Ratings based on 560 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Luxury in Ko Olina

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Sting ray and shark pond, water hammock rental at the beach, breakfast buffet!
We booked JW because we were attending a wedding at nearby Aulani. Though this place is more suitable for honeymooners and couples, or families with older children (teens), they don't bat an eye to those of us traveling with young kids. Our ocean front king bed room was great, the lanai huge, and the decor, furniture and fixtures updated. All the staff were EXTREMELY hospitable and nice. My only complaint is that the massage was just so-so and for $140 I was expecting WOW. Otherwise, the beach is clean, the pool is nice (albeit small), and the location is far enough from Waikiki and Honolulu but close enough to make a day trip to the shops and beaches there. Would I stay here again? Definitely! I'll just wait until our little man is a little older!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The Room very nice and like the dream
The hotel is very nice they don't have late check out look old good renovate .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by JWM Ihilani Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa for your Hawaii vacation. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us much. Out of all the dates, the summer season is the best time to visit and enjoy your vacation. We go to great lengths to personalize your stay, but are very sorry that we were unable to accommodate your recent request. We regret that you were misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. We do offer late check-outs, subject to availability. We were excited to hear that enjoyed the spacious and well-appointed guest rooms and hope to see you again soon. Aloha and kindest regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorba Linda, CA

Older hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The view from our ocean-view room is simply breathtaking.
Cons: Common area needs to be air-conditioned. The pool is very small.
Location: Even though it is only 22 miles from Honolulu, the drive from Honolulu can take almost 2 hours in the early mornings and in the late afternoons.
Chiller in the room does not work. Called the front desk and a mini fridge had to be replaced 3 times before they found one that works. Free DVD rental with a DVD player in the room. Common area outside the rooms are not air-conditioned so it gets pretty warm. Small pool and 1 jacuzzi. Shared lagoon with Aulani. Compared to Aulani, JW Marriott is very dated; however if you are looking for some peace and quiet, JW Marriott is the place to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice Hotel, but Terrible Expensive

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: It's location and cleanliness.
Cons: The prices.
Location: Other than the beach there were no things to do within walking distance.
The resort was wonderful. The room was wonderful. The service was wonderful. The price and add-ons were outrageous! Besides the expensive hotel room, we were charged $35/day to PARK our car, $30/day tax for a resort fee, and the restaurants were nice, but the food and drinks were outrageously priced. i.e. Regular Hamburger, $15; Flatbread Sandwich $14-$18, Iced Tea, $4.00.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford. texas

Great place for vacation

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The staff here is just the best. The rooms and amenities are excellent. The beach area and outdoor bar and grill was a favorite place. I can't think of anything negative. We had a car and the valet staff were outstanding. They remembered me each day and were helpful with advice and interested to hear how our day trips went. I loved this place and the people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

It was even more than we expected.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Just everything.
Cons: Mae on the welcome desk needs to be disciplined.
Location: The location was "out of town" and with our rental car, we had access to every part of the island.
We had a beautiful view, a short walk to the beach, mostly good food at the hotel. The only bad incident was with MAE at the new guests desk. She was abrasive and insulting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Great hotel on a wonderful lagoon. The experience my wife and I had at this hotel was memorable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by JWM Ihilani Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa for your romantic getaway. We were elated to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha and warm regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Cathy from Events was excellent!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Needed to give specifics on requests at time. But staff was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by JWM Ihilani Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words and recognizing our staff as they take pride in serving you. We have passed down your praises to Cathy. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were delighted to hear your experience was guided every step along the way. We look forward to serving you in the future. Aloha and kindest regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Great experience. Celebrated 25th wedding anniversary! Excellent facilities and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by JWM Ihilani Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa for your 25th wedding anniversary. We look forward to serving you in the future. Aloha and kindest regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Awesome place, don't believe the negative reviews

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Everthing! It's amazing
Cons: Food was just ok at the beach restaurant all other food was good though
Location: snorkeling
This was by far the best place I've ever stayed in the best location on the nicest resort. With Aulani right next door you have a nice comparisson too (if they'd choose to put it there). Aulani was jammed though with lots of noise and our side of the beach calm and awesome! The lagoon is awesome for relaxing, watersports and beach activities, including good snorkeling for free. Beautiful sunsets and huge waves at 7:20 is nice too
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by JWM Ihilani Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were elated to hear that you enjoyed the beachfront location, relaxing setting, and various water activities. We are confident that your time with us will help you to find focus and balance, in both mind and body. The JW Marriott Ihilani is indeed a special place for sunsets as it is truly an outer island destination on Oahu, which is part of what attracts many of our guests. The protected coves and new beach umbrellas enhance the beach experience. Thank you again for your review. Aloha and kindest regards.