Ratings based on 1,536 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but a little out dated.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Hotel needs some updated. Valet is pricey room 30 needs a new bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Fabulous stay!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Queen Kapiolani Hotel was fantastic! About a 1 minute walk to the Waikiki beach. Cooler with cold water and cups in the lobby. Very friendly staff!
Cons: Absolutely nothing. I will stay here again. For sure. : )
Location: Waikiki Beach one minute away (walking), across from Honolulu Zoo, Queen Kapiolani Park, close to main drag and all restaurants, ABC stores!
We stayed at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel in August 2014 for 12 days. It was fantastic! I would not change a thing, except maybe getting a beachfront view room, but of course you have to pay extra for that. It was great in every way! My wife and two kids (10 and 13) stayed in a double room. Balcony, fridge, clean. I would definitely stay here again. Expedia rep in the main lobby found us a great deal on a rental car through Enterprise rentals. We saved big. The location is great, walking distance to the beach and all the restaurants. The General Manager does a hands on talk about the history and culture of the Hawaiian Islands several mornings a week in the lobby. It is GREAT! Really informative and interesting, and also fun to hear. Rooms very clean, well maintained, very fast elevators, never had to wait. Nice pool (we used it just once to try it out) with a nice view of Diamond Head. I've stayed at the Ohana East before, which I loved, but it was completely booked this time around. This was our first time at the Queen Kapiolani. We really loved it. Location was amazing. Very nice people working here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to zoo and quiet and beach.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Lovely place but shower pressure is really horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The a/c on the ground was blowing in my face all nite
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

photos lie loud noisy rooms aloud airconditioners

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: staff were happy
Cons: needs a refurbishment time to reinvest owners
Location: beach is close 2 blocks
First room was so loud from street noise had to request a move. they made me checkpout at noon and stay out until 3 when i could check into new room. New room on 15th floor much quiter but airconditioner was broken and rooms carpet all old
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Close to the beach/close to shopping

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the beach and easy access to H1. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The valet people are super friendly. Jarrett & Bailey five stars
Cons: The breakfast buffet could have more items that are non-pork or non meat. Could be better. Only ate there once.
Location: Zoo is across the street, the beach is across the street Hanauma Bay is 25 minutes away.
Easy walk to the beach. Good views from the balcony. Great ocean view from the room. Good location away from the busy Waikiki but easy walking access if you want to go there. Hotel could use some updating, but the room is clean and ok for visiting purposes. All staff were exceptionally nice and friendly. The valet people were very personable and beat any of the higher priced hotels. Kudos to Bailey and Jarrett. Gave great directions when I got lost to attend events. Enjoyed the stay would consider this hotel again. Would recommend getting a junior suite or room with a kitchen. Rooms did not have microwaves. Overall the visit was nice.. would do it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from honolulu

Good location!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
It's right where the main streets are and easy to get to off the freeway! But I had a corner room and it was pretty crammed but other than that I had a nice stay at the queen kapiolani. I would come back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

This hotel is ok if you're on a budget

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Our room was clean and it's in a good location.
Cons: The pool hours could maybe be reduced to 9 pm.
Location: You are right opposite the zoo which is a good day out and near bus stops for most bus routes - which are easy to use.
We chose this hotel because we were on quite a tight budget and went for a double bed with no balcony. The room was tidy but the bed had definitely seen better days, it was really soft and sunk in the middle so you just ended up rolling to the middle of the bed - very uncomfortable on the back. The pool hours were 8 am to 10 pm which meant the noise level in the evening was pretty bad if you wanted an early night or just to relax. This hotel is in a good location but the downside to that is being on one of the main ring roads it was quite noisy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Staff very friendly and helpful, BUT...

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff who readily responded to our requests?
Cons: Overall remodelling.
Location: Beach 1 minute walk away. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance.Jo
The staff was helpful and friendly, especially the car valets. The cleaning staff was also very friendly and capable. The hotel itself needs more maintance upkeep and remodelling. The room was just adequate (although clean) and the bathroom was musty and the bathtub/shower leaked so you had a continually wet carpet in the room on the outside of the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location and friendliness
Cons: The food on offer is very limited - more fresh healthy salads and local produce would be a great.
Location: an easy walk to the beach, the zoo and parks and shopping
This hotel is just out of the 'hubub' of the Waikiki main streets and so relaxed as it is only paces from the beach and looks over the wonderful zoo park and Diamond Head