Ratings based on 619 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom arizona

Perfect location!

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Had a great time! The views and location are perfect! Just far enough away from Waikiki to enjoy peace and quiet, yet close enough to enjoy it's amenities with only a ten minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vermont

Great location!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The views from our balcony were spectacular! Nice beach, away from the crowds.
Cons: Not very many choices for eating, unless you go downtown.
Location: The Aquarium is very close and is excellent. The beach was clean and never crowded. Queen Kapiolani Park is right next to the hotel.
Away from the hubbub of downtown (about 1 mile), the New Otani is wonderfully quiet. We could watch the sunsets from our lanai. We were celebrating our engagement, and it's hard to imagine a more romantic spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Close enough far enough

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Right on Kamana Beach and great swim, paddle, surf spot without the craziness of the main strip. Diamond Head towers over...as close as you can get to it! Hotel has hospitality room for showering before flights and afyer late checkout. Also have SUP and surf storage! Love this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carlsbad, CA

Beachfront Gem for the perfect getaway!

Posted Apr 11, 2015
My husband and I stayed at the New Otani Kaimana Beach for his post deployment leave and they excelled every expectation! We had a oceanview room which overlooked a more or less private beach, it was just far enough from the main drag to be quiet and yet we were only a 20 min walk to the center of Waikiki, and the walk is gorgeous! Hotel staff were amazing and accomodating, from the front desk to our lovely housekeeper (wish I could remember her name! I think it was Wende). All of the bell staff were AWESOME! The room was fairly small but it was very clean and comfortable, it had everything we needed. We spent a couple of nights just sitting on the balcony looking at the ocean and sipping cocktails, so relaxing with no noise! And the lights of Waikiki were just off in the distance but close enough to walk to for dinner. The Hau Tree Lanai Restaurant was the best meal of the trip! The setting was perfect and the food was superb! Would highly recommend this hotel! Thanks for a great holiday, New Otani Kaimana and staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
The hotel is in a great location, the beach is not crowded and I even saw a deal laying there for hours. It's less than a mile away from the craziness in case you want to get there ;) The restaurant is super cute and the food is not too expensive! I really liked this hotel, it also offers free wifi :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach but no pool

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The hotel is old, and the rooms are really small. The bathroom is tiny and the pipes kept making noise while we were there. They sent someone to fix it and it was a little better but not great. Valet staff is really nice as well as the rest of the team. Just small, old and no pool. Wouldn't stay here or recommend again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom JH

Awesome stay!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
I really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. It's super peaceful with ocean view! I would have given this hotel a 5/5 if it were not for the $26 per day parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom kansqs city

too far from anything

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: beach right out front
Cons: figure out why reservation was not there
Location: aquarium and barefoot beach café are only thing close
either expedia did not send reservation or hotel fax was defective. hotel did not have my reservation . I spent the first 2 says in small room . we had to move to a smaller room for the next 4 days . make sure you call the hotel to verify reservation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: The quieter, ocean side location, the beach, the beachside restaurant and the kind and helpful staff.
Cons: The hotel was understaffed in reception and housekeeping, and the concierge had only part-time staff available in the mornings only.
Location: There were boat, water paddle and surf board rentals near by, as well as an outdoor café, aquarium and zoo. Waikiki was a 10 minute walk away.
We had a wonderful stay at the New Otani. We enjoyed the beachside location, our rooms were clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. We dined at the restaurant and lobby and the food and drinks were really good. The beachside restaurant was lovely. One thing we did not like was that the hotel looked understaffed and the staff looked overworked. There was usually only one person at reception, we only saw one maid on our whole floor cleaning all the rooms, and when we called the front desk there was often no answer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

One night, just passing through.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
A reasonable place for a single night. The lobby restaurant is right on the beach and the quality is moderately good. The location is very close to the Waikiki side of Diamond Head (you actually look up at the iconic peak) so the location is definitely quieter than central Waikiki which is a pleasant 10 minute walk up a palm lined drive. The staff, the ones that could speak good English anyway (the property seems to focus on Japanese travelers) was very pleasant. We paid for a single night's parking but they allowed us to leave our car there for the entire second day for no additional charge--this was very helpful for us as it allowed us to saunter around Waikiki before our late evening flight without working about the car. The only real downstroke about the room was it was very small and the bathroom sliding door was louvered which doesn't allow much privacy.