Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dartford, UK

Good Vibrations at the Vive Waikiki

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: The warm relaxing atmosphere, stylish decor. Continental breakfast, hot and cold drinks 24/7. Free loan of beach chairs, boogie boards, towels and mat
Cons: Automatic opening doors would be handy, especially if you have hands full of luggage. (I'm told this has been planned for the near future)
Location: Local buses, stops nearby, which will take you to Pearl Harbour and Diamond Head etc. Restaurants, bars, beach, entertainments within walking distance
The standard was set when I was greeted by Sahara with a cold glass of pineapple juice and an ice cold face towel, which was so welcomed. I found the Vive to be a delightful hotel in a great location (close to shops, bus stops and 5 minutes from the beach). Fabulous staff, for whom nothing was any bother, even down to being offered a bucket of ice to cool my aching feet, having climbed the Diamond Head Crater. Check out KC on the travel/excursion desk, who went above and beyond to ensure I got the best from my holiday in Oahu. Ask KC where you can get boxes of those scrumptious Honolulu macademia cookies, which are a great idea for gifts to take home. I went on an excursion nearly every day of my holiday, so it was great to come back to the hotel, relax and refresh, knowing you wouldn't have too far to walk to nearby restaurants and entertainments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Beautiful hotell and amazing services

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: -Free beach gear rentals -Free breakfast -Valet parking -Friendly staff -Baggage hold after check out -Free 1 hour courtesy room -Chic decor
Cons: -Room we booked is super tiny, we kept on bumping into the furnitures -AC is quite loud -Pillows were a bit weak -Leaky shower
Location: The hotel is a few minutes away from the beach, shopping, restaurants. It wasn't right in the centre of everything which meant it was as busy or loud.
The hotel is chic and eclectic, it had beautiful decors and a nice lobby. I really appreciated the free breakfast: coffee, teas, juice, and various decent quality baked goods. The valet parking was very convenient if you are renting a car but the price ($25 per day) is a bit high depending on your budget. The staff is amazing, every single one of them was welcoming and helpful. The lobby lends out free beach gear (towels, mats, chairs, and boogie boards) and many other items (bottle opener, HDMI cords, etc). After check out on the last day, the hotel offered to hold our luggage for free and there is a complimentary courtesy room you can book ahead of time for an hour to rest and use before your flight. The only downside is the room itself, we booked what is probably the smallest room and the space was very tight! The AC was quite loud and our shower was leaky so some water kept on spraying towards the floor. The pillows were a bit too soft and I am not a fan of the high and large sinks that also drained very slowly. Overall though, this hotel is amazing for the value and I would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX.

Good Hotel close to the beach

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Friendly Staff Great location Valet was very punctual Hot water was HOT++ Comfortable Bed, Quality linens Cold A/C ++
Cons: Breakfast was not filling Parking high @ $25/day Bath fixtures difficult to use Smallest Queen Bed I've seen Smallish Rooms
We were overall pleased with our stay here. Easy walking distance to most everything in Waikiki. Easy exit from Waikiki to the rest of Oahu. The Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Complementary Beach Towels, Mats, Boogie boards with no limits on usage was a ++.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by Samantha L., Hotel Management
Aloha Mike, Thank you for taking the time to review The Vive Hotel Waikiki! We sincerely appreciate your kind words on our enthusiastic staff, location, and amenities! From all of us at The Vive Hotel, we hope we have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the near future and wish you a warm aloha! Warm regards, Samantha
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room key was not working

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: room door and key
Location: close to beach and shopping area.
The location is good, and the hotel lobby is nice, staffs are friendly and helpful, But that's it!!! The room is small, hair drier is tiny and not work very well. Make sure you are patient enough when you try to open the door, because the room key is not working. We booked two rooms, for both rooms, the room keys were not working frequently. We wend to front desk to change the key for three times, and still the same thing, you have to try so many times in order to open the door, which is SUCKS. It was so frustrating, not a pleasant experience at all. Will never go back in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by Samantha L. , Hotel Management
Aloha L, We greatly appreciate your review on The Vive Hotel Waikiki! We are pleased that you enjoyed our pleasant staff, location, and lobby. However, we genuinely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with your room keys. We kindly want to inform you that we have routine maintenance performed on all guestroom doors and a quality assurance system set in place in regards to key issuing making such incidences extremely rare. Therefore, we sincerely apologize for the seldom occurrence of your keys not working and we are taking the appropriate measures to ensure it does not happen again in the future. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you have a beautiful day! Warm regards, Samantha
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Four star hotel with five star service.

Posted Apr 29, 2015
It was amazing. The rooms was modern and clean. It was small with partial view of the ocean. But what took the cake was the staff. It had better service than any five star I ever attended. They really went all out. KC the concierge was a pleasure to work with and got all of or events sorted very efficiently. The front desk was always there with all the help we needed. Parking is not include anywhere in Oahu. Here it was an extra 25 a day. The valets were great and pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Location great, staff most accommodating, no wait elevators! Beach gear provided. bathroom pretty tight Price was right very wothwhile stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2015
This Hotel Is So Sweet. Nice Cold Pineapple Juice Upon Arrival With Ice Cold Towels That Smell Wonderful. Staff Is Amazing And Super Helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

really good value and easy to go anywhere

Posted Apr 29, 2015
It is a really nice hotel. All staff is really nice and helpful. It is close to the beach, bus stop, and places to eat. I will definitely stay again and recommend to my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Qc

Great location, nice staff

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: The location, the staff, and the comfy beds
Cons: The air conditioning units can let in a lot of street noise and the unit itself is loud
Location: There are plenty of restaurants near by and a tons of convenience stores and shops all around Waikiki.
We chose this hotel based on the positive reviews and we can say that we agree with what most people have commented. The hotel is located very close to the Waikiki Beach and very center to everything. The rooms are on the smaller side, but we didn't mind. There isn't a gym or pool, but you get plenty of exercise walking around and the beach is right there. The staff was super friendly. The free coffee and tea in the lobby is available all day and it's a nice touch. We were able to get beach towels and beach mats whenever we wanted from the front desk. We had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Good breakfast & location
Cons: Need some building renovations.
The room was clean in general but too narrow & the bed was not comfortable.