Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessica from Ladysmith, British Columbia

Close to everything, private and quiet.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
We had a couple of small issues...fridge stopped working for example. When we advised the staff it was replaced within two hours. If you tell the staff about any issues you may be having they will do their best to correct it as soon as possible; Don't wait until you get home to complain about the resort. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

great stay

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: the beach
Cons: bathrooms too small
Location: restaurants surfing enjoying the beach
great experience the hotel staff are friendly and hotel is nice but pricey little bit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

FOOD WAS DISAPPOINTING

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: I LIKED EVERYTHING - THE LOCATION. THE BEACH, EVERYONE WAS FRIENDLY.
Cons: THE GYM IS HORRIBLE AND COLD AND THE FOOD SUCKS.
THE HOTEL IS BEAUTIFUL, BUT YOU WOULD EXPECT BETTER FOOD AT A 4-5 STAR LUXURY HOTEL. WE WERE UPGRADED FOR HALF THE PRICE TO AN OCEANFRONT WITH BALCONY - WHICH WE LOVED, HOWEVER THE ROOM ALWAYS HAD ANTS AT THE COFFEE MAKER, THE REFRIGERATOR DIDN'T WORK AND OUR FOOD SPOILED. BUT THE WORST THING WAS THE QUALITY OF THE FOOD - THE SALADS, FISH AND CHICKEN WERE THE SAME QUALITY AS A BOSTON MARKET - NO BETTER THAN AN APPELBEES OR DENNYS. THERE ARE MANY GREAT PLACES TO EAT AROUND THE HOTEL, BUT TRAVELING WITH AN 81-YEAR OLD MOM, I DIDN'T WANT TO HAVE TO LEAVE THE HOTEL EVERYDAY TO SEARCH FOR FOOD. THE FOOD AND BEVERAGE MANAGER NEEDS TO ASSESS THE QUALITY OF THE FOOD, ESPECIALLY THE PRODUCE FOR THE SALADS, AND THE CHICKEN AND FISH EXPERIENCE WAS HORRIFIC. I AM A HEALHTY EATER AND EXPECT A QUALITY THAT IS CONGRUENT WITH THE MONEY I AM PAYING TO STAY AT THAT HOTEL.. OVERALL EVERYTHING ELSE WAS FABULOUS. THE WAITRESSES AT THE MAI TAI BAR NEED A LESSON IN MANNERS AND CUSTOMER SERVICE.
3 out of 5
by Bouvier from Tacoma, WA

The grand lady is tired.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Historic charm. Architecture. Friendly staff.
Cons: Attention to detail in cleaning the room.
Location: Waikiki Beach. More high end shopping than anyone can accomplish...
The Royal Hawaiian is still charming, but she is crammed between the shopping strip and shoulder to shoulder hotels on either side. Good luck finding her in the dark! There are so many one way streets you will find yourself driving in ever-widening circles before you end up at the bottom of the drive where she is hiding. The room was in the older part of the hotel…and there was old containers of restaurant food in the refrigerator, a broken shower head and shade pull. Three strikes and I had to speak up. The staff was very apologetic, and I was upgraded to a room in the tower, but it left a bad taste in my mouth. The daily resort fee, expensive food and "rental" fees for the privilege of sitting on a beach chair easily added another 30% to the cost. I'll stay elsewhere and do a walk-through next time. That's enough for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by melissa from albany, ny

Serene

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Very relaxing right next to the hustle and bustle of Waikiki
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Cons: Using Expedia got us a bad room location, because we didn't take the hotels offer to upgrade for $100 a day.
Grand hotel, secluded from the mobs of Waikiki. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Vancouver

Pink Palace is a green sponge

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Arrived to realize my Expedia deal did not include the hefty daily resort fee. "Garden Room" was dark with a small window out to a driveway gate with a few plants. We asked for a different room and got one in the tower for an additional $100+ Per night . It was bright, had a water/pool view, lanai and a cockroach which was dealt with professionally and promptly. I felt mislead by the private beach...can only use it if you pay $40/day per lounger. All poolside ones are taken early in the morning or are pay per use....not included in the resort fee. Pool is small and only 4 ft deep. Can access the Sheraton one next door but not their infinity pool. Food is OK but pricey, $14 for a wedge of watermelon. Disco fries are large hash browns. Same price for most cocktails. Lobby is gorgeous, location great, but prepare to fork out $$$$.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee

Great location

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: It's one the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. Grounds are lush and beautiful. A beautiful beach is just steps outside the hotel.
Cons: Can hear noise from adjoining room if people in the room next to you do not make an effort to be quiet.
Location: All the shopping you could dream for is within walking distance. The ocean is steps away with surfing, boating, swimming, cruising available.
Beautiful hotl right in the middle of all the sights. Has a gorgeous view of the ocean steps outside of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Snapshot Jack from Missouri

Best Hotel Ever!

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Perhaps they could make the days last a little longer so your stay would not seem to end too soon.
Location: There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. Kalakaua Blvd. is just behind the gardens and is filled with a myriad of things to explore.
Even though this was not our first visit to Honolulu, this was our first time to stay at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel, but will not be our last. When we say it was the best hotel ever, we mean just that. The atmosphere is quite different from any other place. The staff is friendly, helpful, courteous. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Any need you have, the hotel will meet if it is within their ability to do so. The Azure Restaurant is a 5-star restaurant. Room service food is equally superior--try their hamburgers and you'll never be sorry. We stayed 5 nights; wish it had been longer. The hotel is very convenient to Waikiki Beach (on it!), and very convenient to shopping and restaurants. Amenities abound. You will leave feeling pampered and appreciated. Nothing else like this anywhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dawn from Greenwich,CT

on the beach five star hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Hotel Royal Hawaii....my daughter checked in and the staff made sure her stay was a highlight of her trip..Incredible staff and beautiful hotel
Cons: nothing
it was my daughters last night in Hawaii....and she asked me if i could get her a room in the Royal Hawaii Hotel which is pricey....the starting price of a room is $400...well expedia couldn't have been more accommodating i phoned and spoke with Ella of Expedia and explained my situation of being a moon the east coast and trying to purchase this room for my daughter ....Ella made it happened and more ...she had got the best room for the best price and breakfast early check in....couldnt have been more delighted with Ella of Expedia and the staff at the Hotel Royal Hawaii....my daughter checked in and the staff made sure her stay was a highlight of her trip...I have promised when i go to hawaii i will stay at the same hotel...thank you Ella of Expedia for helping me and my daughter have a incredible experience !!!!! Five stars all around !!! Dawn