Ratings based on 1,437 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for couples and young adults

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The laid-back and calm atmosphere. The proximity to the beach. The pool areas.
Cons: More selection on the 24/7 room service.
Location: Great location in relation to the beach, places to eat, and shopping destinations.
I had a wonderful experience at the Modern Honolulu. I wouldn't necessarily recommend the hotel for a family with young children as the restaurants and facilities are high end and are tailored toward adults. However, for a person who is looking for a relaxing experience, great dining, and proximity to the beach, it is an excellent selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
スタッフはフレンドリーで感じがよく、客室はワイキキのホテルと比較してかなり広い。レビューで見た通り備え付けの冷蔵庫は全然冷えなかったが貸してもらえたので問題なし。プールも画像の通りで素敵でした。リピートします。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 名古屋市

目の前がハーバー

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: 立地。清潔感。
Cons: ロビーが暗いかな?
Location: アラモアナショッピングセンター他。
ワイキキの中心とアラモアナショッピングセンターの中間に位置する綺麗なホテル。予約した段階では若干の不安もあったけど現地に行ってすぐ吹っ飛びました。パーシャルシービューの部屋でしたがベランダも広く全く問題なしです。日本人ツアー宿泊客はいなかった気がします。過去、ヒルトンハワイアンビレッジ、アウトリガー、イヒラニリゾート等に泊まりましたが、次回もこのホテルで行こうと思います。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from christchurch nz

Great friendly hotel with a high level of service

Posted Jul 23, 2015
In a great position at the north end of Waikiki , a real sense of luxury around the pool with attentive staff. Food and drink quite pricey but local convenience stores breakfasts, saved us heaps and the hotel staff will provide an extra fridge in your room for milk etc. Rooms are spacious and even our city view rooms gave glimpses of the sea. 2 minutes walk from the pool area to the beach lagoon, 10 mins walk to the huge Ala Moana shopping centre. The free wifi was Netflix capable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel let down by concierge

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Hotel staff allowed us to be checked in early which was great. Room were very clean and modern with standard amenities. Very comfortable rooms. Rooms were quiet and beds were unbelievably comfortable, we had 5 amazing nights of sleep! We were provided with bottled water daily which was much needed! Biggest let down was concierge who were unhelpful and provided no information/booklets of car hire/tours. We relied on other hotels/TripAdvisor etc. for information. The pool was small and very busy. Wouldn't say that there two pools as one is very shallow, the water is only ankle high. Very limited eating options close to the hotel however the main tourist strip is 15-20 minute walk away. Air conditioning stopped working in our room however the staff were efficient and moved us to another straight away. Overall, one of the better hotels in Hawaii.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Sensational Holiday

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Location: Location was excellent. Not too close to the hustle and bustle, but not to far either. Extremely convenient to pick up locations for tours etc
Loved this hotel. The staff were always friendly and professional. It was also the little things that I loved...complimentary sunscreen by the pool, iced water being offered for free by the pool (along with frozen treats and fruit) and the beautiful fragrance wafting through the whole hotel...divine! Would go back and have already recommended to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Excellent in every way!! Great location and great all round hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good location, nice setting...

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Location, hotel size/condition, and staff. It has rooms with some view, large bathroom, and comfie beds. Not a big pool, but okay.
Cons: Honoring reservations with specific requests - double beds, quiet side, etc..
Location: At the south end of Waikiki, close to the Marina, beach, and shops. Eat a wonderful breakfast at Goofys - close by on the main street.
Upon arrival, we were told that they did not have a room with 2 double beds, as per my reservation - booked several months ago (? due to large convention in town- I suspect). I asserted that they honor my previously paid reservation and they did find a room. I prefer a room on the quiet side (facing the Ilikai hotel, as ours was on the street side with some noise when the window was opened). Other than that, it is a lovely hotel - smaller, modern, clean, and close to Waikiki strip and beach. They have complimentary coffee for breakfast. All in all, I would go again. C
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole

Modern, but not luxury.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Position is excellent. Close to great restaurants and the beach.
Cons: The bedrooms are very basic. This is a premium price hotel that doesn't quite come up to expectations. The pool needs more sun lounges, simply to few.
Location: The concierge is excellent and has many ideas of things to do. Collection point for coach trips/ days out is just 100 metres away.
Situated within easy walking distance to the beach. The Modern has an excellent bar near reception and also 2 near the pools which are friendly. The swimming pool is on the small size and gets very busy. Sadly it does not have anywhere near enough sun loungers which is disappointing and means you have to walk to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Aesthetic & Style

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: As above - listed
Cons: 0
Location: Walk to Ala Moana shopping centre. Walk to Waikiki Beach Great view in the bar & restaurant for Friday night fireworks & 4th July celebrations
If aesthetics are important to you then the Modern Honolulu oozes "come hither" charm. We felt like we'd landed in a parallel universe. I didn't want to leave. The pools; sunset & sunrise take your pick, the environs - even the elevators have a stylish edge. The Library bar is ingenious. Yoga class each morning in the fresh air. The gift shop has an edge. But the Bombe Alaska is the Morimoto Waikiki Restaurant - sell your treasures if you need to, don't miss the experience. It all works to melt way the tedium that most Hotels offer up. I would go back to Honolulu just to spend more time in this Hotel.