Ratings based on 899 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Clean and simple hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Location to Waikiki beach and very affordable price.
Cons: Proper curtains/blinds on all windows. The room was bright all day and night.
Location: A very short walk to Waikiki beach and popular shopping areas. Across the street is a tourist bus drop off/pick up area.
Although the proximity of the hotel to Waikiki beach is great, unfortunately stay hotel is on a very busy backstreet that had a large volume of early morning truck deliveries and all day bus services. This made our room very noisy at all hours of the day and night. Our room was clean and simple, and we had the option of a daily room service included in the room charge.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Too noisy for good night sleep

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The staffs
Cons: The hotel should try to invest to have enclosed window installed in each room to eliminate as much noise as possible.
Location: The hotel is at the central busy part of waikiki area and it's very closed to the beach which is a good thing.
The staffs are great but the hotel is not in good place for good night sleep after a long day of activities outside. The hotel is at the central busy part of waikiki area and it's very closed to the beach which is a good thing. However, the room does not have enclosed window, only have opened air door so you can hear all kinds of noises from outside all night, especially very early in the morning. The worst part is that there was a construction near by and starting 4 or 5am you could hear loud pounding noises from the construction places. After that, noises from tour bus, tram engines that stop by in front of the hotel to pick up customers. Oh my god, our family could not have 1 single good night sleep there. If this hotel would like to stay in business, I think the management team should try to invest to have enclosed window installed in each room to eliminate as much noise as possible.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

spartan hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: good location
Cons: drop the added daily fee and upgrade furnishing in the rooms
Good location but very old spartan hotel with minimal amenities. They also tacked on a $10 daily additional charge which was not clear on expedia site. I was initially concerned this might be a roach infested hotel, but I did not see any of these critters in the four nights that I stayed. I stay in more than 20 hotels annually and this was the most spartan room that I have seen in more than 30 years. Might be okay for students and budget travelers but no9t most others..
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom california

Not like what was in the pictures

Posted Mar 21, 2015
When I booked a night in this hotel, I knew it wasn't going to be a 5 start hotel. But my 3 friends and I were just staying one night and it was cheap and the pictures looked nice, so we figured why not? Get to the hotel, where the receptionist offers to give us earplugs for our stay. Confused, we say no thank you and proceed to our room, which is supposed to have two double beds, and there is only one bed for four people. Go back down to the receptionist who tells us that the room we were supposed to stay in was having plumbing problems and the other double bed rooms were full, so the single bed room was the best she could do. We asked if she could change our rate since the room had been downgraded and she said no, she could not refund or lower our rate. She gave us a less than twin size roll away bed that could barely fit one person to put into our room with no sheets. She could not give us extra pillows (only 3 in the room for four people). The room was crammed, bathroom was dirty, and you could hear every single person or car that drove by the entire night. Easily the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, beyond disappointed. Spend extra money to be comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington

This hotel was perfect your are vacation

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The hotel was close to everything and the staff was so helpful and friendly. I was so worried when I read the reviews but we had a great time.
Cons: It was noisy in the morning. You have to figure you are in Downtown. Not the hotels fault.
Location: Close to beach, shopping and god selection of places to eat.
Had a great time here we will stay here again. It was are 2nd anniversary had so much fun. Close to beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom O

Best bang for your buck.

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pleasantly surprised by this little boutique hotel. One block from the beach, clean room, cable. Pretty basic room but breakfast and friendly staff. Way cheaper than the Hyatt across the street, I was completely satisfied and didn't have to go broke on my vacation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by Tom, Hotel Management
Aloha Stef, Thank you for your great review and I'm extremely happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in town. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco, ca

You get what you pay for

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Budget hotel very close to the beach. If you just need a place to shower and sleep with no frills this is a good option. The noise is too much- constant construction and trash pick up 24/7. I swear the noise would not stop the entire week I was there. Housekeeping was not good. They never made up the room even after multiple requests, we had to keep asking for fresh towels, soap replenishment, trash to be taken out, etc. Location and price is good, although I would not stay here again. Front desk staff was vey friendly though. Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Great location, clean room

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Great location, clean room, friendly staff, very nice breakfast and reasonable price. Very satisfied
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by Tom, Hotel Management
Aloha Ada, Thank you for your great review. I'm happy to hear you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Hotel close to beach.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
It just ok, if you don't care 4 to 5 stars hotels. You can save money to somewhere else. It's convenient location close to beach and the shopping area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by Tom, Hotel Management
Aloha Steven, Thank you for your review, I'm happy to see you loved our location as much as many other reviewers. We hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland OR

Posted Mar 10, 2015
They won't let us stay for a simple that I lost my ID card and won't accept the second ID card.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by Tom, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for your review, we must have a picture ID that matches the credit card you're using to pay with. This is to help protect customers from identity theft and is a policy that we do not bend on. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki 808-923-7829