Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jrsmercedes from Valencia,Ca

Hotel was clean and close to the beach(small).

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The hotel was always clean and staff were always there to assist. In general most knew about the surroundings and willing to help.
Cons: The price of food is out of reach. They have no competition so they charge you because its a Resort and nothing close by.
Location: There is nothing near the Hotel only the small beach and tiny pool. Cost $60 for Taxi to Hotel-no shuttel. Your limited unless you catch a Taxi (not
The people were always ready to assist. The facilities were very clean at all times. Couple of resturants (Italian) was very much over priced on everything. We arrived on 8April at noon and departed at 4 Am on 12 April. Our Hotel include breakfast . All other meals we paid cash. The menus were very small variety. We had a total of 7 meals because breakfast was paid in advace and the cost was about $697.00. In general all food was very much over-priced. You pay for the location being a Resort. The first time in mylife I paid $30 for 3 Bud beers. Overall it was a nice and quite until the crowd and lots of small children arrived. The pool was closed 2 days (small kids urinating)becasue parents let their their kids run free. Overall it was a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracy from New Jersey

Lovely accomodations at the Kahala

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Service and location off the beaten path. Calm waters for lovely swimming.
Cons: Fitness Center could supply more necessities like plastic shower caps and body lotion and needs to be serviced a little more frequently.
Location: Dolphin habitat onsite. Weddings onsite. Yoga onsite. Free shuttle service to Waikiki.
Enjoyed our recent stay at the Kahala. Have stayed there in the past. Wonderful service with a request to upgrade our room upon arrival without any problem. Hotel staff goes out of their way to ensure that you have everything you need. Breakfast buffet was superb and plentiful! The beach and food/drink service there was wonderful. Free shuttle to Waikiki runs throughout the day/evenings. Restaurants onsite all top notch. All in all a most enjoyable stay. Highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gena Napolean from Philadelphia

Elegant, Peaceful, Remote (yet accessible)

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Quiet, remote yet accessible to everything, and all the amentities one would want to enjoy in a quiet peaceful vacation away from it all.
Location: A few miles east of Waikiki, which is densely crowded with highrises like Miami Beach and shopping like 5th Avenue in NYC. Inactive volcano nearby.
The Kahala is an elegeant hotel and resort designed in 1967 and recently updated in 2005. The amentieis were excellent, the service was superb, the food was delicious, and the staff were courteous, friendly and agreeable. Really. There was an understated, comfortable elegance about the hotel. The cost of everything was reasonable. For example, you can buy a blow-up raft for $8, which includes having someone blow it up for you! Nice. The room was clean with room service twice a day: once to clean the room (and put ice in the ice bucket), twice to turn down the bed with chocolates. It was kid-friendly, yet still quiet for grown ups to enjoy the peace and the incredible view. The more affordable mountain view rooms have a spectacular view equal to the water view. All rooms have either a walk-out balcony or a french balcony. Really nice place...... :-) Btw.... they have a swim with dolphin experience and sea turtles. Pretty cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wendy from Los Angeles

Kahala is escape from Waikiki noise

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Very pleasant staff, very punctual with room service,PPrivacy card on door was respected without extra knocks on the door. Free hotel shuttle to Kahala Mall was 5 mins ride. Whole Foods Market there to grab a meal / snacks if you go out on a tour. Plumeria is pleasant restaurant but quite noisy. Seaside Grill was more my taste outside by the pool. Rooms and bathrooms are huge and tons of space for two, separate bathtub and shower. Coffee maker in room and daily water with mini refrigerator and a pleasant CD of Hawaiian music in alarm clock next to very comfy bed. Dolphinquest was truly amazing experience and educational. Turtle and stingray lagoons too, the dolphin / animal trainers very friendly and answer your questions I will go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tracy from ha

EXTRAVAGENT HOTEL WITH DOPHINS AN TOTAL ZEN~~~

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: The poolside bar and resturante had great food for lunch. Room service was outstanding keeping the room clean and fresh. Everyone was very curtious an
Cons: Prices were a bit high on some of the resturants.
Location: The location was a dream.
This hotel is like a Palace, its totally extravagant. I had a mountain view with a waterfall below my window. I could not think of a better way to fall asleep. The morning was just as enjoyable to watch the dolphin trainers working with those wonderous animals. the curved walk ways that lead thru various waterways of various fish and turtles was exciting watch. The poolside bar and resturante had great food for lunch. Room service was outstanding keeping the room clean and fresh. Everyone was very curtious and kind and always willing to help or assit in anyway possible to make the stay most enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tiffany from Manhattan Beach, CA

Lovely hotel away from the busy-ness of Honolulu!

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Loved the location, staff, uncrowded beach, classy feel of the resort!
Cons: Check-in, I didn't feel the staff handled our check-in all that well. We are family of 4 and requested 2 beds. It took a long time to accommodate us.
I had a wonderful time vacationing at the Kahala Resort in Oahu this past July! My family and I vacationed there for a week, and we had a beautiful, large and very comfortable room with a partial ocean view. The bathroom was incredibly spacious. The grounds are as lovely as can be. We even took advantage of a dolphin experience right on property! The lobby of the hotel reminds me of old classic hawaii with many areas to sit and lounge and soak in the outstanding view of the ocean or just enjoy reading a book and listening to the waves crash or the beautiful hawaiina music in the background! The service was excellent from the moment we drove up to the wait staff at the pool and beach to the hostesses at the restaurants/bars and our fav was the great service we received poolside restaurant and at the beach. There was one particular waitress who waited on us and was kind and efficient and even took our family photo out on the rocks (which we ended up using for our holiday card). Overall, a wonderful experience at the Kahala - we especially enjoyed this beautiful hotel for it's quaint feel and great spot along the beach and privacy. We'd definitely visit again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

peaceful hotel with excellent service beautiful

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Pros: Beautiful location. Away from the crowds. Great place to relax and get " away from it all"
Location: You mut have a car if you want to explore
Excellent service , pretty room and great restaurants on premise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel and beach. Food is pricey but good

Posted Dec 13, 2013