Ratings based on 1,268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FUKUOKA

海外旅行に相応しいホテル

Posted Mar 25, 2015
宿泊者はオーストラリアの方が多いそうです。日本語が解るスタッフが少ないですが、若いスタッフが一生懸命理解して対応してもらえます。サービスは大変良いですが、お部屋のセッティングにややムラがあります。何度か、不足品を届けて貰いました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom k

Best Hotel in Honolulu!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
We celebrated our honeymoon with this trip to the beautiful island of Oahu and had been given so many suggestions and opinions on where to stay. After staying at The Modern, there is no doubt we made the best decision! The hotel sits just a few steps from Waikiki beach and has the most magnificent view of the Honolulu marina. It is the perfect location to take advantage of a spectacular Hawaiian sunset without leaving your room. Every evening there was live entertainment in the lobby bar called The Study. Great drinks, even better ambiance. They also have one of the hottest nightclubs on the island called Addiction. The staff was very attentive and accomodating. We felt so spoiled we truly did not want to leave. Someone must have done a lot of research and put a lot of effort into this place because every detail is perfect! The hotel even smells amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sh

Exelent

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Best place!!!ppl very nice very good food i loved it...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scottsdale

GREAT Honolulu experience...

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Convenient to everything--the staff, room, restaurant, bar were great! Hotel is very well maintained.
Location: Right on the harbor--within walking distance to Waikiki--and Ala Moana Shopping Center
EVERYTHING could not have been better! We had a great week at a GREAT hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing service. Excellent facilities. best food.

Posted Mar 18, 2015
If I return to Honolulu I will be staying at the modern. It made my trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom perth, western australia

Great hotel, good location, excellent staff

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Nothing but praise for the Modern hotel. The staff can't do enough for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Staff is great. Location is almost perfect. Hotel food overpriced but expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

4 Star Hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The best thing about the hotel is it's staff, who are so helpful, kind and friendly.
My husband and I stayed in this hotel for five nights(first time in Honolulu). The best thing about the hotel is it's staff, who are so helpful, kind and friendly. Hotel location is OK, about 20-30 minutes walk to the Kalakaua street, which is like the main street for all shopping malls and restaurants, and the same distance to the Waikiki beach. Our room was very clean and spacious and I really liked the service. Breakfast was not included in our room price and it was pricey, We had our breakfast at the lovely "Kim Bean Coffee" next to the McDonald's, only few minutes walk from the hotel. We asked for a higher floor room to avoid the noise but it was noisy specially in Friday night because there is a bar at the lobby of the Hotel and people talk and laugh in the street loudly also people walk and talk in the corridors of the hotel in midnights. I know this is not the hotel's fault at all but we couldn't sleep well. During our stay we didn't rent a car, the bus station close to hotel was very handy to catch all necessary buses to the beaches and the historical centre of Honolulu. ( Bus 22 for "Hanauma Beach", Bus 23 for "Sea life park" and "Lighthouse trail",Bus 42 for "Pearl Harbour" and Bus 19 for airport.) The staff was extremely helpful and they printed the bus's timetable every day for us. This is a nice hotel to stay and I recommend it. I wish to come back to Honolulu again :D Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise, unless in weekend it was still noisy in 15th
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Very modern hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Small boutique-ish hotel. Very modern and hip. We had 2 small children, which was fine with us, but this hotel is probably most appropriate for singles or couples. Rooms were pretty spacious and clean. Best thing about the hotel was an amazing (but expensive) brunch at the on-site restaurant. 2 downsides: car parking/valet entrance is horrendous. The entrance is right at a busy intersection and very very tiny. It took us 15 min just to turn into the entrance due to traffic being back up at the entrance. Also, again with the family appropriateness them, there is very little privacy between the bathroom and the room itself. There are shutter blinds that even when you close them, you can see peek through and also hear what is going on (including when folks go to #2 bathroom break).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Cutest hotel ever!

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Location: The location is a little bit removed from the main part of Waikiki but we just walked down every day and took a cab back if it was dark.
I loved everything about this hotel! My mom and I had the best stay. The design is so cute in the lobby, rooms etc. When I was booking the hotel, I thought it was on the beach from the map but it's across the street from the marina. The location was fine though and the pool area is fabulous! Someone walks you to your chair and puts on the chair cover/adjusts the umbrella and they bring you treats about once an hour. The pools overlook the marina/ocean and it's a very pretty view. They also let you take towels to the beach. I ordered the coconut, lime mojito twice and it was delicious. We also ordered room service and it was very good. Top notch customer service all around. Everyone was so nice and polite. I would definitely stay here again.