Ratings based on 683 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Short walk into Waikiki centre and Ala Moana Shopp

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Staff were very friendly and I loved the Study bar concealed by the huge bookcase. The only thing to complain about was having to sit for over 2 hrs waiting for a room. The communication could have been better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

No complaints everything was perfect

Posted Oct 15, 2014
I am in the hotel business and own a 100+ room hotel at a major lake and ski area in Northern California. The staff was excellent at The Modern Honolulu and extremely courteous. I told them that I hope my staff is such when we owners are not at our property. 5 Stars to The Modern Honolulu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

The name says it all.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: The quality of the staff and the interior design of the room.
Cons: Double glaze the windows.
Location: Near the main shopping centre and around the corner from the main drag and beach.
Very clean and modern hotel with smart looking and helpful staff, excellent facilities and refreshing rooms. The Modern has rooms that you say 'Ahhhh' when you walk! If there was a negative, and it is more a reflection of Waikiki rather than the hotel directly, is that at night the hotel is surrounded by noise and I was woken a few times by either loud passers by or traffic. Admittedly, I was only on the 4th floor so closer to the action. The noise may not have been so intruding if I had a room on a higher floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

A hotel true to its name, but a bit far and pricey

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Nightclub (hotel guests are VIP) Adult wading pool Initial room cleanliness Front desk staff Excellent fitness room Excellent in-room cable
Cons: More consistent housekeeping Better recognition of special occasions (nothing for honeymoon, not even a glass of wine) Better food menu and prices
Location: Not near Waikiki (about 20-30 minute walk in the heat) Try Hiking Cafe on Ala Moana for lunch or breakfast Beach nearby is extremely rocky
We stayed at the Modern September 23-October 1. We did enjoy our stay, but we don’t think we’d return for a number of reasons. 1. Location It’s about a 20-minute brisk walk in the heat to the very beginning of Waikiki, and by the time you reach it you are so sticky and hot from the walk, you just want to turn back and take a shower or go to the beach. If you walk at a pace where you won’t break a sweat, then it’s about a 30-minute walk. There not much around here. 2. Price The cost of the hotel room does not bother us. It’s the cost of drinks and food that was a bit over the top. We had breakfast, lunch, and drinks at the hotel’s poolside restaurant a few times and found it to be overpriced. Breakfast for the two of us was never under $60 including tip, and the taste was good, not phenomenal. Lunch was a disappointment. I ordered the fish tacos and it tasted like chunks of rubber wrapped in cardboard. My husband found bugs in his salad. 3. Inconsistent housekeeping Not all hotel cleaning staff are made equally. Some cleaned the room well. Others barely made the bed, didn’t clean the shower, didn’t straighten the room, didn’t replenish the Kleenex. We are by no means pigs or spoiled kids needing pampering, but we enjoyed the feeling of walking into a tidied room after a long day. We’re not talking anything over the top here, but just nice little touches that make you feel like you are on vacation rather than at home with chores to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york new york

Nicest hotel close to the airport!

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Very swank nice amenities very clean.
Good place to stay within 15-20 minutes to airport. Much better than the hour (or more sometimes) ride into Waikiki. Coffee and tea in the am - but you have to pay for that croissant! Nice pools and bar. Pricey but you get what you pay for and what you get is a very pleasant atmosphere and immaculate grounds. Would return again. Morimoto is good but again pricey. If you know good sushi from NY or other areas you may be a tad disappointed. Great room and deck though - it is a nice experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Better than a St. Regis

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, staff, pool, rooms
Cons: food is a little pricey
Location: hotel is NOT directly on the beach but is on the marina a short path down to the beach. at the edge of waikiki a bit of a walk to the main drag
My husband and I came to the modern for our first anniversary. We were beyond pleased. We've traveled all over the world and stayed in hotels famous for their service - The Modern is on par or better than the best of them. Service was absolutely impeccable, facilities were fantastic, everything was perfect. Front desk even knew our name by the time we left and this is not a small hotel. Promise you wont be disappointed. Can't wait to go back. Food is a little expensive, but typical for a nice hotel. F
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Classy hotel in Honolulu

Posted Oct 7, 2014
This boutique hotel gave us the LA experience in waikiki. Even the pool had cool music underwater through its speakers. The room was spacious, clean and crisp with whitewash furniture and small pops of colour that made you know you were still in hawaii. The friendly service was also great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Aus

Perfect location, walking distance from everything

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Fantastic hotel with very friendly staff always willing to help. Great location being walking distance from everything however a bit out from the all the action and noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oz

Great service, good location.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness, friendly staff & location.
Cons: A notice about night club hours so you know you aren't going to get sleep.
Location: Shopping centre close by.
We loved the room, location, facilities & service however our room was right near the elevator so we heard everyone coming up & down during all hours of the night as well as the noise from the night club.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location is excellent. Staff is friendly and helpful> Room is impeccable.