Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Ideally located home from home

Posted Aug 16, 2014
I really enjoyed my stay. The room was very clean and I loved the set up. There was a living area which had a tv and two sofas.There was also a drop down double bed behind a wardrobe cover. This might put some people off but I found it fun and also the bed was very comfortable and good quality. So offered a sound sleep. There was a kitchenette with a small breakfast bar. Both had really snazzy tops and the kitchenette was very well equipped for cooking. The bathroom was a reasonable size and again well fitted out. The location is right in the middle of Waikiki and a five min max walk to the beach.Some previous comments have mentioned the area being shady. Rubbish ! There are supermarkets shops right nearby and the site is just back from a main road. There are seats outside where men sit but they are in no way threatening. The area seems very safe to me. For the price I would highly recommend considering the location and quality of the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was ok near to the beach

Posted Jul 27, 2014
We were going to visit Maui and the Big Island but the hotel did not have a storage facility to store our bags until our return
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

No Aloha

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, clean, spacious bathroom, close to Marukame.
Cons: Replace the carpet in the units (better yet... go tile or flooring), lose the crappy Murphy beds, add deadbolts/key cards, improve security!
Location: Marukame Udon is directly in front of the "hotel", and this is probably some of the best Japanese "fast food" you'll get in Waikiki.
Luckily, we only used this room as a base camp to spend our final day before taking the overnight flight back to the mainland, otherwise, I'd be very very displeased. In my humble opinion, a "hotel" (and I use the term lightly) of this poor quality doesn't belong in the Expedia inventory. I felt more like Section 8 housing than a hotel... run down and smelly elevator (Who puts carpet on the walls of an elevator in a tropical, humid environment?), very un-secure room doors (So easy to by-pass the locked main entrance, breezeway is exposed to the apartments behind, no deadlocks, very easy for someone to simply scale up from the outside and jimmy the door), shabby, smelly carpeting in unit. On the plus side, the bathroom was very clean (what we were really after, so we could spend the day on the beach and then shower before heading to the airport), the staff friendly and helpful, and they did offer beach towels, chairs, umbrellas and boogie boards. Another plus is that Marukame Udon is directly in front of the "hotel", and this is probably some of the best Japanese "fast food" you'll get in Waikiki: they make their udon fresh constantly through the day and the prices can't be beat! This unit wasn't cheap... there are many better deals if you hunt a bit more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

A nice little hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The Kitchenette, the location, friendly and helpful staff
Cons: It's old, the shower looks like the one I used in the Army
Location: Close to the beach, shops, eating, markets, it is in a nice area albeit a bit noisy and busy.
With stunning views of an alley way and restaurant's HVAC system, Kuhio Banyan is not what you expect from Waikiki Beach. But that being said, it is three blocks from the beach. The area is nice. The price is much lower than the posh resorts, and the staff is super-nice and helpful. The rooms feature a nice little kitchenette which was great since I was travelling with my 4 y/o son. I liked the place enough to return a second time. Yes, it's a bit old. No, it's not a resort. But if you are on a budget and but need something clean and family-safe; you could do a lot worse than this place. I liked it and I will book there again if I return to Hawaii.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down and dirty

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Good location on Kuhio near Waikiki.
We stayed at this hotel for one night last week and were very disappointed by the overall condition of the room and its general maintenance and cleanliness. The hotel is very tired and needs quite a major upgrade; the carpets are all heavily stained and we didn't want to walk on them with bare feet. The air con in the window made the noise of a loud jet engine all night while the fan above our head didn't work. For what we paid this hotel offered very poor value for money and deserves a big thumbs down.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted May 27, 2014
Cons: Improvement on cleanliness Nightclub next to the place isn't appealing at all
Location: Close to the beach Close to restaurants Great location
This hotel is OK. The murphy bed was new for us, but that's part of the adventure with traveling. We were first sent to a smoking room which was filthy, so we asked to be moved to a non-smoking room and it was much cleaner and better. But the AC can get annoyingly loud. Just don't expect anything super fancy. This is an apartment-hotel, studio type. What disappointed me was the club next to the place. Noise wasn't an issue but you'd find shady people lurking around the corners, drinking or drunk. Just not a safe feeling at night. But there's a security guard by the hotel at night who is nice.
2 out of 5
by Kenji from L

Nice location but terrible house keeping.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Very nice location right in Waikiki. 2 blocks down to the beach , and the famouse udon is just right upfront. however, the service was terrible , nobody come to clean my rooms for three days until I talked to the reception about it. Room keeper didn't not change towels nor vacuum, and carpet was still full of sands. For about the same price go to the holiday inn that is just right next block. Save yourself hassle.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever!

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Dropped off at a night club. When I had my 13 yr old and then i needed a code to get in. Was not given one. Had me wait 5 hrs to get assistance. The hotel manager wanted to charge me $45.00 so she can come out and give me code. I went and walked with my daughter at 2am in Honolulu and I found a hotel myself. Was very unhappy with this night club hotel. How can Epedia ever recommend it to anyone. That place is a college hang out with lots of drinking. Cops were called twice. Inside that hotel. And the security was rude and kicked us out and told us we had to wait outside. This place has no lobby it's a dump and a party house.
1 out of 5
by local resident from kona hawaii

Worst hotel on kuhio avenue

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Called let them know that I was checking in late. Lady couldn't find my res for a while then told me to look for security when I got in and gave me a code. Got there and took me 15 min to find security. Put me in room right above play bar and had pounding music in my room all night couldn't sleep. Hotel front desk spke broken English improper for any hotel. Room was dirty and smelled like mothballs. Horrible stay
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Did you say nightclub?

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
our flight was delayed because of the trade winds so we didn't get to hotel till 130 am. We were exhausted due to our long flight to find our hotel room was above a nightclub with music pumping. even with earplugs we could feel the music. Extremely aggravating after a long journey. There was no one on site when arriving so thank God I called before our flight to prepare them for our lateness as we wouldn't have gotten into our hotel. A very young security man assisted us into the building. We were not charged for late check out which was nice due to lack of sleep.