Ratings based on 1,606 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Great location on the beach

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Location, and Dukes Bar. Good rooms and bathrooms.
Cons: The pool area could be bigger, and the pool toilets were pretty hard to get to and very dark. It was difficult to get a table as a guest.
Location: Perfect location for shopping and eating.
Great food and bar at Dukes, and also the Hula Grill. Service was always exceptional, friendly and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great position on the beach good shopping

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Great facilities
Cons: Staff were not very friendly at times
Location: Close to the beach and shops
Overall nice place to stay and would recommend to others
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Great location on the beach, several restaurants, such as Duke's (with separate walk-in bar and a more formal restaurant), Chuck's steak house, etc.
Location: Location is nearby shops and restaurants within walking distance. Able to pick up tourist bus within short walk.
The Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach hotel is right on the beach and conveniently located nearby stores and other tourist activities. The room we stayed in was clean, good size, and had a great "partial view" of the ocean. The concierge at the hotel got us car rental reservations and helped lay out a plan of where to go on the rest of the island, making sure that we included the activities that we wanted to do (such as the Dole plantation, and the North Shore). I would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Aloha Traveler. Thank you for your review of the Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again on the near future. Until then, a hui hou and warm island regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great Location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location and great view
Cons: Cost for parking is pricey - $35 per day but its valet and the guys are very nice
Location: Right on the beach, in the heart of shops and resturants
We had partial ocean views and it was a great views of the beach from the side of the building. This place is right in the middle of the action - pool is right on the beach. Would definaltly recommend this place !
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Aloha Clara , Thank you for taking the time to review the Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the resort. Warm island reagards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

fabulous location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Excellent hotel with very good facilities. Only two concerns spoilt it a little - the WIFI was intermittent and the bell service staff were not very friendly or helpful (some of them). Housekeepers lovely which countered the not so great bell service staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Aloha Linda, Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you found the facilities at the Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your liking. We are happy to report that the WIFI is up and running at full capacity . We take our reviews seriously and will address your concerns with the bell staff. Mahalo nui loa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R.. Ohio

Nice hotel right on the beach with beautiful views

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Our stay (our first time in Hawaii) was very pleasant, and the hotel was great. The only thing that would make it better is a bigger pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Aloha Retired teacher. We are glad you had a very pleasant stay with us during your first trip to Hawai`i. Mahalo Nui Loa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Excellent location

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Excellent location and atmosphere.
Cons: The lifts are very slow. Beds are small but they are more than happy to put to double beds together to make a very large king bed.
Location: About a 40 minutes walk to Diamond Head. We took a taxi to the bottom of Diamond Head and walked up and then took the easy walk back (40 minutes).
The Waikiki Outrigger on the Beach is situated right in the heart of the Waikiki strip. We had an ocean view room, when compared to our friends who were in a city view room there wasn't much difference in view. They had just as good view of the ocean as we did. We were on the 10th floor and there was no traffic or night life noise. For couples the beds are very small. We were book for a king bed but it is more like a double. Fortunately we had two doubles which they happily put together so we could have one big bed. The hotel has fantastic beach access with a large number of lounge chairs available so there was never a time we could not relax on the beach. They have a number of eateries and bars to choose from and Duke's is a very popular place to be. The food is not great at Duke's and it is music is very very loud. I think the selection of food is better upstairs at the Hula Grill but the whole place has a fantastic atmosphere. The lifts are very slow and small and often it can be a very tight fit. It was great having wifi which was free and fast. I had arranged for items to be delivery to the hotel prior to my arrival and they were there on checking in. The hotel is very close to the bus stops and there is a ABC store directly across the road from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again and again request a room on a higher floor and to have two double beds and to have put together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Grt hotel perfect location right on beachfront Very spacious comfortable room Pool quite small however plenty of chairs
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Aloha verified traveler. Thank you for your positive comments about our perfect location, spacious rooms and abundant seating on our beachfront pool decks. Mahalo Nui Loa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location, nice staff

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location, Hula Grill,Dukes for breakfast.
Cons: I find it outrageous they charge $60 per day to use their umbrellas/ chairs on the beach. So stayed around pool.
Location: Hula Grill, Dukes for breakfast, lots of shops near by and many do happy hour for food and drinks, trolley stop outside door. I walked to Ala Moana.
I booked a city view room but had a view of the beach and water from. My verandah. The room was a good size, bathroom quite small but separate area with toilet and shower with door separating this area. Good size safe that fits laptop.housekeeping staff were ok got clean towels each day, however forgot to replace coffee a few times. My room was. Noisy from block next door!s air-conditioning, this noise went on 24/7. I wrote a review and found out after I arrived home I could have requested to be moved over to other side! Also would have preferred to drink coffee out of ceramic mugs not paper!! The pool is small with very little shade but if you are patient later in day some areas do get shade. Their is bar service with food at pool too. There is a fabulous sandwich smoothy shop near the self service laundry that does very good, made to order sandwiches and salads at a very reasonable price. Hula Grill is great they have a happy hour each day for food and drinks. Got takeaway from Dukes- nothing to rave about HOWEVER I had the breakfast buffet on my last day which was very good. Check in was quick and efficient and I was able to check in early to my room. Lifts take a bit of getting used to and some times there was quite a delay getting access to them. I would be happy to stay here again but old insist on a room on opposite side.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Aloha jagsea. Thank you for sharing your experience with other Expedia users. Please be assured that our friendly employees are always happy to assist guests in making their stay with us more enjoyable. Requests for a different room, ceramic mugs and additional amenities are eagerly met by experienced staff each day. We would be more than happy to welcome you back again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great location

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location, room, views
Cons: Staff need to notify guests how to use the lifts - bit tricky. Very noisy during happy hour
Location: Located right in the centre of shopping, restaurants, trolley stop outside, beach at your doorstop
Beautiful hotel, great views, right on the beach, best shower ever and comfortable bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Aloha Arna. Mahalo Nui Loa for appreciating our beds, showers, views and location. Please come back for another great stay.