Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Posted Oct 19, 2014
It was a good place, but it may need a little updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

WiFi Problems

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: LOCATION is excellent. Right across from the Honolulu Zoo and a short walk to Waikiki beaches. Many restaurants nearby, and Hula's bar is a real plus.
Cons: Better WIFI routers and connections.
Location: Easy to get transportation (buses are plentiful and inexpensive). Easy to get down to the Ala Moana shopping center as well as to historic Honolulu.
The promised wifi in every room was either unreliable (didn't work at all) or when it did work, was very slow. Fortunately there is a Starbucks on the corner if you need good wifi service. Otherwise, the hotel was fine. Well located, clean, and has a good staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal, Qc

Nice and close to everything

Posted Oct 6, 2014
It was a great week. The hotel was very quiet, the staff was welcoming and the room was clean and spacious. Great location right next to the beach, zoo, restaurants, shopping and public transportation. There's a bike rental on Lemon Rd too. If you need a phone in your room, make sure to mention it or you'll have to use the one at the reception. There's one thing I have to say about TV & Wi-Fi : they're On and Off. Tv: sometimes you'll have the image but no sound and vice versa. Wi-Fi : well, I'll just say that your best chance is the lobby (not in your room).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice Hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Accessibility to beach and parks.
Cons: Staff too laid back.
Location: Parks and gardens, the Zoo, walks along the beach
Would stay again good value for money. A great place for friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Location and Views

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Peaceful location, access to restaurants and TheBus,
Cons: Some plumbing fixtures are dated - It's not the Ritz, but the faucets should work - Ideally a private balcony, but the hotel provides great value
Location: Check out Sensei Sushi - 50% off with Karaoke on Friday's after 10, and half price dinner Sunday and Monday - ...and the beach!
The hotel is a well maintained condo building from the 60's. Terrific location near the beach, and assorted restaurants with reasonable pricing. The front desk worked to correct an error in the reservation and provided the reserved kitchenette which was nicely equipped with an apartment fridge/freezer, hot plate, crockery, cutlery and basic cooking equipment. Only flaw was a poor mixer in the tub/shower which made hot, or pressured water impossible while showering. No balcony on our suite, and from the structure, it appears only shared balconies on the penthouse suites are offered. That shared rooftop balcony offers a great view of Diamond Head and Kapiolani Park, which is a nice respite from the constant crowds and noise in mid Waikiki. Friendly and secure, and 1/2 block from TheBus which will take you anywhere on the Island. We had a great time!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Not a nice place to stay.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: redecorate
Location: Long way from the centre
The place was unattended when I arrived at 10pm. I had to wait for the security staff to come back to let me into my room. The room was dirty looking and very old. The air-conditioner was set at 70 but was not cold. The area was not so good at night and I needed to get some food. The TV was a very old style. The electrical outlet behind the bed was broken yet the light was still attached as was the phone but the phone was not working. I felt frightened there as they have a club on the second floor and the customers were unsightly. I would certainly not recommend that you use this accommodation again. Most dissatisfied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Very nice budget-friendly hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Super clean, good AC unit, had a cute tropical theme, well-equipped - had a nice mini-kitchen with a fridge, microwave, a nice selection of dishes (real plates, cups, bowls, glasses, silverware). We only stayed one night but if you're there for more than that you could easily save money by prepping many of your meals in the room. Our room (911) had a balcony overlooking the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Beach. The staff was very friendly and maintained constant watch over the parking lot which made us feel safer parking our car there. We got this room through an Expedia deal and while it was inexpensive compared to other nearby hotels, I would gladly pay more if I were to visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kauai, HI

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 10, 2014
My experience was okay I only stayed for one night but the service was outstanding. The hotel comes with free Wifi. Only problem was that the room had a small stench of odor. However, it was a great hotel :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Small hotel with kitchenette close to the beach

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The kitchen is very nice and has everything I need.
Location: The location is great, 1 block from the beach. There is a store not far called "Food Pantry" where you can buy good food and cook it in the room.
I'd rate the hotel 2 stars, but because it has such a nice kitchenette I gave it 3 stars. The air conditioner was loud and sometimes very loud because of a water dropping from an air conditioner above, that would wake me up sometimes. It would be nice to put some rubber on top of air conditioner so the water dripping from above would not make such loud noise!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JohnJ from Seattle

Location, location, location!

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We did experience a problem our first night, but forgiveness is better than revenge . . . especially when you really don't know who to blame. We arrived late (after midnight) and were checked into our room by the only guy on duty (a security guard) and it was his first night on the job. The room he booked us into was very nice, but small, and would have been fine if we had booked for just the two of us. But we had booked for two adults and two children (our grandkids) and the room only had one bed and a love seat. Being his first night and all, the security guard didn't know what to do, so he called someone to ask how to resolve the issue. That person told him to call him in the morning and hung up on him (and wouldn't answer a return call). We ended up sleeping on the floor that night and the management made our situation better for the next two nights. The room they put us in had a fold out couch that accommodated us nicely and we enjoyed the remainder of our trip. Anyone looking to book this hotel should be aware that the rooms are small but well appointed and the regular staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was GREAT! All-in-all, you couldn't ask for more from the regular staff, except that they properly train the staff before they throw them out on their own so they can handle issues that might arise. Aloha, and Mahalo!