Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Aiken

Needs Improvement

Posted Mar 1, 2009 on Hotels.com
The location was great. The furniture in our room would have to be given away at a yard sale. The matress was comfortable but all the chairs were unusable. Nothing matched. Chairs, tables, dresser, lamps, nothing. Drapes did not provide privacy. We were shocked when first entering. Complaint to desk (two times) did no good. Comment was "its the owners responsibility."
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Terrible views

Posted Dec 18, 2008 on Hotels.com
The hotel is stuck between two others, and if you dont have a room in the front, you view is obstructed
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2008 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Loved it!

Posted Aug 6, 2008
Staff were pleasant, room was clean, well presented and we had a great view of the ocean and mountains. Quite close to everything. Would stay there again for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Private Beachfront and Breakfast

Posted Jun 20, 2008 on Hotels.com
I loved the area in the back of the hotel where lawn chairs are set up and you have a view of the ocean in front of you. You are able to access the beach from that patio area though there is only a small, narrow stretch of sand and rocks. Also liked the free breakfast which the maid brings to your room every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu

"Ocean front?"

Posted Jun 13, 2008 on Hotels.com
My "ocean front" room wasn't exactly a frontal location--I was at the far back-end of the hotel with an ocean view. I called hotels.com and the front desk and apparently, the hotel considers these rooms "ocean fronts." I was specifically was going for a fantastic view and was very disappointed at my mostly city view, especially considering I already live in Hawaii! Secondly, I had no maid service at all. Apparently, there was confusion about the hotel room I was in. The maid service had no idea I was in the room I was in so I got no breakfast, no fresh towels, no extra coffee--Very disappointing!!! Parking is pricy $17/day. Beware! Fortunately, there are several meters that charge $1/hr. from 10am-6pm.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Save your money - and go with something better

Posted Jan 21, 2008
Hotel advertises wireless internet available - none was. We paid extra for an ocean view room, and had to fight for it - originally placed in a room that faced a wall. Then placed in a room that had a little bit of a view, from afar........gave up the fight at that point. Staff not friendly. Housekeeper rude. Will never stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Dec 13, 2007
Little help from front desk when elevator went out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

A nice alternative to the hustle & bustle of Waikiki

Posted Nov 8, 2007
DHBH is a great property, but its really a collection of rental units more than a hotel. Not really a problem, but if you arrive late the desk is closed, can be a bit awkward. Its about :15 walk to the beginning of Waikiki, :25 to the center. Its a nice walk though and 2 bus lines do come by the property. Awesome private terrace overlooking ocean. I highly recommend it if you want to be near Waikiki but want the experience of one of the other islands.