Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2014
did not expect to have to pay for parking and the bathroom was very small and since it is right on Ala Moana blvd you have to deal with the traffic noise until late at night and early in the morning. Is close to Ala Moana center and not far from the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel near ala moana mall

Posted Nov 28, 2014
only bad thing is I called front desk about the wifi connecting to my room. it did not work the whole 2 days i was there. ... i called 4 times and even walked to the front desk once to see if they can do anything. ... they should have offered to move me or maybe i should have asked to switch rooms. try to not stay on the 4th floor lol
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Frederick, MD

Great location!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: The service was top-notch and very helpful! Everyone there was soo nice, from the valet parkers, to the guy in the information stand. Excellent!
Cons: The hallway lighting can be a bit too dark at night. Can be hard to see.
Location: Near Waikiki beach, and a marina. Lots of restaurants and retail shops. Not far from the airport.
My room was located on the fourth floor at the Equus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was clean and very comfortable.. nice and cool when I initially checked in. The Valet parking costs $25 a day but most of the fees were waived for me because I usually parked my car rental myself if I was able to find a space on my own. The room had a ironing board and iron, a refrigerator and a coffee maker and of course a 36" TV. I really loved the view i had, overlooking busy Ala Moana Blvd. And hope to book that very same room again when I return to Honolulu. It does tend to get a bit noisy with the occasional car blasting music at 6am in the morning, but overall the street noise wasn't that bad. The hotel is located a couple of miles from a Walmart, and you're in walking distance to Waikiki Beach. There are also a ton of restaurants and places to go shopping all nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom 松山市

アラモアナショッピングセンター近くの安いホテル

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: 値段がそこそこ安くて無料Wifiが付いている。
Cons: 部屋に机とスタンドライトを置いていただけるとありがたい。
Location: 徒歩2分のところにABCストア(コンビニ的なお店)があり、アラモアナショッピングセンターまでも徒歩5分の好立地。ただ、ワイキキビーチまではトロリーバスで15分程度と少し距離があります。頑張れば歩いていけない距離でもありませんが30分以上かかると思います。
無料Wifi付で一泊$100-程度のホテルを検索して見つけたホテルがここでした。フロントの人は日本語はしゃべりませんがとても感じが良い方でした。部屋は、そこそこ広いのですが全体的に薄暗く、少し古い感じがしました。また、机がないため部屋で仕事をするのは一苦労しました。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Comfortable hideaway

Posted Nov 3, 2014
This hotel has done a fine job with an older building. Tucked in the middle of some high rise building, all the comforts of a bigger named hotel are here! Just wish the TV was bigger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice, basic hotel close to beach

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Overall we had a great experience at the Equus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice. Our two biggest complaints have more to do with the location of the hotel than anything the hotel can change now: 1) It is a rather hard hotel to find. It is very narrow and the valet parking location is not obvious like it would be at a bigger hotel. 2) There is a significant flight of stairs to get into the hotel and main lobby. There is no alternate entrance or elevator. For most people this is not a problem, but for my family (we had a 2 year old and stroller) it was a bit of a nuisance everytime we went in or out. Other than that, it was really a nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Nice hotel close to beach & Hawaii Convention Ctr

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Rooms were decent size, nicely appointed and clean. Staff was very accommodating and caring.
Cons: Interior of elevator a bit frayed.
Location: Great location for those having meetings at Hawaiian Convention Center. Very walkable to Waikiki Beach, restaurant and shopping.
I was looking for a basic hotel, reasonably priced, walking distance to the Hawaii Convention Ctr. Hotel is basic, no room service BUT rooms are very nicely appointed and clean (elevator could use facelift) and every single staff person went out their way to make sure we were taken care of. Nice walk along the canal to the Convention Center, couple of blocks from Hilton Hawaiian Village and lots of restaurants and shopping.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

good location for adults

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The location worked well for me. It was quiet.
Cons: Shelf in shower. More usable dresser drawers.
Location: Close to Ala Moana Center and Hilton Hawaiian Village.
I reserved a deluxe room but it was not deluxe. Funky dressers with tiny drawers. No shelf in the shower - had to put my things on the floor! There was a thermostat for the AC but it controlled on & off not the temp. Single ancient elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

立地のいいホテル

Posted Oct 23, 2014
3泊宿泊しました。空港からの送迎サービスはないので、RobertsHawaiiに依頼しました(往復28ドル)。ホテル全体は隠れ家風な造りになっており、きれいで快適でした。大通り沿い(Ala Moana Blvd)にホテルの入口があり、受付まで15段くらいの階段を上りますのでスーツケースが重い方は少しきついかもしれません(エレベータなし)。ホテルは8階建くらいだと思いますが受付から部屋まではエレベータがついています。受付横に小さなロビーがあり、ソファと無料の水が置いてあります(水は夜には撤去されました)。Check inは15時なのですが、早く着いた場合は荷物を預かってくれます。部屋はツインルームでしただ、クイーンorキングサイズのベッドが2つあり、全体的に広めで冷蔵庫、セーフティボックス、ドライヤー、コーヒーメーカー、アメニティ(シャンプー、ボディーソープ)が完備されています。コーヒーメーカーはドリップ式のもので飲んだら追加してくれます。セーフティーボックスは鍵式ですが、鍵がついていないので受付で登録して鍵をもらいました。バスタブはなくシャワーだけでしたが、洗面所はシャワーと別でした。部屋の鍵はカードキーでした。アラモアナシッピングセンターまでAla Moana Blvd沿いを歩いて10分弱です。ワイキキ方面にはバスが出ています(停留所はアラモアナショッピングセンターと逆方面に徒歩5分ほど)。またABCマートまで徒歩3分くらいです。ABCマートの近くにマックなど軽食をとれるお店が数軒ありました。コインランドリーはないのですが、徒歩5分程度にあるイリカイホテル3階にコインランドリーがあり、そこを利用しました(洗濯機2.5ドル、乾燥機1ドル)。ホテルのスタッフさんは気さくで感じがよかったですが、日本語は通じません(簡単な英語力があれば問題ないです)。1泊1万円程度だったので値段からみるとかなりいいホテルだと思います(清潔さや広さ、立地面)。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel fairly comfortable

Posted Oct 15, 2014
would like room service to have been more prompt on one day. room cleaned just before 4 pm on next to last day of stay