Ratings based on 565 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

The Modern delivers...

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Rooms were comfy; Breakfast was excellent; services was really good; nice pool; great, central location near the Hilton, beaches, and shops...
Cons: The check-in process needs improvement. We got passed to 3 people, our selected room wasn't available & were hassled before getting our room on day 2.
Location: Near the beach, shops (including ABC stores), and restaurants... easy to drive to landmarks too.
The Modern Honolulu is a really nice, swanky place and my family had a great time there. The rooms were very comfy and well-appointed and the breakfast was the best we ever had (try the coconut crusted French Toast or Eggs Benny…yum!). We really enjoyed the pool area too- not too crowded and very comfy with good service. The location is nice too as it's at the edge of Waikiki and within walking distance to the beach, shops, etc. The only one issue that I had was at check in, hence not being able to give 5 stars. After being passed to 3 different people at check-in, they apparently did not have our selected room available (1 bedroom/2 bath Ocean View), so they pushed an “upgrade” on us and gave us the 1 bedroom/1 bath Ocean Front. I personally feel the Ocean View room (esp. 17th floor) is better than the Ocean Front (they gave me the 7th floor- smaller and noisy) and the larger size is what we needed for my family (while I did check in to the "upgraded room," within 5 minutes realized it wouldn't work and called the front desk). Knowing that they made a mistake, although initially Travis tried to say that since I "accepted the upgrade" they could not accommodate us, he did end up apologizing and giving us a $200 credit, free breakfast, and the room we reserved on day 2. Clearly, after 6 hours of travel and just arriving in Hawaii this was not the reception that I was hoping for. Still, after day 2, the Modern Honolulu really did deliver and we were happy that we stayed there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully styled hotel away from the tackiness.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
If you're into more of the boutique luxury experience, this is the place to stay! Effortlessly cool, great attention to detail, good sized rooms. Loved the room's subtle and calming colour palette, the Frette sheets and the furniture. The hotel naturally does not attract families so is a quieter, more romantic option. Service was also excellent, from the nightly turn-down service to the friendly and helpful staff at every point in the hotel. I liked the location, away from the obnoxious touristy area and a little closer to the more interesting spots - Chinatown and Kaimuki. Within walking distance of Ala Moana mall if you need your shopping fix. If the $28 valet parking fee bothers you, head to the back of the hotel and park in the Marina. Only $12 for 24hrs. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trendy, modern, and scenic

Posted Apr 1, 2014
The Modern has hip and trendy in spades ! Loved the location on the lower end of Waikiki, across from the Yacht Harbor and down the street from Ala Moana shopping. Nice and comfortable rooms--sparse and Eco-friendly; great views and cool pool area. The room service was great and most of the staff were friendly and upbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2nd Visit to Oahu!

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Location: Near Ala Moana Mall and Waikiki.
Customer Service at this hotel was amazing! From the minute that we arrived to the minute that we left. Everyone was very nice and accommodating. The hotel was very modern, but simple, and looked clean! The hotel had a club downstairs and an amazing restaurant by the pool. I would definitely return to this hotel over the other neighboring hotels. The valet was not included in the stay because we booked with Expedia, but the front desk made an exception for me, and comp'd the valet fees for each day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by johannes from calgary alb

modern, chic and cool.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: new better mattresses and some fraid carpets.
great hotel, nice pool, excellent location.... high end to extremely low end bars around.... loved the low end across street... cheap breakfast there and 3 bucks a pint... if u dont have free breakfast. bad though was the beds as the matress in the rooms do not live up to high quality of the rest of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This place is great, easy, convenient!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: Maybe the smell in the lobby
Location: Perfect
Always a pleasure! This place is a hidden gem! I love staying here it is so convenient and very pleasurable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Oregon

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, service, location, pool area
Location: Waikiki beach, lots of good restaurants, the main drag is very close, etc. The marina is the one from which Gilligan and co. leave on their tour.
We stayed here for one night at the end of our stay on Oahu and really liked the hotel. Early check in (around 12:30) was not a problem and the staff were very nice. The room was clean and the view was as we expected with our reservation; our "partial ocean view" had a view of the marina and the Hilton Village next door. Not ideal for those seeking a full ocean view or a view of Diamond Head, but it was still pleasant and, honestly, we don't spend much time in our room when we travel. The facility was clean and easy to navigate, with an excellent business center and very nice pool area. We like to walk on vacation, so for us the location was great. Head out toward the marina, take a left past the Hilton, and you can stroll down Waikiki past the other hotels and places to eat. There's a Chuck's Steakhouse down the way, but we ate lunch at the Royal Hawaiian (frozen mai tais!) and dinner at the Moana Surfrider (poke nachos!). The walk was just beautiful. When we checked out, the hotel arranged a cab to the airport (about $35 and 20 min.) and off we went. No muss, no fuss. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Felicia from Richmond, VA

Great Hotel...Different

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: The reception, accommodations, food -- in short, everything.
Cons: Not in my opinion
Location: We didn't plan on doing anything in the vicinity really as we were just in Honolulu for a layover.
Our stay at the Modern Honolulu was short, just one night. We were laying over to fly to Manila the next day. I thought your hotel was great. The lemonade served at registration was delicious -- so much so that I ordered some at breakfast the next morning. The room was very comfortable, the décor different & pretty -- very Japanese, I think. I loved the bathroom. The venue for breakfast was gorgeous. It certainly enhanced my husband's & my appetite. The price for one night was not bad either, well within affordable. Given the opportunity, I certainly will choose to stay at your hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Things you should know.

Posted Mar 22, 2014
There's not a better hotel in Honolulu than The Modern. A few things though that you might want to know before you make your reservations. First off if you want a balcony, ask for it, not all of the rooms have balconies... When you get there and check-in they want a five hundred dollar deposit to cover things like room service or any other services you may use while at the hotel, and whatever you don't spend they'll credit it back to your debit/credit card account a couple of weeks after your stay... Also parking is somewhat expensive, especially at the hotel, but the connivence is worth it. Directly across the street is a parking garage, that's where I parked. I think it costed me about $180 to park there for 11 days. There's also a pedestrian bridge that connects the parking garage to the Hotel so it's very convenient... and if you rent a bike to ride while you're there on the island the valet service will keep it locked up for you while you're not using it.. The first night they came up to the room with a complementary gift to welcome us for staying at the modern. So you should expect that... The rooms are well designed and are very clean. The Hotel has its own distinct fragrance, you can even smell it out on the street. Needless to say it's wonderful as was the whole experience of staying at The Modern. I definitely recommend staying at this Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Juli from Honolulu, Hawaii

Posh

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff is an understatement, genuine hospitality with a touch of local Aloha!
Cons: The beds were a little firm for my taste but that's about it ~ Otherwise practically perfect in every way!
Location: We were so relaxed that we rarely ventured out, it was a stay cation and we just took advantage of every moment of not doing anything
From the minute you walk in the door and check in with chilled aromatic hand towels and fresh hand crafted beverage you know you've come to the right place. We enjoyed absolutely every moment at the Modern.