Ratings based on 859 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LR505 from Santa Fe, NM

Very nice hotel, great location.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The hotel is in a great location right on the beach and within walking distance to plenty of shopping and restaurants. It is also very pretty.
Cons: Bed size, vaccum at least every other day with cleanings, more reasonably priced menus with a better variety at the beach bar. Get rid of resort fee.
Location: Near beach, shopping and restaurants.
Check in went smoothly with a minimal wait. We checked in around 3pm local time and the room was ready. We stayed in the tower and it had a nice view of the beach and Diamond Head. The room had 2 double beds which we required because it was 2 adults, 2 small kids an an infant and I must say the beds are too small. Not sure why they can't use queens as the standard size; the doubles aren't much larger than twin beds. We had to get a rollaway and the good news is that suprisingly there was no charge for one. Anyhow, the beds were at least comfortable and we made due. The room was about the average size of most hotel rooms and was cleaned daily by a reasonable time. All towels, toiletries, bottled water and coffees were replenished daily. One comment regarding housekeeping is that it would be nice to have the room vaccumed once in a while as sand can get tracked in. We were there 9 days and the room was not vacummed once. We ate at the breakfast buffet every morning and the food was very good, although expensive. For small kids it makes more sense to order a childs breakfast for them off of the kids menu rather than the buffet because for as little as they tend to eat, vs. the cost - the buffet is not worth the price. You can order made to order eggs, omlettes, french toast, etc. included with the buffet price which made for a nice change as the buffet serves the same meal daily. Resort fee not good value if you do not utilize what it includes which for us was zip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, great view, easy access to beach

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Incredible place to stay, very well maintained both inside and out....loved everything from the warm look to the rocking chairs, piano bar, nightly music, the food & of course the historical Banyan tree
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Philip from London

The Moana Surfrider is totally wonderful !

Posted Apr 10, 2014
I cannot praise this hotel enough it is one of the great hotels of the world I loved my stay there the staff are wonderful the hotel is very comfortable and the staff make you feel at home. I will be going back to this hotel every chance I get I've travelled all over the World but this is my favourite place .
1 out of 5
by i like to trave from C

Had a suite felt uncomfortable

Posted Apr 8, 2014
They bothered me all the time and did not have no peace in my hotel room! So far away that I would have to walk to the beach! I spent all time in my room felt like a prisoner in my hotel room! I would never return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jo from Il

Fun week!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: All the activity around the hotel for adults and teenagers.
Cons: Front dest was always crowded.
Location: Dining, shopping, tons of restaurants, surfing, snorkeling, hiking diamond head, pearl harbor
We stayed at the Moana Surfrider over spring break. The hotel is very nice, clean and busy! This is not a quiet Four Seasons type property. I am a little picky when it comes to clean rooms and this passed the test. I almost always have to have them change the bedding when I get to a hotel, but did not here. Our 3 teenagers loved all the action at and around the hotel (surf lessons, rafts, boogie boards....). Loved sitting on the beach and listening to live music every afternoon and the bar didn't hurt either. The pool area is small, but the beach is where all the action is anyway. Staff , especially the concierge, were very helpful. The front desk needs more help as there is always a line. The expensive dinner at the boathouse was only okay, we had better dinners elsewhere. All in all we would stay there again and recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved my Hawaiian vacation

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Sad not to have a balcony or that it would be an additional charge. Everything else was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by diane from boyd mn

excellent choice, alot of ammenties

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: very nice, clean, easy to get around, live entertainment nightly, bar right on the beach, friendly staff, centrally located on the beach, awesome beds
Cons: bar could stay open later than 11:00 pm, maybe have a larger menu to choose from when sitting outside by pool.
Location: right in the middle of all the other hotels, on the beach, fast food restuarants available close by walking distance ( parks, zoo, aquarium) fast food
right on the beach, had a room on the 5th floor with partial ocean view, no complaints with hearing any traffic, nice comfortable beds, had the only outside bar right on beach, did not eat at the restuarants at hotel so no feed back on that, balloons and cake where in the room when we arrived.( was birthday) very nice to see!! The activities desk clerk was awesome to deal with gave us alot of insight on what to schedule for the money spent, no disappointments on any of the activities. did deep sea fishing caught 3 ono fish up to 28 pds. the bill collector was the boats name, did catamaran with snorkling and snuba diving, did germaines laua out, little far to drive but worth it, did zoo, and aquarium which was walking distance, and circle city tour with various stops and snorkling at turtle bay. alot of high end shopping stores available, serveral opportunities to do different water sports right there to rent. The bartenders at the resort were also helpful and awesome, overall we are glad we chose to stay there, we research for about 2 months before we decided on the hotel, we did go thru some of the other hotels on the beach, and felt for what we were looking for and the price and room we got we would diffently go back there. this was our first trip to hawaii.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Excellent stay!!!

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: The location, being footsteps to the beach is fabulous. The Beach Bar- food and drink. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was fabulous.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The shopping and restaurants, all waking distance what more can you ask for!
My daughter and I spent a week at the Moana Surfrider in March 2014 and I must say it was the best vacation ever. The location of the hotel is unparalleled to any hotel we have ever stayed in and we traveled a lot internationally. We had a late flight on departure and Kristen at the front desk was more than accommodating for us , extending our check out even further than usually. So once again, thank you Kristen! Our whole family will for sure return soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bert from mexico

cool

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: the fronmt desk service
Location: cool
the hotel was great, the restaurant is very good and a very good buffet, also de beach is perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich from Ontario Can

see below

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: I don't like to Knit Pick when we are happy about a location
Location: Great location from street position and shore since we are older wouldn't suggest a room near Kalalkua as a little too active if you want to sleep
Only there for a day and one half but thought it looked like a real classic when we first saw it while staying else where but decided to stay on the way back east from Aussie. Very pleased with our choice