Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No on property parking

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: close to restaurants, beach, easy to get in and out of.
Cons: Parking-update rooms
No on property parking, have to go around the block, park at public parking-expensive and lug baggage down the street to hotel- Got a parking ticket for $70 since I did not return in time to update parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1960's property not updated since then

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: 2 blocks from the beach
Window air conditioning was so loud we had to un plug it. couch was unusable. Wifi was hard to get on and kept cutting out despite having to pay for it. carpets ole, worn and dirty, didn't want to walk barefoot on them. Definitely not worth the money paid to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotts Valley, CA

Combo of homey and vacation feel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Loved the pool and kitchenette, the easy access to all the stores and walk to beach. The staff was great - all very friendly.
Cons: The bed was a bit firm for our taste and the internet could have been better, but we managed alright.
Location: Great location for shopping, walks to beach, canal and several historic sites.
We enjoyed our stay here. We didn't try the cafeteria so can't rate it but I am sure that was a convenience for families and groups staying here. We are likely to choose Hokele Suites again on a return visit. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldnt recommend

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Cons: Everything
Location: It was close enough to waikiki, about 7 blocks or so
Horrible. Took almost an hour just to check in. Rooms are in bad shape, toilet scared us the first time we used it, because it would slam into the wall when you got off it. I was surprised it was in working condition. One of the reason i booked this place was because of the free grocery delivery service. Well the hotel staff wasn't completely sure on the process or who it was suppose to be thru, so we had to spend 1/2 our day finding a grocery store and going to by our own food. Very disappointing that i didn't get to use this service. No free wifi, not that i needed it, but it would have been nice to have. There is no parking there. You have to go 2 blocks over to another garage, which is a very tight squeeze. We had an suv and we were not able to go past the 1st floor in that ramp because the ceiling was too low.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Honest Review

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: IHOP is about 75 yards away.
Cons: Free wifi (come on, really? Its not hard in this day and age!) Get a new in-house restaurant AC was HORRIBLE! Bathroom sink...UNACCEPTABLE!
Location: Somewhat close to Waikiki beach, but not worth the money saved!
We stayed in room 240; most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept in. Antiquated, dungeon-like room atmosphere. No central AC, and the single window mount units were very noisy and rattled the paper thin walls like a cheap subwoofer in a convertible. The bathroom sink is about12" long, 10" deep and only 6" wide. Shaving and hand washing was difficult and the knobs did not turn like traditional on/off knobs. Toilet felt like it was going to suckthe room in with it when flushed, you could literally hear it in the lobby. Kitchenette was small and cramped,we were afraid to even try using the stove, and the kitchette was the draw for us on why we stayed here. They will charge you for parking ($25 a day) and their parking is more cramped and difficult to move in. Plus, their dumpsters are in the parking garage and stunk up every vehicle there. Only about 10 parking spots so if you don't get one, its a half mile walk from their suggested parking spots and they charge $35 a night. Knowing what I know now, I would have paid the extra $40 a night to stay at a better place. Nofree wifi in the rooms either. The only positive aspect is that IHOP is about 75 yards away. The in-house Asian buffet was horrible (and I know my Asian food). DEFINITELY NOT WORTH IT AND WILL NOT STAY AGAIN!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't want to stay here again

Posted Jul 6, 2014
The staff was great and friendly and the fridge in the room is a nice touch. Having said that...The coffee maker had mold in it. I could feel every spring in the bed. NEEDS RENOVATION. The walls are paper thin. I'm pretty sure someone was smoking in another room and I could smell it coming out the vents. You're also forced to smell what your neighbors are cooking. The whole use your key card to use the elevator idea is a joke. The card reader was always busted on 1/2 the elevators. There is little to no wifi on the 8th floor so don't bother paying the $6.95 daily fee. I had 1 bar of wifi when I sat in one corner, but it'd go away as soon as I moved. The room had a portable A/C unit which was loud. I'm all about relaxation and leisure. I couldn't get either here. I paid $122 a night and it was worth $40. So if you're looking for a place to pass out after a long day/night of drinking, this might be the place. Other than that, I suggest forking out the extra money for some place else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just fine especially on the cheap.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Those that have rated this site low must be use to higher standards than I. The hotel was better than we thought compared to the many poor reviews, so we were pleasanyly surprised. My wife, daughter stayed four nights here. Close to bus stops, beach, restaurants and many activities. Great value for being in Hawaii. We will definitely stay again if the rates stay low.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil and Mikki from Wang

Close to main centre and expectedly a little noisy

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Facilities adequate. Big effort getting corkscrew. Proximity to Waikiki and great shopping ideal. Plenty of convenience stores, i.e. grog shops, close by. Safe and relaxed. All U need is a bed, a shower and a fridge. We had a pool and a view as well! No complaints from Aus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tokyo

good enough

Posted Jun 24, 2014
not very good, but enough comfort to stay recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dee from Honolulu, HI

Perfect for families on budget

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and tucked away from the busy city.
Cons: More parking that can accommodate large vehicles.
Location: Wonderfully located to many things.
Overall pleasant experience, room was comfortable and perfect for family size, kitchen was sufficient, pool was great. Last but not least, the friendly hotel staff was just awesome.