Ratings based on 1,239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sunshine Coast QLD

Boutique style hotel.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: The boutique style vibe, friendly and accommodating staff and excellent fitness room facilities.
Cons: The noise from the nightclub on the weekend kept waking us up.
Location: Pleasant walk into the main Waikiki area, easy walk to Ala Moana Shopping Centre, lovely lagoon next door at the Hilton Hawaiian Village.
Excellent boutique style hotel with very attentive staff. Walking distance to all of Waikiki's main attractions but away from the main busy Waikiki area. We loved returning to the Hotel after a busy day exploring as it felt like a private home away from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Just like the name says its modern!

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Modern and convient.
Cons: Nightly turn-down service was good first 2 nights, but dropped off and rather sporadic in details for the next 7 days.
Location: Lots to do.
Had a wonderful time at this hotel. Excellent staff eager to please and help you with any and all requests. Its on the edge of Wakiki, so you don't get all the noise from further into town. Bus stops are close and you can walk to a great deal of what there is to see and do. I would consider going back and staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Falls Church, Va.

Nice; close to everything, with fabulous service!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: All of the services and the location, especially room service food; being very close to tour bus and city bus stations. It made getting around easy.
Cons: Fix the ice machines
Location: Near the beach, shopping, tour bus stations, excellent food, what else is needed? As a last resort, there also always was the all-purpose ABC store.
Centrally locate on the southern end of Waikiki, sandwiched in between many larger hotels, we were nonetheless, very satisfied. The rooms were kept immaculate -- and I do mean immaculate! The Japanese restaurant, Murimoto's, on the second floor is simply superb. So was the near by Royal Garden Chinese restaurant. Another advantage is that all of the tour buses meet a few steps around the corner from the Modern Honolulu. Concierge service also was first-rate. Even room service food was "off the charts," a first for us in all our travels. Usually, room service food is just barely palatable, but here, it made us stand at attention. And no wonder, the food in Honolulu is in a class unto itself. The only negative we had was a very minor one very much unbefitting a hotel of such high quality: hustled for tips by being told that the ice machine was broken, making it necessary to call for a valet each time we needed ice. It was annoying but we got around it by going ice-less. I so wished this had not happened, then this would be a 10-star, rather than just a 5-star rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Minimalist + Gorgeous Hotel in Honolulu

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Everything. My husband and I are both designers so we especially appreciated the interior design and minimal qualities.
Cons: Literally, nothing!
Location: Perfectly located at the end of Waikiki beach so you can easily take a short talk to local restaurants but out of the way enough that it seems quiet.
My husband and I stayed in O'ahu for 7 nights and 8 days and spent the first 3 at the Hilton Hawaiian Village and the last 4 at the Modern Honolulu. While the Hilton was nice, we would have spent all 7 nights at the Modern after experiencing both. The Modern Honolulu is breathtakingly gorgeous, pristine, clean, the staff is extremely friendly and full of great recommendations and the maids and turn-down service are just the icing on the cake. We were on a "babymoon" and found that the Modern was a perfect fit for that purpose. There were very few kids and the ones that were there were well behaved and looked after by their parents unlike the Hilton which was just a zoo full of families. I can't recommend this hotel enough. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chandler

Absolutley Amazing!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Everything! All lighting is LED, gym was awesome.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Hilton lagoon is 2 minutes away. Starbucks is a three minute walk.
This was my first stay at The Modern. Wow! I stay in hotels 100 nights a year and this place is now in my top 5 favorites. Room is awesome. Super quiet. Very chic and bed so comfortable. Pools are simply majestic. The staff is five star all the way. The food at the pool is so good I only ate there for three days! The chicken sandwich is the best I have ever had. Do yourself a favor a stay at the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver

Beautiful hotel near busy waikiki

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Highly recommend this hotel. Great and friendly staff. Great restaurant. Very stylish but not pretentious at all. Room service was actually quite slow but great overall
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Anchorage, AK

Great Hotel with Fantastic Staff

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Great staff, great look, quiet despite a very popular night club, good location.
Cons: No problems anywhere.
Location: You don't want to know what we think of Waikiki, we're not city people, but close to the beach and west end of Waikiki seems to be as good as it gets.
The Modern Hotel has a very modern feel. It has a clean look and refreshingly pleasant and efficient staff. A cold lemon and mint drink and damp towel at check-in were most welcome. Our room was clean and well appointed with a great bathroom and walk-in shower, none of the 'over the bath' problems! It was close to the lifts but there was no noise; they shutdown the lift closest to rooms over night. We had a partial marina and ocean view from the balcony, the pool is good and the beach close. Food in the Sunset Bar was hot, well cooked and well presented. All-in-all, the best place we've stayed in for many years, and the staff were smartly dressed, smiley, friendly and helpful, and I make no apologies for repeating good staff comments.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient transportation.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
The price is unreasonably high and only valet parking. I don't like it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, Canada

Great Hotel Close to marina

Posted Feb 17, 2015
hotel is beautiful. Close to the marina easy walk to the lagoon and beach walk. Great location close to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Not very close to the beach.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: The hotel is very clean and modern, boys working downstairs are very nice and we get to send out post card for free!
Room service was bit disappointing, it was slow and I asked a kettle but never come. Hairdryer was not working. Poor sound insulation.