Ratings based on 572 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place to stay in paradise.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and the best view of the sunset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and location

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Service was excellent, nice pool and lagoon for swimming
Cons: The $30 day resort fee was a rip off. Included many things we wouldnt have used and alot for just internet
The room was large and nicely appointed, huge bathroom and loads of closet space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern cali

Best that paradise has to offer!!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
The staff at the Jw were the nicest ever from the valet to concierge to the awesomenes beach resort staff Cice was our beach activties advisor and he was the best the entire even the cleaning service was a wealth of information and everyone was the best !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent honeymoon

Posted Sep 28, 2014
We were so happy with our choice. While there, I took some time to check out surrounding hotels, downtown hotels, and the hotels right next to us. The JW Marriott was truly the best choice. We were so blown away by the view, the room, the service, and everything. Closest one to the beach. Quiet and away from the mess. Easy access to the rest of the island. We could not have asked for anything more than what we got. Staff: very knowledgeable and very, very friendly. Valet: totally on top of their game. Went to go to the north shore. Valet asked where and what and then said see you back around this time. We did more than what we had originally planned and sure enough we arrived back at the time Valet said we would. Food: Excellent! The buffet was amazing. The best omelette chef I have ever had. He is outstanding! Beach: best lagoon amongst the other lagoons. Went snorkeling in all of the lagoons. The one right there was the clearest, biggest, and most enjoyable. Location: we could not stop commenting on how glad we were we had picked that hotel over any downtown. The JW Marriott is even better than the hotel right next door. Instead of walking through chlorine filled landscape to get to the beach, you turn a corner and there you are. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. Made for the best vacation ever. Made our honeymoon incredible!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Disappointed!

Posted Sep 17, 2014
1. I was kinda disappointed when I was at check in. Me and my family always stay at Marriott hotel wherever we went, for birthdays, anniversarys and my honeymoon last year. every time we left the note when booking and when we got there, they always either gave us free room upgrade or bottle of champagne or some little special things.. But this time we did NOT even get to hear the "happy anniversary"! 2. Only one small pool..... 3. $30 tax for the resort fee $35 tax for the parking fee (valet or self, doesn't matter) just in case ppl don't know this 4. Something is wrong with the mattress, we had to call to change to another one after slept one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice Part Of Town

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The staff were all friendly and helpful. Many facilities on site. Close to food and other restaurants. In a super clean beautiful part of the island.
Cons: The bars and restaurants on tuesday all closed by around 9:30. bit early when out trekking and venturing out all day.
Location: Beach/pool activities, bars, stores, Honolulu is about a 30 minute drive, Turtle Bay about an hour. Stay local there's plenty to do.
I stayed in Maui for a week and had one night in Honolulu for my connecting time home. Personally Honolulu/Waikiki is way overdeveloped and industrial, however, once you turn off the H1 freeway, the resort are is a different world, landscaped/maintained with beautiful swimming bays, netted off and safe for kids (I don't have kids, but if I did this swimming area is the best blocking ocean currents, swells and rips with no rough shore break).... The hotel staff were amazing Jason at reception took great care of us, the food at JW was exceptional. Ihilani really is the best part of Oahu away from the hustle and bustle of the busy streets. We drove an hour up to turtle bay (hotel helped with map and directions) Hawaiian Sea Turtles everywhere. Don't spend $200 on a snorkel tour. Drive here. Just do me a favour, I was picking rubbish out of water, If your going to take advantage of the opportunity to see these amazing creatures listen to the volunteers, don't touch the animals (you can actually snorkel here very close to the turtles, also many marine fish here, butterfly, angels, tangs, triggers) and most importantly watch you're rubbish don't let it enter the water.. I can't think of anything worse than seeing people treating one of a kind areas like this as an amusement park leaving their crap everywhere. Hair ties, plastic flowers and bottles that could kill the very animals you have the opp. to see. If you have a 9am flight leave at 5:30am H1 morning traffic is gridlock.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Luxury in Ko Olina

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Sting ray and shark pond, water hammock rental at the beach, breakfast buffet!
We booked JW because we were attending a wedding at nearby Aulani. Though this place is more suitable for honeymooners and couples, or families with older children (teens), they don't bat an eye to those of us traveling with young kids. Our ocean front king bed room was great, the lanai huge, and the decor, furniture and fixtures updated. All the staff were EXTREMELY hospitable and nice. My only complaint is that the massage was just so-so and for $140 I was expecting WOW. Otherwise, the beach is clean, the pool is nice (albeit small), and the location is far enough from Waikiki and Honolulu but close enough to make a day trip to the shops and beaches there. Would I stay here again? Definitely! I'll just wait until our little man is a little older!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The Room very nice and like the dream
The hotel is very nice they don't have late check out look old good renovate .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by JWM Ihilani Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa for your Hawaii vacation. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us much. Out of all the dates, the summer season is the best time to visit and enjoy your vacation. We go to great lengths to personalize your stay, but are very sorry that we were unable to accommodate your recent request. We regret that you were misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. We do offer late check-outs, subject to availability. We were excited to hear that enjoyed the spacious and well-appointed guest rooms and hope to see you again soon. Aloha and kindest regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorba Linda, CA

Older hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The view from our ocean-view room is simply breathtaking.
Cons: Common area needs to be air-conditioned. The pool is very small.
Location: Even though it is only 22 miles from Honolulu, the drive from Honolulu can take almost 2 hours in the early mornings and in the late afternoons.
Chiller in the room does not work. Called the front desk and a mini fridge had to be replaced 3 times before they found one that works. Free DVD rental with a DVD player in the room. Common area outside the rooms are not air-conditioned so it gets pretty warm. Small pool and 1 jacuzzi. Shared lagoon with Aulani. Compared to Aulani, JW Marriott is very dated; however if you are looking for some peace and quiet, JW Marriott is the place to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice Hotel, but Terrible Expensive

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: It's location and cleanliness.
Cons: The prices.
Location: Other than the beach there were no things to do within walking distance.
The resort was wonderful. The room was wonderful. The service was wonderful. The price and add-ons were outrageous! Besides the expensive hotel room, we were charged $35/day to PARK our car, $30/day tax for a resort fee, and the restaurants were nice, but the food and drinks were outrageously priced. i.e. Regular Hamburger, $15; Flatbread Sandwich $14-$18, Iced Tea, $4.00.