Ratings based on 648 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely contemporary hotel!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Great hotel, great location, great service. Just far enough away from the strip to be away from the crowds but really easy to walk back in to in 5 to 10 mins. Nice boutique feel. Great showers too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel in Waikiki.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
I loved staying at The Modern, it was a great hotel and the service and facilities were fantastic. The only thing I didn't like was the noise in my room. I was upgraded once I arrived which was great. But it was on the corner of the building close to the road, luckily I wasn't staying in my room much, but early in the morning the traffic starts early. So either get a room further away from the traffic would be much better. Other then that I would definitely stay at the The Modern again. Everything was great, the pool isn't too big or too busy. The restaurant Mosimoto is fantastic and the food is exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New zealand

Great hotel in handy location.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and very friendly staff and the pool areas are magic.
Cons: An electric jug and two cups in the room
Location: Walking distance to the city, beach, and great shopping. Not a lot of traffic noise.
Our first time in Honolulu was a lovely experience . Well appointed suites, very comfortable beds and efficient air con.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: food. shopping.
wonderful. we enjoyed it. convenient location. service is excellent. room is clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Great Hotel in the Wakiki area of Oahu, Hawaii

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Great facilities at the gym. Pool side service was excellent. Helpful and friendly staff was also a plus.
Location: Lots of restaurant options nearby for eating. Shopping is also a plus too.
I have a full review for this hotel on trip advisor, so please read that one for a more detailed description. Hotel was excellent in every way. Clean, good food, excellent staff and service all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Australia

Great location for main shopping centre and beach

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Where it was positioned
Cons: Pool attendants could be better. We saw lots of sun beds with towels on no people so we asked if they could get us 2 beds, we were told to go upstairs
Location: Walking distance to Ala Moana Shopping Centre. Close to the beach lots of lovely walks.
As we arrived early from our cruise 9am we did not expect to be given a room. Our bags were stored whilst we went shopping. We got into our room at 3pm and had a lovely view over the Hilton Lagoon and ocean. The room was spotless and bathroom very clean. We were given a complimentary cocktail from the food and beverage manger Tim which was appreciated whilst we waited for our room, a mint and coconut mohito very nice. We ate at the hotel our first night, i had a steak sandwich and husband had the beef burger we enjoyed very much. We would stay at the Modern again and hope fully our daughter and future son in law will stay there for there honeymoon in December on our recommendation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice location near everything

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Rooms are clean and the Staff are very friendly and Accommodating ! Very good room attendants andValet service!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too modern for me.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Room was clean and comfortable.
Arrived early due to rescheduling of a flight only to be told that we would have to wait 10 hours to check in or pay for another night (it was already 4 in the morning). Paid for the extra night at the Rack Room rate (higher that what i booked for the rest of the stay on expedia). The room was clean and bright, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice but the whole thing reminded me of a nice version of a dorm room or a teenage girl's room. Had to switch rooms after the first night due to noise from the street and garage across the street and had to call the dest 4 times to get this arranged. Says there is a private "beach" but there is no beach here. It is just off waikiki and the closest water is a stagnant marina. There is a small but nice pool area. The hospital staff was nice and "trendy looking" but you know if your entire staff is in their mid 20s, they likely don't have much experience running a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Close to Waikiki

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: location
clean hotel; warm, responsive staff. Daily happy hour. downside: no parking -- even while you check in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Its comfortable and waiter and waitress are so nice.Will go there next time.