Ratings based on 533 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Central located hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Had a stay over in Hawaii at this hotel. It's very clean and comfy. Good size rooms for great price also centrally located to downtown waikiki
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good family oriented hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Affordable, and conveniently located.
Cons: I did not care for the tile floor in the room. I would suggest some kind of rugs if the floors do not have carpet. The tile is cold at night.
Location: Very close to the beach and a nice park for children.
My family stayed at the Luana for the 4th of July and it was a great experience. We were pleasantly surprised when we were given an upgrade upon check-in. The room was perfect, except it did not have any kind of carpet. It was tile floors and I had never stayed in a hotel room that did not have carpet. I would suggest throw rugs for the tile floor rooms. Other than that, everything else was great. Conveniently located and the valet parking is a plus. The pool looked a little bigger in the picures, but it worked out just fine. My son loved it and did not want to leave! We will definitely be back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justin from new zealand

Nice hotel stayed for our honeymoon

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Large, clean rooms we stayed 3 nights and had a very pleasurable experience. Close to the main strip and beach also has a trolley service that takes you anywhere in the city outside. Would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wheeler from San Francisco, CA

Great location, close to the beach

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Cons: The bed was not comfortable. Found it to be a little hard for our taste. The sofa bed were perfect for the kids and no complaints from them.
Great location on Waikiki. Less than a 10 minutes walk to the beach. They provide beach towels, beach chairs and bike to use for free if you like. Close to many restaurants and shops. Easy access and away from the busy part of the street if you decide to drive. Got a room with partial ocean view and a view of the city and Diamond Head. The room had a lanai, which allowed for extra living space; great for relaxing and having a cold drink while admiring the view. Our room with a kitchenette came with a small fridge, electric cooktop, microwave/oven and supplied with dinnerware and kitchen utensils. This came in handy preparing breakfast and allowed us to save money from eating out all the time. There's also free wi-fi. The hotel has a small pool that's not crowded and area for grilling if you decide to use the BBQ grills to cook up a meal. The hotel staff were friendly. The only drawback is the valet only parking option at $35 per night. At least there were no other charges like a resort fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good spot close (but not too close) to Waikiki Bch

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Cons: Room sliding door onto balcony (Rm 311) was very heavy so to open & close the door required some effort.
Only a 2 night stay at Luana Waikiki. Walking distance to beach & shopping was a key consideration in choosing Luana. Did not use any of the hotel facilities due to our short stay but did view the pool & gym which looked quite inviting & likely would have used if our stay was longer. Lobby staff friendly & helpful. Maid service was second to none. We would certainly consider Luana again on any return visit to Honolulu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from England

Definitely Recommend this Hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Good position, clean, good facilities and complementary equipment, friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Valet Parking price is excessive.
Location: All Waikiki Central is easily accessible on foot as is the beach.A car to explore the rest of the island was great for us, beware the road system!
The setting for the hotel is very good, a short walk across fort Debussy park ( which is well kept and has many flowers and trees) brings you to the beach, this section is not so busy as the Central Waikiki beaches and is lovely. Central Waikiki is easily walkable. We used a rental car during our stay, and the considerable downside is the $35 per day valet parking - it cost us as much to park as it did to hire the car! This charge was $25 until recently. Our only other disappointment was that the restaurant was "undergoing renovation" and would not be open during our stay- this was not mentioned at any time during the booking process.we understand it issue to reopen on 1st July 2014. That said, the hotel is very pleasant, room was clean and adequately equipped ( we had a kitchenette) , with. Partial ocean view across Debussy Park, we got a little traffic noise from Kalakaua Ave and evening pool noise from a hotel on the other side of the avenue but not disturbingly so. Most noise came from the ancient air conditioning unit in our room. Staff were always helpful, and the complementary beach towels and beach chairs were very useful, the hotel also offers bikes for guest use, there are limited numbers of chairs so go early. Overall , we had a very good holiday here and would certainly go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location. Close to shopping, beach, bus

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Free bike rentals, free beach towel and chair rentals. Expedia on site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wally from Australia

Traditional Hawaiian hotel.

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms, great view, car rental available.
Cons: Nothing
Location: within 10 minutes walk numerous restaurants, shops, marketplace, tourist sites, Waikiki beachfront ready access to bus travel.
The hotel had traditional Hawaiian fixtures. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel rooms were clean, roomy with great view of parks and ocean. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from many restaurants and amenities. Local bus stops provide timely transport to other centers. It is our intention to return to Oahu in the future and we will be certain to use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: CLOSE TO THE BEACH
Cons: FOOD. A CAFE OR EATERY ON SITE WOULD BE NICE
CLOSE TO THE BEACH. WALKING DISTANCE. NICE, CLEAN AND WELL KEPT. THE VIEW FROM ROOM 1612 WILL TAKE YOUR BREATH AWAY. THE HOTEL OFFERS, FREE BIKES (FIRST COME FIRST SERVE) FREE BEACH CHAIRS AND BEACH TOWELS. THE STAFF IS FRIENDLY AND PROFESSIONAL.
2 out of 5
by gregarious from Loudoun County, VA

Mediocrity Wakiki!

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Rooms should have carpeting - no one likes a cold tile floor especially when you are getting out of bed.
Location: Al of the fancy shops of Waikiki Beach are foot steps away. And, the world-renown Ala Moana Shoping Center is about 3/4 mile away - walk if you prefer
Looking for convenience in Waikiki Beach - then this is the place for you. All of the stores and places to eat are nearby while the beach is a mere two blocks away. If you get one of the high floors, you WILL see the beach. Unfortunately, my "EXPEDIA SPECIAL" was very disappointing. I was looking for reasonability in price so I elected to go for the CITY VIEW - what I got was NO VIEW! The first floor room is actually about 100 feet off the street level, but the balcony is NOT really a balcony but a fenced in area. The gas station is a few feet away. And the noise from the service elevator ad the people walking to the pool was bad. But WAIT -there's more. The real surprise was the parking. When I booked the room, I saw the Valet Parking OPTION... well, its not an option - its your only choice. $35 a day for parking is VERY UNREASONABLE. This is not New York or Philadelphia. So, that low room rate is offset by the high rate for parking. Finally, there is NO CARPETING In the room, but tile... YUCK. I have stayed at plenty of bedroom/kitchenette combos - and carpeting just makes the room more comfortable.