Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ana from Los Angeles,CA

Paradise

Posted Mar 17, 2014
The staff was friendly and eager to answer all questions. Gorgeous views and perfect location! Room was a little small but it was ok considering we didn't spend a lot of time inside since the beach was right outside the door. Overall wouldn't mind coming back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ana

Paradise

Posted Mar 17, 2014
The staff was friendly and eager to answer all questions. Gorgeous views and perfect location! Room was a little small but it was ok considering we didn't spend a lot of time inside since the beach was right outside the door. Overall wouldn't mind coming back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Seattle

Nice Little Hotel on Beach - quiet

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The restaurant (Hau Tree Lanai) has the best breakfast and right on the beach!
Cons: I lowered my rating mostly due to the facility needing updating. The cabinetry is our room was falling apart and the edges things were worn.
Location: Between Diamond Head and Waikiki. Hike Diamond Head, run in park or to Waikiki, zoo and Aquarium are close.
I have been staying here on and off for the last 20 years. I love this hotel and recognize the staff that continue to work there. The hotel does not have a pool and the rooms are small but it is a very good value. It is on a family beach and I prefer the ocean to a pool any day. It is walking distance to the hubbub of Waikiki but far enough away you feel like you are a local.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GO NNERS!!! from San Francisco, California

Hawaii Vacation during the Pro Bowl Weekend...

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: What we like about this hotel is, quiet, relaxing, no congestion,away from crowds and the hotel staff are very nice. The beach is right on the spot.
Cons: They should at least provide the hotel guest a discount of parking instead of parking on the street. Anyway, we did not have any problem looking.
Location: The location is perfect. Close to everything, specially to the freeway. You can hike to Diamond Head and have picnic at Kapiolani Park.
Drove around the island without problem, lot's of scenery, beautiful beaches, friendly people (da Kai'imana). We will definitely come back and hopefully we can stay at the same hotel. We highly recommend to promote this hotel more on the package deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location away from Waikiki with a beach

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Ocean access, good food and great music
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great staff and food - needs a remodel

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and location
Cons: AC cleaned, more modern decor
Location: Beaches close by - parks next door Need to be willing to walk or drive for more meal choices - not bad if you are able to get around
The staff was amazingly friendly. The restaurant serves a wonderful breakfast. The AC systems need a good cleaning - we had to change rooms due to the black mold build up in one of the systems. Very comfortable rooms. The decor could be updated but the location next to the beach is great. Not much close by for meals but if you are willing to walk or drive there are places within a few blocks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quiet and nice, a little far from central waikiki

Posted Jan 26, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Omaha, NE

Beachfront

Posted Jan 24, 2014
The beach has little to no shady areas if you tire of being in the sun. The beach also lacks any chairs or cabanas, but the hotel prides bamboo mats and towels to sit on. Most of the shopping and restaurants was in Waikiki beach which was about a 15 minute walk.
3 out of 5
by JT from Tokyo, Japan

Disappointed with Room Air Conditioning

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: The friendliness and the professionalism of the staff.
Cons: The first-floor restaurant needs more waiters and tables.
Location: It needs an underground parking facility.
We spent 5 nights. The hotel staff was very nice, friendly and accommodating which was the best feature of this hotel. The worst was the room A/C. Thermostat didn't function at all. I had to get up several times during the night to turn on/off and/or open the window to manually control the room temperature and humidity. Our room was just above the trash bin, so the nice ocean breathe often invited in filthy smell as well. The Christmas and New Year special course dinners offered by the first-floor restaurant were not at all good ideas. Too much food and too expensive for the most hotel guests. Good location. The spa and the Japanese restaurant on the second floor offer outstanding quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mona from Omaha,NE

what a location ! walk right out to the beach.

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: clean rooms, friendly staff, great location.
Cons: All the rooms seemed to be a different size.... ours was fine , but 2 of our couples said their rooms were small.
Location: great beach right outside, park across the street to go for a walk, not to far from the shopping (15 min .leisurely walk).
All of the staff was very friendly. With the beach out 1 side and the park on the other it's easy to just walk out and enjoy the day. Quieter than being right on Waikiki Beach, but close enough to walk to what ended up being our favorite place for breakfast ( cheeseburger in paradise). We spent time at the bar in the lobby area and Gerry and Patti took very good care of us. We were a party of 9 and we all had a great time.