Ratings based on 565 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern cali

Best that paradise has to offer!!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
The staff at the Jw were the nicest ever from the valet to concierge to the awesomenes beach resort staff Cice was our beach activties advisor and he was the best the entire even the cleaning service was a wealth of information and everyone was the best !!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Disappointed!

Posted Sep 17, 2014
1. I was kinda disappointed when I was at check in. Me and my family always stay at Marriott hotel wherever we went, for birthdays, anniversarys and my honeymoon last year. every time we left the note when booking and when we got there, they always either gave us free room upgrade or bottle of champagne or some little special things.. But this time we did NOT even get to hear the "happy anniversary"! 2. Only one small pool..... 3. $30 tax for the resort fee $35 tax for the parking fee (valet or self, doesn't matter) just in case ppl don't know this 4. Something is wrong with the mattress, we had to call to change to another one after slept one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice Part Of Town

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The staff were all friendly and helpful. Many facilities on site. Close to food and other restaurants. In a super clean beautiful part of the island.
Cons: The bars and restaurants on tuesday all closed by around 9:30. bit early when out trekking and venturing out all day.
Location: Beach/pool activities, bars, stores, Honolulu is about a 30 minute drive, Turtle Bay about an hour. Stay local there's plenty to do.
I stayed in Maui for a week and had one night in Honolulu for my connecting time home. Personally Honolulu/Waikiki is way overdeveloped and industrial, however, once you turn off the H1 freeway, the resort are is a different world, landscaped/maintained with beautiful swimming bays, netted off and safe for kids (I don't have kids, but if I did this swimming area is the best blocking ocean currents, swells and rips with no rough shore break).... The hotel staff were amazing Jason at reception took great care of us, the food at JW was exceptional. Ihilani really is the best part of Oahu away from the hustle and bustle of the busy streets. We drove an hour up to turtle bay (hotel helped with map and directions) Hawaiian Sea Turtles everywhere. Don't spend $200 on a snorkel tour. Drive here. Just do me a favour, I was picking rubbish out of water, If your going to take advantage of the opportunity to see these amazing creatures listen to the volunteers, don't touch the animals (you can actually snorkel here very close to the turtles, also many marine fish here, butterfly, angels, tangs, triggers) and most importantly watch you're rubbish don't let it enter the water.. I can't think of anything worse than seeing people treating one of a kind areas like this as an amusement park leaving their crap everywhere. Hair ties, plastic flowers and bottles that could kill the very animals you have the opp. to see. If you have a 9am flight leave at 5:30am H1 morning traffic is gridlock.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Luxury in Ko Olina

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Sting ray and shark pond, water hammock rental at the beach, breakfast buffet!
We booked JW because we were attending a wedding at nearby Aulani. Though this place is more suitable for honeymooners and couples, or families with older children (teens), they don't bat an eye to those of us traveling with young kids. Our ocean front king bed room was great, the lanai huge, and the decor, furniture and fixtures updated. All the staff were EXTREMELY hospitable and nice. My only complaint is that the massage was just so-so and for $140 I was expecting WOW. Otherwise, the beach is clean, the pool is nice (albeit small), and the location is far enough from Waikiki and Honolulu but close enough to make a day trip to the shops and beaches there. Would I stay here again? Definitely! I'll just wait until our little man is a little older!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The Room very nice and like the dream
The hotel is very nice they don't have late check out look old good renovate .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by JWM Ihilani Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa for your Hawaii vacation. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us much. Out of all the dates, the summer season is the best time to visit and enjoy your vacation. We go to great lengths to personalize your stay, but are very sorry that we were unable to accommodate your recent request. We regret that you were misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. We do offer late check-outs, subject to availability. We were excited to hear that enjoyed the spacious and well-appointed guest rooms and hope to see you again soon. Aloha and kindest regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorba Linda, CA

Older hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The view from our ocean-view room is simply breathtaking.
Cons: Common area needs to be air-conditioned. The pool is very small.
Location: Even though it is only 22 miles from Honolulu, the drive from Honolulu can take almost 2 hours in the early mornings and in the late afternoons.
Chiller in the room does not work. Called the front desk and a mini fridge had to be replaced 3 times before they found one that works. Free DVD rental with a DVD player in the room. Common area outside the rooms are not air-conditioned so it gets pretty warm. Small pool and 1 jacuzzi. Shared lagoon with Aulani. Compared to Aulani, JW Marriott is very dated; however if you are looking for some peace and quiet, JW Marriott is the place to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice Hotel, but Terrible Expensive

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: It's location and cleanliness.
Cons: The prices.
Location: Other than the beach there were no things to do within walking distance.
The resort was wonderful. The room was wonderful. The service was wonderful. The price and add-ons were outrageous! Besides the expensive hotel room, we were charged $35/day to PARK our car, $30/day tax for a resort fee, and the restaurants were nice, but the food and drinks were outrageously priced. i.e. Regular Hamburger, $15; Flatbread Sandwich $14-$18, Iced Tea, $4.00.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford. texas

Great place for vacation

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The staff here is just the best. The rooms and amenities are excellent. The beach area and outdoor bar and grill was a favorite place. I can't think of anything negative. We had a car and the valet staff were outstanding. They remembered me each day and were helpful with advice and interested to hear how our day trips went. I loved this place and the people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

It was even more than we expected.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Just everything.
Cons: Mae on the welcome desk needs to be disciplined.
Location: The location was "out of town" and with our rental car, we had access to every part of the island.
We had a beautiful view, a short walk to the beach, mostly good food at the hotel. The only bad incident was with MAE at the new guests desk. She was abrasive and insulting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Great hotel on a wonderful lagoon. The experience my wife and I had at this hotel was memorable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by JWM Ihilani Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa for your romantic getaway. We were elated to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha and warm regards.