Ratings based on 571 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, spacious rooms

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We spent three nights at this hotel which is centrally located, plentiful of restaurants within walking distance and close to Waikiki beach. We took advantage of the free bikes rental and explored the area. Rooms are big although they look a bit dated, especially the bathroom. Beds are very comfortable and even if we had a room next to the elevator, it was very quiet. Overall, a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice stay

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The room has microwave, if you ask. Laundry facilities.
Cons: Maybe, more ventilation in the laundry area?
Location: Walking distance to most stores and Royal Hawaiian Center.
The staff, including housekeeping were great. I find them more accommodating and friendlier than the other more expensive hotel we stayed at in Waikiki. The person (in lost and found) I spoke with on 4-25-14 around 5pm (I wish I remembered her name) was wonderful. The rates are reasonable. The hotel has laundry facilities which I like.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware - the hotel needs work

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Our balcony overlooked a gas station - or room was located next to the laundry and was always moist - not a nice experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Surprised that the hotel rating is 4.4

Posted Jul 25, 2014
I normally looked at the hotel rating and reviews before I will book my hotel, and chose this hotel bec. of the ratings. Our dilemna started as soon as we get in the room. We boooked a 2 double queen, it's 4 of us. To my surprised, they gave me 1 queen bed with a sofa. I was not informed before check-in. I was told that when you booked thru expedia, whatever is your request is not guaranteed, bec. It' just a request.and I was told by the receptionist to just let my children sleep in the sofa.But how can you fit in 2 kids (15 y/o and 10 y/o) in a sofa. With a long discussion they finally moved me to another room with 2 queen bed. But, wow, the hall way is so "stinky", smell like mold, you smell it the moment you comes out from the elevator. Same thing inside the room, the bed covers, smell the same thing; but since we are all tired with the flight, we just deal with it all night. But you hate that the moment you will wake up, you can smell that "moldy smell" in your self. I left a note infront of the mirror that morning, so nobody would missed, to please change our sheets and linens, but to my disappointments when we came back that night, the note still infront of the mirror, sheets were not changed at all. Trashed not emptied, too hard to call operator and housekeeping, they don't answer the phone, so I have to go down and tell them my issues.Air coming out from the aircon, smell like mold too. So, disappointed with the stay, will not ever consider coming back to this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great positioning for the walking tourist.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: It is well-positioned and within walking distance of major shopping areas and restaurants.
Cons: We were misled into attending a hard sell time-share presentation. Please do not allow staff to do this under the guise of being helpful.
Location: Easy walking to Ala Moana Mall and along Kalakaua Road - great shopping. Also easy walking and access to beaches.
Very comfortable bed, room was clean, daily service with clean sheets every 3 days. Good sized room, laundry facilities available at a cheap price. Lovely clean pool and surroundings. Small café onsite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Central located hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Had a stay over in Hawaii at this hotel. It's very clean and comfy. Good size rooms for great price also centrally located to downtown waikiki
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good family oriented hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Affordable, and conveniently located.
Cons: I did not care for the tile floor in the room. I would suggest some kind of rugs if the floors do not have carpet. The tile is cold at night.
Location: Very close to the beach and a nice park for children.
My family stayed at the Luana for the 4th of July and it was a great experience. We were pleasantly surprised when we were given an upgrade upon check-in. The room was perfect, except it did not have any kind of carpet. It was tile floors and I had never stayed in a hotel room that did not have carpet. I would suggest throw rugs for the tile floor rooms. Other than that, everything else was great. Conveniently located and the valet parking is a plus. The pool looked a little bigger in the picures, but it worked out just fine. My son loved it and did not want to leave! We will definitely be back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justin from new zealand

Nice hotel stayed for our honeymoon

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Large, clean rooms we stayed 3 nights and had a very pleasurable experience. Close to the main strip and beach also has a trolley service that takes you anywhere in the city outside. Would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wheeler from San Francisco, CA

Great location, close to the beach

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Cons: The bed was not comfortable. Found it to be a little hard for our taste. The sofa bed were perfect for the kids and no complaints from them.
Great location on Waikiki. Less than a 10 minutes walk to the beach. They provide beach towels, beach chairs and bike to use for free if you like. Close to many restaurants and shops. Easy access and away from the busy part of the street if you decide to drive. Got a room with partial ocean view and a view of the city and Diamond Head. The room had a lanai, which allowed for extra living space; great for relaxing and having a cold drink while admiring the view. Our room with a kitchenette came with a small fridge, electric cooktop, microwave/oven and supplied with dinnerware and kitchen utensils. This came in handy preparing breakfast and allowed us to save money from eating out all the time. There's also free wi-fi. The hotel has a small pool that's not crowded and area for grilling if you decide to use the BBQ grills to cook up a meal. The hotel staff were friendly. The only drawback is the valet only parking option at $35 per night. At least there were no other charges like a resort fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good spot close (but not too close) to Waikiki Bch

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Cons: Room sliding door onto balcony (Rm 311) was very heavy so to open & close the door required some effort.
Only a 2 night stay at Luana Waikiki. Walking distance to beach & shopping was a key consideration in choosing Luana. Did not use any of the hotel facilities due to our short stay but did view the pool & gym which looked quite inviting & likely would have used if our stay was longer. Lobby staff friendly & helpful. Maid service was second to none. We would certainly consider Luana again on any return visit to Honolulu.