Ratings based on 625 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york/san diego

Paradise next to city

Posted May 3, 2015
Make sure u get a superior ocean view... Amazing!!! View of ocean/city/park/ mountains. The breakfast is awesome! Away from hustle and bustle but still close enough to walk...fantastic beach to swim in!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Perfect location, right on the beach

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Read other reviews before booking to stay here. Was much better than I expected. Perfect location; right on the beach, but within walking distance to the busy center of Waikiki. It's in a quieter location so never heard a sound at night and slept very well. Comfortable bed and pillows. Clean. Loved the balcony; had a view of the ocean to the right and Diamond Head to the left. Chose the least expensive economy room, so didn't expect such a nice view. Room had a safe, which was very handy because we didn't want to take money, credit cards, etc. to the beach to snorkel. The snorkeling was surprisingly wonderful here! We saw lots of colorful fish, and even a sea turtle. Very nice walkway along the beach to walk into the city of Waikiki. Half way there is a nice sidewalk café. We ate breakfast there every day; opens at 7AM. Has picnic tables to sit at and watch the surfers and other things going on. A beautiful orchid was served on our plates with the food. Back to the hotel; all the people that worked there were very kind and helpful. Has a gorgeous restaurant right on the beach, open air seating, but expensive. Hotel is on the city bus route so can catch a ride to any activity for $2.50 per person. The front desk will tell you the correct bus number to catch. We went to Hanauma Bay and Diamond Head. If I go back to Waikiki someday I'll be staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location on a Quiet beach

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Great location on San Souci or Kaimana beach away from the bustle and crowds of Waikiki. Excellent staff. Good value.
Cons: Adding a microwave would be appreciated for left overs since dining options are so far away.
Location: Next to Kapiolani Park. Not far from Diamond Head crater hike. The Aquarium and Zoo are both nearby as well. Within walking distance of Waikiki.
We stayed April 2015, for 7 nights 8 days at the New Otani Kaimana beach hotel in an oceanfront room on the 7th floor. Staff was attentive, kind and helpful. The room, while a bit small, had a gorgeous lanai overlooking the beach front. The sunsets from there are fantastic and you can also see the Friday night Hilton firework show from the lanai as well. Definitely choose an ocean view or the newer remodeled Oceanfront Superior room.Rooms have basic amenities and include free wifi, (though quite slow), Fridge, decent bathroom and AC. No resort fees which is great. There is no pool, but the beach is right outside and Kapiolani park is behind the hotel. It's on a quieter end of the Waikiki beach area and is frequented more by locals and families on the weekends than all the crazy tourists. The water is calm and good for swimming or snorkeling on San Souci beach. The hotel is about a 15, or 20 minute walk away from most of the major attractions, hotels and dining. The Hau Tree Restaurant onsite serves delicious breakfasts under a banyan tree though you need to make reservations, and there is an expensive Japanese restaurant on site, but mostly you have to leave the area for good dining choices. If you want to be in high end luxury or the middle of all the action, this is not the spot for you. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. It was a quiet oasis and had the friendly aloha spirit we wanted in a Hawaiian vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom arizona

Perfect location!

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Had a great time! The views and location are perfect! Just far enough away from Waikiki to enjoy peace and quiet, yet close enough to enjoy it's amenities with only a ten minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vermont

Great location!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The views from our balcony were spectacular! Nice beach, away from the crowds.
Cons: Not very many choices for eating, unless you go downtown.
Location: The Aquarium is very close and is excellent. The beach was clean and never crowded. Queen Kapiolani Park is right next to the hotel.
Away from the hubbub of downtown (about 1 mile), the New Otani is wonderfully quiet. We could watch the sunsets from our lanai. We were celebrating our engagement, and it's hard to imagine a more romantic spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Close enough far enough

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Right on Kamana Beach and great swim, paddle, surf spot without the craziness of the main strip. Diamond Head towers over...as close as you can get to it! Hotel has hospitality room for showering before flights and afyer late checkout. Also have SUP and surf storage! Love this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carlsbad, CA

Beachfront Gem for the perfect getaway!

Posted Apr 11, 2015
My husband and I stayed at the New Otani Kaimana Beach for his post deployment leave and they excelled every expectation! We had a oceanview room which overlooked a more or less private beach, it was just far enough from the main drag to be quiet and yet we were only a 20 min walk to the center of Waikiki, and the walk is gorgeous! Hotel staff were amazing and accomodating, from the front desk to our lovely housekeeper (wish I could remember her name! I think it was Wende). All of the bell staff were AWESOME! The room was fairly small but it was very clean and comfortable, it had everything we needed. We spent a couple of nights just sitting on the balcony looking at the ocean and sipping cocktails, so relaxing with no noise! And the lights of Waikiki were just off in the distance but close enough to walk to for dinner. The Hau Tree Lanai Restaurant was the best meal of the trip! The setting was perfect and the food was superb! Would highly recommend this hotel! Thanks for a great holiday, New Otani Kaimana and staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
The hotel is in a great location, the beach is not crowded and I even saw a deal laying there for hours. It's less than a mile away from the craziness in case you want to get there ;) The restaurant is super cute and the food is not too expensive! I really liked this hotel, it also offers free wifi :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach but no pool

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The hotel is old, and the rooms are really small. The bathroom is tiny and the pipes kept making noise while we were there. They sent someone to fix it and it was a little better but not great. Valet staff is really nice as well as the rest of the team. Just small, old and no pool. Wouldn't stay here or recommend again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom JH

Awesome stay!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
I really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. It's super peaceful with ocean view! I would have given this hotel a 5/5 if it were not for the $26 per day parking.