Ratings based on 1,454 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by heather from hawaii

Nice hotel.. Right across the street from the zoo!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
We were most happy about the location.. Just a walk away from the beach..the zoo.. And kalakaua avenue where all the great shops and restaurants are. Although the view isn't the best from the room.. We were really there for what's going on downthe street from the hotel. $1.00 an hour parking in the zoo parking lot.. Even though it looks a bit run down.. It was much worth it to park there.. Overall.. I would stay there again instead of paying triple the price for a hotel three minutes down the road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

To small

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Room is to small and carpet looks dirty. I it's one night as a layover not bad but not longer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We would stay again!!

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Rooms were nothing fancy but very comfortable . Nice lanai . Beautiful pool and very nice staff from the front desk, housekeeping and pool bartender. Fabulous location!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent mid priced hotel near Waikiki beach.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The view of Diamond Head and proximity to Waikiki beach.
Cons: The room was partially updated but the carpet and paint could use some updating also.
Location: Waikiki, Honolulu Zoo, Diamond Head, restaurants, shops.
We had 3 adults and 1 child in our party and had booked a junior suite and were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite with a great view of Diamond Head upon check in and it was nice to have the separate bedroom and a little more space. The suite was just ok, the bedding was nice and the view was great for the price we paid during prime spring break time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay and Diamondhead view was great!

Posted Mar 22, 2014
We picked this hotel specifically because of its price for the location, close to the beach, zoo, park and aquarium. Room was large enough for 4 (2 adults, 2 children + pack n play), beds were comfortable and the lanai view of diamondhead was great! Our room had the split ac unit which was relatively quiet and cooled the room more than adequately. No zoo noises bothered us (we were on the 10th floor). On the downside, the bathroom could use more counter space/racks. The carpet in the room was old and dirty. I'm not sure how often housekeeping is vacuuming them and I had to call the front desk at one point in our stay and request the carpet to be vacuumed. Also finding an available wall outlet was tough as this room did not have outlets in the night stands. The zoo/kapahulu side does not have a ramp so we had to carry our stroller up the stairs. For wheelchair access, there is a wheelchair chair drive but it was broken during our stay. Unfortunately too there was a water main break during our stay but the front desk was very courteous and accommodating. Overall though, a nice stay at this hotel and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Mar 22, 2014
with only a few days on Oahu, the hotel location was great. It was close to the beach, surfboard rental, shops, and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ozzie

Very clean. Great view of Diamond Head, Zoo...

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Location. Clean.
Cons: Old windows, noisy. Small bathrooms. Better breakfast buffet.
Location: Great location. Shopping, dinning. Short walk to pier and beach, and Zoo.
Very clean. Great view of Diamond Head, Zoo and Ocean. At the end part of Waikiki, but a short walk from everything. I would recommend this hotel. It's a bit rundown and needs renovation but I was surprised and pleased.
1 out of 5
by Terry from Brisbane

No water no shower no parking

Posted Mar 20, 2014
This hotel was the worst I've stayed at in a long time. The water system was broken so no shower or toilet and no parking. This hotel charged over $160.00 per night and provided nothing in basic service. They made no attempt to refund any of the room charge and on top of this I had to pay for public parking. I would never recommend this hotel to any one!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joel from SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

Absolutely Wonderful!!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Sensational hotel overlooking diamond head and Waikiki Beach! It was a small distance walk to all shops. Perfect location for a relaxing holiday ESPecially our Honeymoon! Hotel Front Desk manager was extremely kind and all other hotel staff were well mannered and well presented - attending to all our needs Housekeeping were very kind, and always with a smile! Pricing is&was much lower than all other hotels (expedia we had a 30% off early booking bonus) and would have payed double for what we experienced! Strongly encourage people who want a beautiful holiday to go to the Queen Kapiolani because its location is perfect for relaxing and enjoying one's self. All negative reviews have picky people - our stay was amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by lo from illinois

Affordable hotel next to everything

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: The views are beautiful and the close proximity to the beach and food make this hotel a smart pick for beach-going travelers.
Cons: The "spa" is just a converted suite, very limited space, could use an overhaul. Something could be done about the homeless sleeping outside at night.
Location: The hotel is at the very end of the strip. The zoo, aquarium, parks, and beach are a short walk away. A little bit of a trek to the high end shops.
The hotel was nice to look at, we requested a diamondhead view with a king sized bed and the nice folks at the front desk upgraded us to a junior suite when we said it was our anniversary. They had no problem accommodating an early check in (1:30pm) and were very pleasant to deal with. The room had a nice wow factor for us, one side looking out on diamondhead and overlooking the honululu zoo, and the other side full wall window views of the ocean. The king size bed was very comfy and the lanai was small but perfect for a couple to drink their morning coffee and chat on. There was not one bug sighting the entire stay which is pretty great in a tropical climate with all the windows open. Not even a little lizard or anything. The bathroom was small, as expected, but clean. The vanity was big enough for a high maintenance woman to spread out all her makeup with still room for her husband to brush his teeth. The closet had plenty of room to hang all our clothes for a 5 night stay and there was a dresser we could have utilized as well. The Jr suite has a microwave, mini fridge, cabinets stocked with plates, silverware, mugs, glasses, big sink, and a dining table, we made good use of it and it saved us some money to eat breakfast in our room! The only complaint overall was noise, but that was in NO WAY the hotel's fault. Waikiki is just a noisy place. Morning, noon, and night, there is constant sound but none of it through the walls.