Ratings based on 609 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Az

Chic experiences and great service

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Guest service is more than accommodating. Sensory delights and surprises, like hallways smelling of plumeria, trendy electro-chill music, fresh spa water and pineapple around the adult pool, were icing on the cake. Plenty of complementary items ranging from a shaving kit to a Keureg coffee maker for in room. Complementary morning coffee offered in the study. Parking is expensive, but if you park at the harbor, you can save. The hotel is not on the beach, and even the best vantage points are obstructed by the boats in harbor or other hotels. It is a short easy walk to the beach. The Modern is located in a very convienent location for shopping and eateries. Morimoto, located on site is delicious, but tiny alacart portions and quite expensive. Service was fantastic. The Adult pool/bar is only a foot deep, but is perfect for sunning. The drinks are great (Modern Mule or the frozen Coconut Mojito). The main pool is great, but quite crowded. The out door spaces are beautiful and for me the highlight of the stay. Nice breezy lounging areas are everywhere. The rooms are comfortable and minimalist in design. Almost no privacy in the restroom, due to open privacy shutters, which do nothing to contain sounds or oders. But the water pressure in the spacious shower and the unique toilitries were fantastic. Turn down service is very nice to come back to. Full ice bucket, cookies and stocked waterbottles. Overall, I would recommend this beautiful property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice Stay at a Top Notch Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: All the extra service and help that the staff provided, such as infused water when went to the pool areas.
Cons: That items incurring charges could be more clearly indicated.
We are not used to being this well taken care of when we vacation. The staff was excellent. They were helpful on many occasions during our stay. I would recommend the Modern Honolulu to anyone with only one caveat, there are a number of charges that one could incur that you might not anticipate. That said, that were many more perks that we did not expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location, staff and service

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Best of luck finding a fault in this stunning motel. From the location to the service to its aesthetics. You honestly will not want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Hotel had amazing facilities, close to Ala Moana and main strip. Perfect walk after a big meal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Enjoyed the view across the Marina.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The decor etc (as above)
Cons: Only minor things, like the tiles in the shower floor looked a little stained and the carpet lifting near bathroom door, otherwise, all good.
Location: Good location, not too far from the centre of Waikiki. A short walk to shops, restaurants etc and very close to Ala Moana Shopping centre.
Loved the modern vibe of the Hotel. Also the restaurant and Pool Bar were fabulous. Different from most of the other tourist hotels in Hawaii (no cheesy) Hawaiian decor). I would definitely stay at The Modern again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Lovely comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: It was a away from the business of Waikiki beach , so not as madly busy as that area
Cons: A bath would have been a bonus
Location: Shopping at Ala Moana The beach and pool
Hotel was within walking distance to major shopping centre and the beach. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The pool was nice but much smaller then anticipated. The staff were attentive . We had a lovely stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hospitality

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Absolutely loved it! Room was great, service was great, food and drinks were great! Loved that housekeeping came by twice daily to check on the room and restock water and anything else that was needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Ending

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: Time waiting for the elevator (every time) was the only complaint.
I wanted to be spoilt at the end of our holiday and we definitely were. Wonderful friendly staff, great facilities, and a well thought out & designed "Modern" Hotel. Morimoto Japanese Restaurant was an added bonus. I will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to beach and mall

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Very cool hotel, great style, loved the child free pool option. Great service and staff I all respects. Good food and menu choice too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great stay

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Position and room and service
Excellent hotel - just far enough from the tackiness of Waikiki but near enough to enjoy the iconic Waikiki beach experience. We loved everything about the Modern and would definitely stay there again. I have, incidentally, stayed several times in Honolulu and those stays have been in the expensive Waikiki Hotels on the beach. I much prefer the Modern.