Ratings based on 1,863 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Simply bliss.

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The vibe was relaxed, friendly but still professional.
Cons: More menu choices at the restaurants.
Location: The hotel is on the North Shore on a point looking out to the ocean. You can catch the sunrise and sunset from this hotel.
Loved our three days at Turtle Bay, in fact we wished we'd stayed longer. The hotel is looking good after an extensive renovation which is nearly complete. The rooms are large and comfortable with all amenities. The views are beautiful overlooking the ocean. Our room overlooked the area where the surfers go - it was great to sit and watch them from the comfort of our lanai. We used two of the restaurants in house while we were there and both were good, although the menus were fairly limited and quite expensive, but there are cheaper options at the Pool Bar. There are two shops selling clothing and another selling basic food and drink items and essential holiday items such as sunscreen. There are many activities to take part in - you won't be bored, there's plenty to see as well locally.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

2nd Honeymoon

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: We had a beautiful view, which seemed to be the saving grace of the experience on several occasions.
Cons: Service and hospitality
The hotel location is absolutely beautiful but unfortunately the service and hospitality were really disappointing. People were not as friendly as we had hoped for or encountered during our first honeymoon in Maui. EVERYTHING was overpriced - case in point being charged $10.95 for a 12 oz. Lava Flow (which has a minuscule amount of alcohol) and then finding out that one of their cooks only makes $11 an hour - seriously? Where is all that money going? Clearly not to the staff, which might explain the substandard service. A local friend pointed out that the hotel is the only one on that side of the island and therefore the lack of competition has a lot to do with the absence of hospitality that you may get in more populated locations where competition plays a much more active role in getting and keeping business. On the plus side, the location is stunning and the north shore is most definitely a quieter much more scenic experience - a great opportunity to be one with the waves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed the ocean view from your room and our remote location on Oahu’s Fabled North Shore! We are very sorry to learn of your poor service experience at Turtle Bay. Our employees’ compensation is based on our union contract which was settled in 2012 and expires in 2015. Regardless, the experience we strive to provide should always be with the aloha spirit we have been raised with in Hawaii and to share eternally. We do hope that you will return to Turtle Bay and allow us the opportunity to show you all that the Fabled North Shore has to offer and our true aloha spirit. Warmest aloha, Danna Holck, General Manager Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2014
New renovations are very nice! Be prepared to spend a lot on food and drinks! Drinks overpriced and not very good at the pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Location was good close to everything we wanted do

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Overall service and quality
Location: Great surf areas and way north shore
Our ocean view room was very nice but the house keeping didn't replenish our shampoo our change the bag in the ice bucket not slippers in the room either but room was clean. We book a couples massage out side by the ocean and it's along a public bath so people were walking by talking our standing looking at the waves and you could hear everything, the massage was a deep tissue ( more like a soft massage) the relaxation area was nice watching the sun set but again right along the public pathway so we watched it again with everyone else at the resort but to private at all, men's bathroom toilet was I useable because it had never been clean after bring it to there attention it twice it took 1 1/2 for someone to service it, they ran out of hand soap in the ladies and also ran out of drinking water. Dinner at the Opal was not good set our diner back cause it was cold when it came back it was still cold again, spa and diner was the biggest disappointment if your going to charge 5 star price than you should deliver. Evan after complaining nothing was done except oh yeah SORRY !
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your room accommodation! We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy your dining or spa experiences. We value your feedback and will be following up with the spa team and Ola team to improve our service. We would be honored to have you return to Turtle Bay again and allow us the opportunity to show you all that the North Shore has to offer. Warmest aloha, Danna Holck, General Manager Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Perfect place to surf, snorkel, ride and golf

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Location, location, location, every room in this cross shaped, ocean side hotel has a view of the sea as the hotel is right out on the point. Food is very American and a bit bland, hopefully the new owners, who are doing a lot of renovations right now, will revise the menus at the many hotel bars and restaurants to include even more local flavours and freshness from the neighbouring farms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Aloha, We agree our location is pretty special. We’re also very happy to offer an ocean view from all of our accommodations. We’re glad you noticed we are incorporating farm to table items in our restaurants and hope you can taste the difference. We hope to have the honor of a return visit someday and appreciate the perfect rating on Expedia! With Warmest Aloha, Danna Holck, V.P. Turtle Bay Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Hotel grounds are beautiful - loved the Segway tour and horseback riding at sunset. Pool and beach are great - snorkeling was fantastic.
Cons: Very expensive - limited choices for quick bites - especially breakfast. Coffee and a croissant for two is at least $20.
Location: Polynesian center
Every window has a view. Beautiful scenery everywhere you look. Bedrooms have all been updated - and each has a view. We had a great stay - this is a first class resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Write your comment.Aloha, It sounds like you had a great time exploring our trails on horseback and Segway. Did you know we also have a helipad and surf school on property? We have so many experiences for our guests to enjoy and we’re glad you made fantastic memories at Turtle Bay during your many adventures. We would love to welcome you back someday. Mahalo, Danna Holck, V.P. Turtle Bay Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland New Zealand

