Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long beach Calif.

Love the location and views I had.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
the air conditioner could be a bit more quiet. The daily continental breakfast was. Awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga. NZ

Nice hotel in good location. Bit noisy.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Coffee making facilities in the room.
Location: Beach, shops and bus stops.
Overall it was very good. I would have liked coffee and tea making facilities in the room, also no restaurant, but there was a small fridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Perfect hotel for us, would stay here again!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
After reading the positive reviews before booking this hotel, i can confirm that they were very true. We went to Hawaii to relax at the beaches and enjoy the peace and beauty of the nature. No need for a pool, gym or a big hotel room etc. This hotel has no resort fee and has a great breakfast! Room is small but very comfortable. The beach is only about a 3 minute walk and they supply you with free towels , mats and bodyboards! The staff is young and professional and this adds to the nice vibe. Overall great experience, but AC could be a little less loud and our swimwear wouldnt really dry. No big deal anyway. Thanks Vive!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Modern hotel in paradise

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The modern design was on point! Love the decor. Bed was very comfortable. Loved the complimentary breakfast and beach supplies it helped a lot!
Location: 2 minute walk to the beach and downtown shopping. Little shopping market close by. Tons of delicious restaurants. Snorkeling, surfing, swimming!!
Beautiful decor! The staff was so polite and helpful. Greeted at door with tropical juice and cold towels to cool off... They took our bags up for us while we checked in. Complimentary breakfast buffet was very filling we ate at hotel every morning. Complimentary towels, beach mats, chairs, boogie boards!!! It was a very short walk to beach it only takes 2 minutes. We were so pleased with the overall experience the staff definitely made us feel like we were in paradise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Great good surprise in Waikiki

Posted Sep 6, 2014
We had a great good surprise in our first trip to Hawaii. Vive Waikiki hotel is amazing: facilities, staff, location, etc....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Excellent hotel - recent complete renovation

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: location, breakfast, lobby design, room condition, cleanliness of the room
Cons: parking could have been cheaper
Location: Try Makittii buffet - you would be surprised how good the their steaks and poke ahi are!
It was a great experience - the location is just great in the center of Waikiki. The hotel is close to everything - the beach (3 mins walking), bus stop to Diamond head (bus #2) and Makittii buffet restaurant ($20/person dinner with great food variety). The hotel is new, very fresh and look very modern. The lobby is nicely decorated, there is good music playing during the breakfast and whole day through. The breakfast is pretty light but good enough - croissants, local buns and cakes of 3-4 different kinds, tropical fruits (melon, watermeon, pineapple, oranges), pineapple juice, iced water, tea and coffee. Tea and coffe served all day long. Rooms are renovated and look modern and new. The size of the rooms and bathrooms is pretty small (250 square feet in total) but it didn't bother us at all. They have queen rooms of the same size - no matter if they face the ocean or a street. The conditioner was a bit loud but again - didn't bother us too much. Street noise is almost negligible. There is no swimming pool - having this beautiful ocean - NO regrets at all. Parking is $25/day but you can always park overnight on Kalakaua Ave ocean side - where Monsarrat Ave starts onwards (about 10 minutes walking from the hotel). There is another public parking for $20/day or $12/night at the crossing of Kuhio Ave and Kaiulani Ave (1 minute walking from the hotel). Diamon Head trip is worth spending half a day - go there at 3pm and you won't see huge crowds of tourists. Take sunscreen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Great experience we enjoyed the atmosphere in the lobby and the very responsive and friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: House keeping could be improved. Some days they did a wonderful job and others it was sort of rushed and partially done.
Location: This hotel is located near best beach areas, lots of shopping and walking distance to the zoo which was a pleasant surprise.
If you are use to staying in a hotel like the Hyatt, Sheraton or Marriott, this may not be the hotel for you. Normally we do stay in these sorts of hotels, but our trip this past week to Honolulu was sort of a last minute decision and we tried to keep cost down. Hotel could not be better situated. Literally two blocks from the beach and the best beach area. Close to all the shopping and close to all sorts of wonderful restaurants. Room was small, but comfortable. Bathroom is extremely small, so if you are someone who needs lots of bathroom space, this hotel may be a problem. We were gone at least 10 hours a day so the room wasn't that important, but it had everything you could need. The staff was more than friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. Perks: free breakfast everyday. Consist of pastries, toast, fruit and coffee. Quite nice. They also offer free beach towels, mats , boogie boards and beach chairs DAILY. No extra charge. Every day after being at the beach we came back, showered and changed and were back on the strip with all the other tourists having dinner, shopping and just enjoying our stay. We highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Very conveniently located

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Hotel is coveniently located to everything - buses, beach, restaurants. It is very clean and front desk is very helpful and friendly. They can change your larger notes to smaller currency e.g.for bus fare etc. The room is a little small but sufficient for 1. I liked that it had no resort fees, free wifi and also included continental breakfast with a variety of seasonal fruit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

VIVE Hotel ... I love it !

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Close to everything. We enjoy walking, so the not full block to beach was nothing. Really enjoyed our room (JR. Suite) Very nice b-fast.
Cons: I guess I can say, to change it up a bit with the breakfast menu. Although all was fresh, more of a variety would have been great.
Location: OMG ! Walking distance to everything. Restaurants, stores, beach ... again, we enjoy walking, so this was not an issue. Try BBQ ME across st. delish
This is our 2nd time in Waikiki, and boy did we hit GOLD when we reserved this hotel. After reading many reviews, we decided to go ahead. No regrets. Will definetly stay here again. The staff AMAZING ! Very professional and super friendly. Location AMAZING ! Walk straight ahead to beach. The hotel does supply you with towels, boggy boards and beach chairs. You have everything you want near by, restaurants and plenty of shopping. Vive offers complementary breakfast, pastries,coffee,tea,nice fresh fruits. You can also ask them for ice, if you need for beach cooler. For those cerial eaters, ABC stores literally every corner. We were upgraded from arrival to Jr.suite ... THANK YOU ! Loved it, soooo spacious and comfortable. Regular room very nice as well, would have been very happy with it as well. You can park at Vive at a very reasonable rate. Love the lobby's d├ęcor. I do NOT have anything negative to say about this hotel.