Ratings based on 1,302 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Simply Perfect

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Everything. The pool area was our favorite spot, ambiance is amazing, whether you are having breakfast, afternoon drinks or late dinner
Cons: Not really
Location: On the marina (beach is a bit of a walk), large convenience store (ABC) across the road, large shopping center not far down the road
This was our first visit to the hotel. On our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who offered a welcome drink and got us into a room immediately rather than waiting. We stayed four nights and ate most of our meals in the restaurant by the pool only venturing out twice for meals. The ambiance in the pool area made it our favorite place in the hotel, the food was amazing and the service staff exemplary. We had a Partial View room on the 12th floor, the stylish room was light and airy with a good balcony, extremely comfortable bed, large TV with heaps of channels and we were able to get a coffee machine at no extra cost. Even though the modern is close to busy streets and has a night club on the ground level we did not hear the noise. The Modern is located by the Marina close to Waikiki beaches and walking distance to a large shopping mall. There is no pedestrian traffic passing through like other hotels on Waikiki. The Modern is a relaxed, sophisticated and cosmopolitan Hotel, adult orientated with few children staying. We also indulged in a spa experience ... unbelievable! Honestly, we had a truly amazing time at the Modern, we could not fault any part of our stay. The worst part was having to leave. Stayed March 2015, travelled as a couple
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

quick review

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The following are out of 10, 10 being the best Service and friendliness - 10 concierge - 10 facilities -9 Location - 7 Room and view - 8 Hairdryer in room - 1 food - 6 Overall a great hotel, staff exceptional in particular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Vic, Australia

Lovely hotel in good location

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Everything
The hotel was very nice and the staff very helpful and friendly at all times. We really enjoyed our stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

アラモアナ寄りの便利な立地でオシャレなホテル!

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: オシャレなプールがあるところ
Cons: シャワーの出る勢いがもう少し強いとよかった。
Location: 海がすぐ側にある。アラモアナショッピングセンターが近い。
日本語はほとんど通じませんでしたが、スタッフの対応は良く、居心地良く宿泊できました。部屋もキレイで清潔感があります。ホテル近くには飲食店がたくさんあるので食事に困らなかったです。アラモアナショッピングセンターも徒歩圏内!また、ホテルのプールはオシャレで雰囲気が良く、そこでくつろぐのも一つの楽しみです。夜はクラブ風のバーがオープンし、週末は若者でにぎわっています。ホテル館内は禁煙ですが、ホテルの外に喫煙場所があります。でも週末の夜に一人での喫煙はあまりお勧めしませんねぇ。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FUKUOKA

海外旅行に相応しいホテル

Posted Mar 25, 2015
宿泊者はオーストラリアの方が多いそうです。日本語が解るスタッフが少ないですが、若いスタッフが一生懸命理解して対応してもらえます。サービスは大変良いですが、お部屋のセッティングにややムラがあります。何度か、不足品を届けて貰いました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom k

Best Hotel in Honolulu!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
We celebrated our honeymoon with this trip to the beautiful island of Oahu and had been given so many suggestions and opinions on where to stay. After staying at The Modern, there is no doubt we made the best decision! The hotel sits just a few steps from Waikiki beach and has the most magnificent view of the Honolulu marina. It is the perfect location to take advantage of a spectacular Hawaiian sunset without leaving your room. Every evening there was live entertainment in the lobby bar called The Study. Great drinks, even better ambiance. They also have one of the hottest nightclubs on the island called Addiction. The staff was very attentive and accomodating. We felt so spoiled we truly did not want to leave. Someone must have done a lot of research and put a lot of effort into this place because every detail is perfect! The hotel even smells amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sh

Exelent

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Best place!!!ppl very nice very good food i loved it...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scottsdale

GREAT Honolulu experience...

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Convenient to everything--the staff, room, restaurant, bar were great! Hotel is very well maintained.
Location: Right on the harbor--within walking distance to Waikiki--and Ala Moana Shopping Center
EVERYTHING could not have been better! We had a great week at a GREAT hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing service. Excellent facilities. best food.

Posted Mar 18, 2015
If I return to Honolulu I will be staying at the modern. It made my trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom perth, western australia

Great hotel, good location, excellent staff

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Nothing but praise for the Modern hotel. The staff can't do enough for you.