Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel location perfect

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Comfortable and easy walking distance to beach (2 blocks)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Overall stay

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Although I gave vive a 3 star this place is really nice to stay for its friendliness, clean lounge, and modern appeal. The only thing that it lacked was a pool, bar, fitness room, spa, and free parking. If you're looking for an adventurous stay in hawaii, this is perfect. If you're looking to rest then I wouldn't recommend it for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff are great, not a fan of the room layout

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Staff were all excellent
Cons: Room layout
Location: 2 blocks from the beach
The staff get 11/10 from me for being friendly, helpful, polite, and attentive. The lobby is decorated nicely. The room itself is what I didn't like. It's like a dorm room. The bathroom door slides (doesn't lock), and has no vent. This becomes a problem at night because the bathroom door is right beside your head and next to the bed. The other problem is that the AC unit is nowhere near the bed, so you can't get any cool air on you at night (you just gotta crank it down during the day I guess to cool the whole room down). Also, the breakfast is very skimpy. Croissants and bread and jam and fruit. Some milk and cereal or yogurt would have been sooo much better (which we ended up buying from Safeway and having in our room). But the price was right, and location was decent (two blocks from the beach), I'd stay here again if I had the same budget.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Extremely small room

Posted Jul 27, 2014
The room was extremely small. It had modern furnishings however when your luggage is in the room you barely have space to move around. We had to crawl over our luggage to look out the window and to get to the bathroom. There was no one willing to help us with our luggage and didnt even hold the door open so we could get our luggage in or out. You also have to pay extra for everything. Water in your room is extra, use of robes in your room extra. I expected more for the fairly high price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aiken,Sc

Hawaiian Service At It's Best

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Service,Decor and Location:Great
Cons: Just Ensuring $100.00 Deposit Explained
Location: Hotel Located Downtown Close To Everything:Great Location
My brother and I stayed at the Vive Hotel:The Service Was Great:Vive Is In A Great Location:To The Left Is The Beach and To The Right Is The Canal:All The Stores and Shops Are Close To Downtown Area:Everything In Walking Distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice boutique hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Hotel staff very friendly. Hotel was close to the beach and Waikiki shopping life. Would recommend for those who need a solid place to sleep and come back to while having a lot of outdoor/touristy activities,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Satisfied stay in this Hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, clean rooms, being so close to the beach, breakfast
I don't usually write reviews, but with this hotel, I didn't want to miss the opportunity to express our satisfaction, clean rooms and surroundings, nice continental breakfast which includes tropical fruits; all personnel are very friendly and helpful. Hotel is so close to the beach, that takes only about 2 minutes walking and they provide you with towel, chairs, boogie boards or matts if you need to, and last but not least, they hold our baggage after checked out, while we spend the rest of the day at the beach, since our flight was until 10:00 pm and provided us with one hour complimentary guess room for us to take a shower and change our cloths before the airport shuttle arrived, you just need to reserve it the day before. I will recommend this hotel to my friends and family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Excellent customer service

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Overall what people have written about this hotel is on par with how our experience was too. Great staff - always friendly, willing to help etc. Rooms were of course, tiny as expected but the essentials were there and we were fine with that. The bed was comfortable and we had a good sleep almost every night. The only down side was on our third night; around 4 in the morning there seemed to be some kind of alarm/warning that came in through the PA system telling us that there has been an accident of some sort and that we needed to exit the building. To be honest, I was in a tad panic mode as it woke us up and we grabbed what we could (passport, phone, laptop) in case it was a fire. From the 15th floor that meant we had to take the stairs. By the time we got down, we found out it was just a false alarm. So when we finally got back up to our room (by way of stairs) the same announcement came back on, which was tad annoying. We didn't bother to go back down again. Anyway, besides that experience, we still had a great time at the hotel and I would definitely go back. You definitely get a bang for your buck staying at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

A nice hotel close to the beach and Volcano.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The fresh fruit and the location, and how large the room was.
Cons: The windows and the A/C units are old, not isolating and noisy. One morning, a person smoked outside his window and the smoke came into our A/C unit.
Location: I did a 1h run along the beach and on the Diamond Head Rd. around the Volcano every morning,and went twice up the Volcano, an extra 30-40min hike.
We had a large room (a junior suit) with an ocean view which was very nice, but it came with 2 A/C noisy units in the windows. We were tired enough and jet lagged so they did not disturb us as much as we first feared. The shower and bathroom areas were spacious which was very nice. There was only one shelf in the closet and two drawers and very few hangers, but this was again something we were bothered with only when we unpacked. Once we settled in and found some ways of storing our things (the drawers were large and the closet and bathroom large enough to allow for some creativity with the storing) it seemed less of an issue. Relative to some other hotels (Hilton and such) it seemed very scarce though. The breakfast was great, it had about 4 types of fruit daily, which I enjoyed very much, also some pastries and muffins, my husband liked those. It is one block away from the beach and 1 hour run around Diamond Head which I liked to do in the mornings, so for us it was a perfect location. So all in all, a good hotel for us, I would probably be happy to go there again, mainly for the availability of the fresh fruit in the morning and the location, and for being a bit less pricey that, say, the Hilton next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Service Good; Location Good

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Cons: Maybe the shower head; water was not strong enough
Hotel location might seem far from the beach, but it only takes less than 5 mins walk. Great breakfast service, juice, coffee, bread, croissant, fruits..you name it. This hotel is newly renovated, room is very clean. Staffs are friendly and nice, they make you feel welcomed every time you return; Not like some other Hotels' staffs trying to avoid eye contacts. The only down side to me was the construction noise in the morning, my unit was at 8th floor and there was construction going on in the parking lot. Overall, I would recommend this Hotel to my friends and family.