was awesome, lots of great food on the strip we had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from sunnyvale, ca.

just a half block from beach !!!!!

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: location,location, location.
Cons: somekind of ash tray for the outside, we smokers dont like to litter, but no where to put cig butts.
fantastic location!!!! helpful staff, can be a bit noisy from the bar on 2nd level... overall, i will stay again
2 out of 5
by Ryan from Portland OR

Close to Beach... Lazy Staff

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Location. Its Near the beach, zoo, aquarium, and starbucks.
Cons: Staff are lazy and unresponsive. Rooms are poorly air conditioned and never cleaned.
Location: Waikiki beach is right near it. Starbucks. Honolulu Zoo right next door and Waikiki Aquarium (not that impressive) just down the road.
Location is great, one block from the beach and with a Starbucks just as close. Claims to be a "green" hotel which means you have to ask for towels every day and even if you ask for the room to be cleaned it won't be. When I went down to ask for towels the guy a the desk told me to "hold on" and then called someone on craigslist to try to buy their car. Room had a window air conditioner that didn't really work much at all. Only stay here if all you want is a place to sleep and store your stuff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jacqueline from scotland

great location great room depending on the owners

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The location was the best. it was only 10 floors high. A happy and relaxing place.
Cons: As the rooms are owned individually it would be better if the hotel could have certain conditions for the room owners to insure that all rooms can be
Location: Beach with the beach ball local teams training every morning 6.30. Zoo Diamond head bus stop outside hotel lots of shops and lots of places to eat.
Stayed here five nights with my sister April 2014 we had room 1004 floor 10 the sun deck with a kitchen. Spacious, clean, plenty of utencils for cooking (I don't cook on holiday) . The room was comfortable nice décor hawaii type furniture some may describe dated I say authentic. Fantastic view of the beach, diamond head and the zoo. Starbucks, Teddys burgers sandwich bar and local ABC store right on you door step. I don't eat burgers back home but tried the grilled garlic chix burger it was so tasty I had went there a few times served on a large bun with lettuce cheese tomato pickle and a very runny American jack cheese and fries its worth a try. Other reviews for this hotel that are negative were for other rooms in the hotel but this room was great .The hula bar is good but I have tasted better cocktails. We had a delightful stay and the staff were always helpful. The laundry facilities very the cleanest that I have every used and have plenty of washers and dryers and a place to sit comfortable while you wait if you choose to do so. The front entrance is clean and has a piano and seating. There seems to be an eldery gentleman who lives in the hotel and sits in the loby waiting for someone to play the piano so if you go and can play please do so. We did see a lot of homeless people but they do not bother you. One recommendation I would make is that the bedspread is changed to something a bit more pleasing on the eye . All in all a good room and stay at the castle grand
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's a work in progress

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: price adn close to the beach
Cons: Air conditioning, staff was almost non-existent
Location: two blocks to the beach, what more do you need?
The only place in Hawaii where the staff did not smile, the hotel is undergoing some renovation , the room was clean on check in but no maid service the second day, my room window opened on a busy street, the air conditioner was very noisy so I slept with it off and the window open. On the bright side the hotel is close to the beach and cheap. strangely enough I think I'd stay there again, just know it isn't a four star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Waikiki Grand, Hotel Management
We’d like to thank you for letting us know your concerns. We will share this review with the staff. As for the housekeeping, we do try our best to be a “green” hotel for this reason our housekeeping service is every third day. We do let our guests know that if they would like service more often to please let the front desk staff know and we will let housekeeping know.
3 out of 5
by Justin from Maui

Castle Waikiki Grand

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Late check out at noon. Hula's Bar on level 2.
Cons: Window coverings. New bedding accessories for comfort; pillows. Ice buckets in the room. Needs some updating for sure.
The cleanliness of the room was good. The hotel itself is a bit run down and needs some upgrading. The room we occupied had horrible window coverings and didn't keep any of the city night light out of the room. The pillows for the bedding were pretty much non existent; very flat and uncomfortable. There's only two ice machines in the whole building, one located garage level and the other on floor 10. There was no ice bucket in the room. Have to pay additional fees for parking on the property. The only high light of staying here is the late check out at noon and Hula's Bar on level 2.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Waikiki Grand, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are in the process of updating some of our older rooms, and we appreciate all the comments we get to help us improve. We will let the staff know about the concerns you had. As for the parking, unfortunately in Waikiki parking is of very limited supply and as with most hotels there is a charge for parking and it is very limited to the amount of spaces we have. Though we do try to keep our parking cost in line or lower than hotels in the surrounding area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upscale Motel Six

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: you get what you pay for,,,basically nothing
Location: Carnival atmosphere, at the beach, its all there
It was like an upscale Motel Six with a perfect location. Affordable value, staff excellent, i would stay there again if I could not afford the Shereton Waikiki
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Waikiki Grand, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, and I will be sure to share this with them.