Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good proximity to public transport

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Cost
Cons: Noise, wifi in room
Location: Use the trolley go everywhere
Stayed at hotel twice during our visit noise from sports bar could be heard on the 16th floor, ppl noise was bad from the street on the 7th floor. Staff were excellent but could have told us about trolley service on arrival. No wifi in room was disappointing sitting in busy lobby wasnt pleasant
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Nora, Hotel Management
Aloha, Mahalo for submitting your review on Expedia. We appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests and use this to further improve our service. Please accept my sincere apologies for the trolley service not being mentioned upon your arrival. I have spoken to the manager in charge of this area to take appropriate measures to rectify the situation. We are also in the planning stages to adding WIFI connectivity in our rooms. Mahalo nui loa, Amante Castro Guest Service Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good location

Posted Jul 4, 2014
We had an old and outdated room in the oldest tower. It was very noisy from the outside of the hotel as well as the inside and the ceiling in the bedroom was black from the air con unit on the wall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2014 by Nora, Hotel Management
Aloha, Mahalo for submitting your review.We appreciate when our guests take the time to share their experiences with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with our services and accommodations on your recent stay with us. We are concerned that you felt our housekeeping services were inadequate. I have spoken to the manager in charge of this area to take appropriate measures to rectify the situation. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Mahalo, Amante Castro Guest Service Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara, CA

Ohana Waikiki Malia

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The beds in the bedroom were firm which I preferred. Not much else that I liked about this hotel.
Cons: A lot of things but too many to mention here. The rooms really need to be remodeled. The mold I found in the ceiling of the bathroom is unacceptable.
Location: The hotel was about 2 blocks away from the beach which was not bad, Parking was also close but be prepared to pay $25/day for this convenience.
The hotel was definitely not what we expected. When we entered the room, it had a very musty and awful smell. We had to leave the doors and the balcony door open for an hour to try and air the room out but it really did not help too much. There was mold in the ceiling of the bathroom and the fan in the bathroom did not work so the steam from the shower had nowhere to go. This required me to clean the mirror after every shower which was inconvenient. In the morning, I went to make coffee and found someone's old coffee grinds still in the maker which was sort of disgusting to say the least. I gave up on making coffee for the rest of my stay here. There was also lint on the floor behind the couches in the front room area as it appears that housekeeping had ignored to vacuum the whole room. The lamp in the front room had an issue where the bulb dislodges from the base unit so I had t go in and make a repair of this on my own so that the lamp shape would sit upright in the housing as it was supposed to. There were a few other issues but I think you get the point here. I have stayed in "value ranked" hotels in the past that were way better than this hotel and I certainly expected more from a hotel that I paid $189/night for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014 by Nora, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for submitting your review on Expedia. Please accept our sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your overall stay with us. We pride ourselves on attention to detail and unsurpassed guest service and are concerned about this situation. The comments that we generally receive from our guests are usually very good. In your particular situation, we failed to meet the standards that we expect from our employees. We are very concerned that you felt our housekeeping and maintenance services were inadequate and that you were disappointed with your experience at the OHANA Waikiki Malia Hotel. I have spoken to the managers in charge of these areas and asked them to take appropriate measures to rectify the situation. It is always our goal to have each of our guests be satisfied with our services. Since we did not achieve this goal, please be assured of our intent and allow us to serve you in the future. Mahalo, Amante Castro Guest Service Manager OHANA Waikiki Malia Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Good it was alright we has to change rooms 3 times but they have my aunt the discount
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Nice, affordable hotel blocks from the beach

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Great location, friendly and helpful staff, quiet, comfy bed and linens, clean.
Cons: Smallest pool I have ever seen - but you have excess to pools at the other resorts if needed. So close to the beach though that I didn't miss the pool
Location: Very close to the beach, as well as major shopping areas including Waikiki shopping centre and Royal Hawaiian shopping centre. Buses also accessible.
I had a great experience. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2014 by Nora, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for submitting your review on Expedia. We appreciate when our guests take the time to share their experiences both positive and negative. In your particular situation, it looks like you had a great time at the OHANA Waikiki Malia Hotel. I am glad that your expectations were met. It is true that our pool is small and that is due to the space in which we had to build one. We always try to demonstrate the Aloha spirit in everything we do, and I am delighted to see you appreciated it so much. Mahalo and looking forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Amante Castro Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C & T from Alberta, Canada

Perfect place to stay while on your vacation!

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Nice hotel, good price, excellent staff and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2014 by Nora, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for submitting your review on Hotels.com. I am glad that your recent stay with us was a pleasant one. Again, thank you for your kind remarks. Mahalo, Amante Castro Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2014
I had a wonderful one night stay. Everything close by. Restaurants & bar in the same building. I couldn't ask for more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2014 by Nora, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad that your stay with us was a wonderful one. Yes, we are in the center of Waikiki and pretty much close to everything. We have a 24 hour restaurant and a bar on property, which most guests finds it very convenient. Again, mahalo for your kind words. Sincerely, Amante Castro Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debbye from Springfield, MO

Highly recommend!

Posted Apr 22, 2014
We stayed at Waikiki for 2 nights before our cruise and 1 night after. For the first 2 nights we stayed at a hotel 1 block from the beach. It was a LOT more expensive than this hotel, and the only difference is the expensive hotel is newer. We wish we had stayed at Ohana Waikiki Malia the whole time. Plus your room card entitles you to the local shuttle for free, which stops at the beach, a huge mall, lots of restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2014 by Nora, Hotel Management
Aloha Debbye, Mahalo for submitting a review on Expedia. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. The trolley ride is just one of the many free amenities we offer to our guests. Our goal is to provide our guests with unsurpassed guest service and comfortable accommodations and feel good about recommending our hotel to their friends and acquaintances. Again, thank you for your kind remarks. Sincerely, Amante Castro Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Bus stop one block away, beach 5-10 min walk depending on how long you have to wait for traffic lights! Central location to food, coffee and beach.
Stayed on eighth floor facing Kuhio ave. you can hear the street, but it does not matter what floor you stay on in Waikiki you will hear the noise! Clean, good service, nice people to deal with. Beach towels provided which is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2014 by Nora, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for submitting a review on Expedia. I am always pleased when our guests take the time to share their positive experience and recognize our employees. You are assured we will share your comments to our staff. Mahalo, Amante Castro Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Russ from Vancouver, BC

Nice Hotel. In a good location.

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: Clean place, close to everything.
Cons: The pool is a bit small.
Location: Shopping, the pink line trolley takes you there by showing your room card. City bus takes you to Diamond Head and Haunama bay (snorkeling), pearl Harb
The hotel is fine. The location is great. The hotel staff told us we could take a trolley, just by showing our room key. Also, some main city bus routes are located on the same street as the hotel. So, getting to sites was easy and inexpensive. Easy walking distance to the beach. The hotel area is clean and safe. The people in Honolulu are generally friendly and helpful. The weather was perfect. Very fine vacation. Cheers.