Ratings based on 1,599 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R.. Ohio

Nice hotel right on the beach with beautiful views

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Our stay (our first time in Hawaii) was very pleasant, and the hotel was great. The only thing that would make it better is a bigger pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Excellent location

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Excellent location and atmosphere.
Cons: The lifts are very slow. Beds are small but they are more than happy to put to double beds together to make a very large king bed.
Location: About a 40 minutes walk to Diamond Head. We took a taxi to the bottom of Diamond Head and walked up and then took the easy walk back (40 minutes).
The Waikiki Outrigger on the Beach is situated right in the heart of the Waikiki strip. We had an ocean view room, when compared to our friends who were in a city view room there wasn't much difference in view. They had just as good view of the ocean as we did. We were on the 10th floor and there was no traffic or night life noise. For couples the beds are very small. We were book for a king bed but it is more like a double. Fortunately we had two doubles which they happily put together so we could have one big bed. The hotel has fantastic beach access with a large number of lounge chairs available so there was never a time we could not relax on the beach. They have a number of eateries and bars to choose from and Duke's is a very popular place to be. The food is not great at Duke's and it is music is very very loud. I think the selection of food is better upstairs at the Hula Grill but the whole place has a fantastic atmosphere. The lifts are very slow and small and often it can be a very tight fit. It was great having wifi which was free and fast. I had arranged for items to be delivery to the hotel prior to my arrival and they were there on checking in. The hotel is very close to the bus stops and there is a ABC store directly across the road from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again and again request a room on a higher floor and to have two double beds and to have put together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Grt hotel perfect location right on beachfront Very spacious comfortable room Pool quite small however plenty of chairs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location, nice staff

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location, Hula Grill,Dukes for breakfast.
Cons: I find it outrageous they charge $60 per day to use their umbrellas/ chairs on the beach. So stayed around pool.
Location: Hula Grill, Dukes for breakfast, lots of shops near by and many do happy hour for food and drinks, trolley stop outside door. I walked to Ala Moana.
I booked a city view room but had a view of the beach and water from. My verandah. The room was a good size, bathroom quite small but separate area with toilet and shower with door separating this area. Good size safe that fits laptop.housekeeping staff were ok got clean towels each day, however forgot to replace coffee a few times. My room was. Noisy from block next door!s air-conditioning, this noise went on 24/7. I wrote a review and found out after I arrived home I could have requested to be moved over to other side! Also would have preferred to drink coffee out of ceramic mugs not paper!! The pool is small with very little shade but if you are patient later in day some areas do get shade. Their is bar service with food at pool too. There is a fabulous sandwich smoothy shop near the self service laundry that does very good, made to order sandwiches and salads at a very reasonable price. Hula Grill is great they have a happy hour each day for food and drinks. Got takeaway from Dukes- nothing to rave about HOWEVER I had the breakfast buffet on my last day which was very good. Check in was quick and efficient and I was able to check in early to my room. Lifts take a bit of getting used to and some times there was quite a delay getting access to them. I would be happy to stay here again but old insist on a room on opposite side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great location

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location, room, views
Cons: Staff need to notify guests how to use the lifts - bit tricky. Very noisy during happy hour
Location: Located right in the centre of shopping, restaurants, trolley stop outside, beach at your doorstop
Beautiful hotel, great views, right on the beach, best shower ever and comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on beach. Perfect!

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Can walk anywhere for restaurants and shopping. No need to rent a car. Take advantage of excursions. Hotel has an awesome information booth for that. Great restaurants right in hotel. Would suggest oceanfront rooms. City side can be a little noisy at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Wait times at dukes
Good location right by beach on Waikiki. Pity that dukes being your local restaurant is consistently booked out though. Perhaps a takeaway salad bar would help ease congestion for guests staying at the hotel for shorter periods of time, not everyone can book 3 days in advance. Hula bar for breakfast excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Ageing dated pool for children

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Happy hour on Sunday by the pool was a highlight. Relaxed stopover after a hectic 3 weeks touring Canada
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

PARADISE

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Everything pool, staff, rooms, Location.
Had everything that you need restaurants, coffee shop. Close to everything. Best thing was beach at your doorstep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well suited but basic and cramped

Posted Sep 10, 2014
I really can't recommend this hotel at all. Having stayed many times at the other Outrigger in Waikiki (Outrigger Reef) we were really looking forward to this one as it is in a much more central location. The rooms are oddly shaped and packed full of furniture that doesn't fit. They are small rooms and while a nice ocean view you are staring directly into hundred of rooms in the Moana Surfrider tower. Very claustrophobic. The bathroom is a silly layout - a half sized bath and cramped toilet area and a very large walk in wardrobe. Strange. They also have elevators which are key and level controlled. Creates absolute chaos in the lobby. It was also not quiet. If it was a cheap hotel that would be fine and I would recommend it but at $300 a night - NO WAY!