Ratings based on 1,549 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, on

Nice location close to the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2014
The hotel was a little dated but pretty clean and good price. The guy in the little gift shop is not very nice or helpful, don't go there for anything, stick with any of the abc stores instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great staff, great location...value for money

Posted Sep 8, 2014
It would be tough to do better for the money. The hotel and rooms are a bit on the old side, but the staff is fantastic and everything was clean and safe. It's on the quieter east end of the Waikiki strip, which is exactly what we wanted. You could find a "nicer" or more modern hotel, but you'll pay a lot more for it. Plus, you get free wi-fi and unlike many other hotels, there was no per-night resort fee. For the price, it was perfect for our trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ewa Beach HI

Right across the zoo and Kapiolani park and beach

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Great location to enjoy festivals at Kapiolani park
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location close to the beach

Posted Aug 29, 2014
The location is great but the rooms too small, the bathroom stink terrible all the time. There was a bad smell in the room and carpet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but a little out dated.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Hotel needs some updated. Valet is pricey room 30 needs a new bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Fabulous stay!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Queen Kapiolani Hotel was fantastic! About a 1 minute walk to the Waikiki beach. Cooler with cold water and cups in the lobby. Very friendly staff!
Cons: Absolutely nothing. I will stay here again. For sure. : )
Location: Waikiki Beach one minute away (walking), across from Honolulu Zoo, Queen Kapiolani Park, close to main drag and all restaurants, ABC stores!
We stayed at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel in August 2014 for 12 days. It was fantastic! I would not change a thing, except maybe getting a beachfront view room, but of course you have to pay extra for that. It was great in every way! My wife and two kids (10 and 13) stayed in a double room. Balcony, fridge, clean. I would definitely stay here again. Expedia rep in the main lobby found us a great deal on a rental car through Enterprise rentals. We saved big. The location is great, walking distance to the beach and all the restaurants. The General Manager does a hands on talk about the history and culture of the Hawaiian Islands several mornings a week in the lobby. It is GREAT! Really informative and interesting, and also fun to hear. Rooms very clean, well maintained, very fast elevators, never had to wait. Nice pool (we used it just once to try it out) with a nice view of Diamond Head. I've stayed at the Ohana East before, which I loved, but it was completely booked this time around. This was our first time at the Queen Kapiolani. We really loved it. Location was amazing. Very nice people working here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to zoo and quiet and beach.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Lovely place but shower pressure is really horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The a/c on the ground was blowing in my face all nite
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

photos lie loud noisy rooms aloud airconditioners

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: staff were happy
Cons: needs a refurbishment time to reinvest owners
Location: beach is close 2 blocks
First room was so loud from street noise had to request a move. they made me checkpout at noon and stay out until 3 when i could check into new room. New room on 15th floor much quiter but airconditioner was broken and rooms carpet all old
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Close to the beach/close to shopping

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the beach and easy access to H1. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The valet people are super friendly. Jarrett & Bailey five stars
Cons: The breakfast buffet could have more items that are non-pork or non meat. Could be better. Only ate there once.
Location: Zoo is across the street, the beach is across the street Hanauma Bay is 25 minutes away.
Easy walk to the beach. Good views from the balcony. Great ocean view from the room. Good location away from the busy Waikiki but easy walking access if you want to go there. Hotel could use some updating, but the room is clean and ok for visiting purposes. All staff were exceptionally nice and friendly. The valet people were very personable and beat any of the higher priced hotels. Kudos to Bailey and Jarrett. Gave great directions when I got lost to attend events. Enjoyed the stay would consider this hotel again. Would recommend getting a junior suite or room with a kitchen. Rooms did not have microwaves. Overall the visit was nice.. would do it again.