Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Frederick, MD

Great location!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: The service was top-notch and very helpful! Everyone there was soo nice, from the valet parkers, to the guy in the information stand. Excellent!
Cons: The hallway lighting can be a bit too dark at night. Can be hard to see.
Location: Near Waikiki beach, and a marina. Lots of restaurants and retail shops. Not far from the airport.
My room was located on the fourth floor at the Equus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was clean and very comfortable.. nice and cool when I initially checked in. The Valet parking costs $25 a day but most of the fees were waived for me because I usually parked my car rental myself if I was able to find a space on my own. The room had a ironing board and iron, a refrigerator and a coffee maker and of course a 36" TV. I really loved the view i had, overlooking busy Ala Moana Blvd. And hope to book that very same room again when I return to Honolulu. It does tend to get a bit noisy with the occasional car blasting music at 6am in the morning, but overall the street noise wasn't that bad. The hotel is located a couple of miles from a Walmart, and you're in walking distance to Waikiki Beach. There are also a ton of restaurants and places to go shopping all nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Comfortable hideaway

Posted Nov 3, 2014
This hotel has done a fine job with an older building. Tucked in the middle of some high rise building, all the comforts of a bigger named hotel are here! Just wish the TV was bigger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice, basic hotel close to beach

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Overall we had a great experience at the Equus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice. Our two biggest complaints have more to do with the location of the hotel than anything the hotel can change now: 1) It is a rather hard hotel to find. It is very narrow and the valet parking location is not obvious like it would be at a bigger hotel. 2) There is a significant flight of stairs to get into the hotel and main lobby. There is no alternate entrance or elevator. For most people this is not a problem, but for my family (we had a 2 year old and stroller) it was a bit of a nuisance everytime we went in or out. Other than that, it was really a nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Nice hotel close to beach & Hawaii Convention Ctr

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Rooms were decent size, nicely appointed and clean. Staff was very accommodating and caring.
Cons: Interior of elevator a bit frayed.
Location: Great location for those having meetings at Hawaiian Convention Center. Very walkable to Waikiki Beach, restaurant and shopping.
I was looking for a basic hotel, reasonably priced, walking distance to the Hawaii Convention Ctr. Hotel is basic, no room service BUT rooms are very nicely appointed and clean (elevator could use facelift) and every single staff person went out their way to make sure we were taken care of. Nice walk along the canal to the Convention Center, couple of blocks from Hilton Hawaiian Village and lots of restaurants and shopping.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

good location for adults

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The location worked well for me. It was quiet.
Cons: Shelf in shower. More usable dresser drawers.
Location: Close to Ala Moana Center and Hilton Hawaiian Village.
I reserved a deluxe room but it was not deluxe. Funky dressers with tiny drawers. No shelf in the shower - had to put my things on the floor! There was a thermostat for the AC but it controlled on & off not the temp. Single ancient elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel fairly comfortable

Posted Oct 15, 2014
would like room service to have been more prompt on one day. room cleaned just before 4 pm on next to last day of stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Really quirky hotel with lovely cheerful staff!!

Posted Oct 2, 2014
I would recommend the Equus hotel to anyone who likes a more quirky decor than your average hotel. It's very clean and nicely decorated. All the staff, from reception to housekeeping were very friendly, cheerful and helpful and accomodated every request we had. I would definitely stay here again. It's a short walk to the beach and also walking distance to the main shopping areas. There are some restaurants/bars very close by too :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience at the Equus!

Posted Oct 1, 2014
We had a wonderful time and would recommend this hotel to family and friends anytime. Great job to the awesome, very friendly, professional staff for making our experience one to remember. From the day we got there to the day we left, it was perfect. This was a great vacation and we will be back. Thanks to Yoshi, Tim and Rene and many others. You all deserve a big pat on the back for a well run clean hotel. We loved the quaint clean rooms and the location close to shopping, beaches and great restaurants, as well. Thank you, again to all!!! Till next time... Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

first looks can be decieving

Posted Sep 30, 2014
When I walked into reception I wondered what I had got myself into. But I was pleasantly surprised by the larger than normal rooms and finally a walk in shower. Staff helpful and pleasant. Short 5 minutes walk to Ala Moana Shops, 10 minutes to beach, 15 to 20 to Waikiki Beach. Good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom honolulu

Great trip to Waikiki!

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Elevator times!
Location: Well, you only one block from Waikiki! Close to very good eateries!
Another good choice for location, comfortable rooms with an excellent staff!