Ratings based on 958 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

great hotel, everything is right there

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: the hotel is beautiful
Cons: the air conditioning
Location: great location, everything is right out your door
love the hotel, staff was very helpful. valet and bell hop is only friendly if they feel you have money. we were greeted with a lei and everyone was nice and no complaints about them for us, but our daughter who lives at the north shore has a jalopy car was basically ignored. we go to this hotel every year, and get 2 rooms. you can't judge people by the car they drive, especially in hawaii
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel for a bit of non-pretentious luxury

Posted Oct 10, 2014
We had a great stay, before we went we were a little worried the hotel would be too formal and would feel uncomfortable going from the beach or pool to the room. However the hotel has a great relaxed atmosphere and the staff are lovely. Overall it was a great stay in the sun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kelowna, bc

Loved everything about it!

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Not a single complaint. We were treated very well, traveling as a family of 4, with children ages 3 and 3 months. We often find people prejudge us, but we found at the moana we were treated exceptionally! From the breakfast staff, to the valet and house keeping. We would stay at the resort again. Next time we will be going to Maui to try another island but most likely stay with the westin again. Wish the moana was everywhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Perfect location, charming vibe

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Swim out into the surf at sunset to take in Waikiki Beach from the Moana Surfrider to Diamond Head. It is one of the most perfect sights you could ever hope to see. Sipping a Mai Tai at the Beach Bar is a close second.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Great vibe friendly staff Great location ..... There were lots of weddings though Great food Stayed there with my husband and two sons for 4 nights I would stay there again for a few nights
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids Michigan

great location and right on a great beach

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: The plantation look of the hotel, the kona coffee shop downstairs, the towels, chair, umbrellas at the beach, the location for restaurants/shopping.
Cons: The laundry facilities & TV channels need to be expanded. Clean the hallway carpets and the yoga classes on concrete cement unhealthy!
Location: the beach is superb, great people watching, big wide beach, gentle surfing and swimming.
When we first checked in a lovely young lady at the desk gave us an upgrade after we booked from expedia, which we greatly appreciated. She also helped us with two rooms next to each other so that was kind and helpful too. We had partial ocean views and she also took time to explain the entire list of complimentary amenities we received including free wine, yoga, and free long distance and free wi-fi along with available transportation routes near us that she explained. She also allowed us to check us into one of our rooms earlier which was a nice plus so we didn't have to wait till 3 pm. We rather enjoyed the bustling, lobby, with chairs and lounge chairs facing out front and the pool area and beach. There was ample room for everyone to sit and we used our free stubs for wine tasting which was pleasant around 5 PM. The staff was genuinely kind and helpful and as soon as we arrived we had beautiful leis placed around our neck and our luggage was tagged and brought up to our room quickly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alliance, Ohio

Great stay

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The staff and the locale. The lobby is wide open, inviting, clean.
Cons: I wish they'd play-up the hotel's history more.
Location: Right on Waikiki Beach. Walking distance from scores of great places to eat/drink and stores.
The hotel is steps from Waikiki Beach, the beds were very comfortable, the rooms clean, the staff is always eager to help and are super friendly. The food at the restaurant is very good, the breakfast buffet is filling and has a lot of different options. Close to many things in The Waikiki area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Always lovely!

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Location, facilities. You could just spend your holiday there and never leave the resort! On main strip at Waikiki . . . shopping is plenty.
Cons: Ventilation in the bathrooms is pretty non-existent. Second stay we were on 10th floor and the aircon was not as good as other rooms we've had.
Location: Beach, and Shopping. Eating is no problem with places inside and many on the strip. Waikiki Trolley picks up from outside.
Stayed at the Moana Surfrider this month twice . . . before and after going on a cruise around the islands. This is one of the loveliest places. Not only have you got the most gorgeous beach right out front but the staff are wonderful. Both times arriving we were well before 3 pm check in time. Both times the staff managed to get us in a room straight away. After a flight from Sydney . . . I can't describe how wonderful this was. We stayed here last year as well and it never disappoints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne australia

On beach with magnificent outdoor spaces

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Brilliant old world hotel in banyan wing. Sweeping verandahs. Staff bend over backwards to assist. 2nd visit and will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW ZEALAND

PERFECT LOCATION - WITH QUALITY SERVICE

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: THE CHARACTER OF THE OLD WITH NEW MODERN ROOMS
Cons: MORE POLL AREA WOULD BE THE ONLY THING
Location: EASY WALKING - SHOPS RESTAURANTS AND TRANSPORT.
GREAT STAFF, GREAT SERVICE, GREAT LOCATION, GREAT FOOD.