Ratings based on 667 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Stylish with fabulous staff

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Quality of service and condition of hotel
Cons: Nothing springs to mind
Location: Walk along beach for lazing, swimming and restaurants. Walk to Ala Moana shopping centre.
We stayed for 4 nights with a couple of young kids. To be honest this is more of a couples/business travellers hotel but we had a great time. Staff were knowledgeable and proactive. Welcome drinks on arrival, offers of bottled water while waiting for taxis etc. Coming back each day you are greeted with smiles and conversation in the spa-like cool and delight smelling lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The staff are there to make sure your every need is taken care of. Always have smiles on their faces. Ordering anything to the room, they check to see that you received it, sometimes twice. Choice of two pools, including adults only pool. Free coffee and tea in lobby until. Free internet in rooms. Our room had a view to the pool, ocean and marina. My only complaint, is I thought the breakfast a little expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

Stylish Paradise

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: I really enjoyed the service. Everyone was really pleasant and professional.
Cons: Everything was fabulous.
Location: Morimoto's(The Iron Chef) has a restaurant on the premises-delicious! Go to the beach! Swim, snorkel and play in the lagoon!
The Modern has a fresh approach to a tropical get-away. Every area is cool, clean and subtle with a hip vibe. The pool area is wonderful and looks out to the yacht harbor and ocean; an adult pool is available as well on a private upper level with sand and tropical foliage. It is in the Waikiki area so is conveniently located for beach and water sports, but also for shopping, dining and touring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London U.K.

Every member of staff I met was kind and helpful.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The brilliant staff
Cons: Nothing I can think of
When I needed help with a window that wouldn't close an engineer was sent to my room within half an hour. Also, when the Paradise Cove Luau was cancelled unexpectedly, I went to the information desk and Mark rearranged it by phone straight away for the next day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia.

Really is the best hotel EVER!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
This place is amazing. I was like you reading these review before I went. I did so much research to find the best hotel for the price we want to pay, and this is it! This place is incredible. The staff, the pool, THE FOOD, the service. You have to stay here! You won't regret it!!!! We will be back! Some days we found it hard to leave the hotel because it was a paradise on it's own. STOP PONDERING! BOOK IT!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

People are nice here

Posted Sep 20, 2014
little far from main street(15minutes by walk) but close to park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Perfect in every details

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Amazing place , near best points of interest , really modern , great restaurant ( chef Morimoto the best) a great place for staying
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, OH

Easy to see why this hotel is rated so high

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The elevators were slow.
Location: Perfect location in the middle of it all.
Perfect location, great staff, the only negative I could find is that the elevators are slow when you are on the 16th floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic service, excellent hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Style and service
Location: 5 mins to the main Waikiki area
Having looked at other hotels in Waikiki that look fairly shabby, or overpriced I was looking for something very modern and this place was exactly that. The pool area is amazing, very cool relaxed environment. There was a wedding party there one day making it quite busy but we just retreated to the adults only pool. The rooms are also amazing, very comfortable, incredibly stylish and everything we needed. For us the location was perfect, just away from the main strip but less than 2 minutes to the beach and the start of the main hustle and bustle, but you definitely felt away from everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, South Australia

Modern Honolulu - absolutely fantastic

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: 5 minute walk to the Ala Moana shopping centre 2 minute walk to Waikiki Trolley stop, which takes 5 minutes to get to main street
We originally wanted to stay on the main street in Hawaii, however Hawaii accommodation is quite expensive and our search showed a good price for The Modern Honolulu, a new hotel. When we arrived at the hotel the first thing i noticed was the friendly staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. All the staff were young and they offered excellent service. Our hotel room was clean, modern and fresh. The pool area was beautiful and even the bathroom/toilet area near the pool was so modern and clean. The staff at the hotel were so helpful and prompt. The customer service at The Modern is outstanding. The hotel is so close (5 minute walk) to the Ala Moana shopping centre, and a so close to the Waikiki Trolley stop, which takes 5 minutes to get to the main street. The Modern Honolulu is absolutely beautiful. I have recommended and will continue to recommend this hotel to everyone. Would definitely stay again. (FYI - the Housewives of OC stayed at The Modern in an episode where they took a trip to Hawaii)