Beautiful view, contemporary rooms

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: For an older hotel that has spent millions on renovation we both just loved the architecture and how it has been modernised. Superb location
Cons: The wait time in the restaurant where we had breakfast.the last morning was a 30 minute wait .
Location: We loved the location,although for surfers and golfers (which we are not) we found plenty to occupy ourselves.
We were on the 6th floor and the view was amazing. Loved the shutters and the very contemporary decor. Bathroom was great,huge shower with oodles of space for two! A great place to stay and to visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Aloha, We’re thrilled you loved our newly renovated guestrooms and location on the Fabled North Shore. Turtle Bay is for everyone, not just golfers and surfers. We have an award winning spa, horseback riding, helicopter pad and hiking trails – just to name a few. Our guest can choose to go on several adventures, or spend the day relaxing at our pool. We look forward to your return and serving you again. Mahalo, Danna Holck, V.P. Turtle Bay Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hoffman Estates, Il

Beautiful ocean views

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The views of ocean
Cons: Difficult to say until the hotel is complete. The pool elevator area is dingy and could be redone.
Location: Nothing nearby.
The hotel, when completed will be beautiful, I am sure. However we were inconvenienced with the projects going on. We should have been informed beforehand and perhaps that would have made a difference. The staff apologized but non the less, it was an inconvenience. K cups in room, a great ammenity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Ca

Awesome resort

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Activities, The Beach, the swimming pool, our room and all the friendly staff members who greeted us everyday
Location: Snorkeling, Polynesian cultural center, Surfing capitol of the world, Golfing, horseback riding, Bike riding, Plenty of beaches.
My husband and I stayed here for our 20th anniversary for 6 days from 9/2-9/7. It was awesome. From the time we got on the plane in San Jose until we got home every person we met was very nice. The staff was very helpful and smiling everyday. The bars and restaurants on the resort were fantastic. We loved the snorkeling, swimming and the relaxing days spent on the beach at the resort. They also have an activity planner in the hotel I forgot the name of it but you can book any activities you would like to do right there. We booked the Luau and show at the Polynesian Cultural center through the Activities center at the hotel and we had excellent front row seats to see HA. We got to meet a lot of people from different places around the world. We will definitely be going back. If you are looking for a place to go to so you can just kick back and relax this is the place. All I wanted to do was stay at the resort It has everything you need to have a great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Aloha, Mahalo for the awesome review on Expedia. We agree everything you could ever need is on our resort property. We have several restaurants to choose from, two championship golf courses, a helipad, a spa, a fitness center, a surf school, hiking trails, horse stables and more! The activity planner you mentioned is the Guidepost in our lobby. Our guides help our guests enjoy Turtle Bay, the North Shore and Oahu though the eyes of a local. We’re glad they were a great tool for you to use during your stay. We hope to have the honor of a return visit someday. Mahalo, Danna Holck, V.P. Turtle Bay Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Honeymoon 2014

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Hotel is beautiful. The room was spotless and the bed/pillows very comfy. We enjoyed our stay and didn't want it to end. The only 2 negatives are the location and the restaurant prices. It is an hour to get to activities etc. We found ourselves driving too much. Also the hotel food was over priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Aloha, We appreciate you staying at Turtle Bay and sharing your experience on Expedia. We offer several activities on property for those who don’t want to venture too far. We have horseback riding, Segway tours, snorkeling, surfing lessons, Stand Up Paddling, bicycle &moped rentals, hiking trails, ukulele lessons, helicopter tours, two championship golf courses, kayaking tours, tennis, volley ball, a fitness center and a spa. We hope to have the honor of a return visit someday. Mahalo, Danna Holck, V.P. Turtle Bay Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager