Ratings based on 570 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aus

Great location

Posted May 20, 2015
This hotel is a short walk to Waikiki and numerous great restaurants. There is also a bus stop right next door that will get you to Diamond Head and other locations. The staff were very helpful and even provide towels and chairs for the beach. Room is cosy and we had a fantastic view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Very convenient and affordable - would stay again!

Posted May 18, 2015
The staff were so friendly and helpful. Just a short walk from Duke's statue but would definitely stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC

Its located well .

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: its close to beach
Cons: Room service & house keeping
Location: very good location , a lot to do around that area
Well my wife is a diabetic , so as soon as we arrive she put her insulin in a plastic zip lock & put them in room fridge also we had some left over food from night of arrival that I put in the same fridge (to add a note the fridge was on its MAX ), next day morning we left, when we came back in afternoon they had trown away her insulin & food from fridge ? when i called the front desk he said that the fridge is not cooling enough to store any food , MAY be that's why they trow out the food , I said first of all they are not suppose to touch anything in fridge , but I don't care about the food I want back the insulin , he says that I don't know, will call the house keeper & will call me back , but never called me back !!! Once when I was down stairs front desk I asked a girl about this & she said sorry I don't know . So are they suppose to clean the fridge & trow out stuff or fix the fridge ?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Good hotel, great location

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Staff are great, rooms comfortable and great location.
Cons: A bit more soundproofing between rooms that have joining doors.
Location: The location is central and 2 minutes walk from Waikiki beach and shops. Bus stop next door to go to Ala Moana centre. Walk to the zoo etc
Stayed at the Vive Hotel Waikiki for 9 nights. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable even if it was a little small. Bathroom also good. The free breakfast we had was okay and the fruit was good. However, no-one does coffee like in Australia so can't recommend that. The hotel was a 2 minute walk to Waikiki beach which is no big deal and there is a bus stop a few metres away to go to the Ala Moana centre, Pearl Harbour and elsewhere. Good hotel in a great central location. Value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Europe

Just perfect small hotel

Posted May 17, 2015
Great small Hotel , only like 2 minuts walking distance from Waikiki beach. We found this hotel perfect fit for our needs. Rooms are smaller but you definitely dont go to Hawaii to spend your time in a hotel room, so be activ theres so many activities you can do. They also have breakfast included , i call it Light breakfast since theres no meat , but a lot of fresh fruits , toasts, all kind of pastry etc. Would definitely come back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

10 days in Waikiki

Posted May 17, 2015
Room is small but you won't be staying in your room during your trip to Hawaii so it was okay with us. Fridge was not cold and there's a sign in the fridge saying that. We bought a cooler to take to the beach and we filled it up with ice and kept our food cold in it overnight instead. The staff was friendly and informative. We liked that there was always free drinks at the lobby all the time. Continental breakfast was nice in the mornings. Just bread, muffins, juice and fruits. Enough to get you by for the morning. We likes that you can ask for towels, boogie boards and beach chairs. Location was great. Close to everything and close to a bus stop as well. Beach is only a five min walk. Overall a good stay. You get what you pay for in terms of room and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA, USA

Definitely recommend! Excellent value and service.

Posted May 17, 2015
Staff was courteous and excellent, facility was clean and up to date, room was clean and cozy, bed was comfortable, ac worked fine, and breakfast was delicious. Just 2 blocks from the beach, and they provide free beach mats and towels. The price is unbeatable. The boutique nature of this place makes it so that you don't have hordes of tourists all over the place. Loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Location was everything

Posted May 16, 2015
Positives: This hotel was in a great location. It was a quick walk to the beach, shops, food. There was always someone available at the front desk and always friendly. You can borrow beach towels, beach mats, little fold out beach chairs and boogie boards! Location was everything for us because we hardly spent time in our room. Its very clean and new. Theres valet parking for $25 a night with unlimited in and out priviliges. Negatives: the rooms are super small but enough for a couple. We had a standard room with an ocean view on level 17 that just meant your facing the beach but dont expect a full ocean view because the other towering hotels infront block most of that view. It also gets wuite stuffy so we'd leave the aircon on when we'd leave. Bathrooms are tiny but again it was enough for us. There also isn't a pool or gym which is ok because if you want a swim you can walk down to the beach. Overall it was a nice hotel. Everything looks brand new and boutique chic. I would recommend this place for comfort, location and the cost. If you want a beach front you have to pay for it of course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth, Western Australia

Much better than we had expected

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Good night's sleep, location, great staff
Cons: Breakfast in bed is all I can think of. Everything else is great
Location: Less than 5 minutes from Waikiki Beach; 10 - 15 minutes casual stroll to Duke's; bus stop next door if you choose to use public transport
I have rated this hotel as excellent because it offered much more than we expected. We chose this hotel based on price (on the beach was $1200 - $1400 per night) and trip advisor ratings. We were 3 blocks from the beach and paid a much more modest and affordable rate. Mind you, this was less than 5 minutes walk to Waikiki Beach so no problem for us. The hotel itself was a pleasant surprise, from the warm welcome we received to the quality of our room. Yes it was not 5 star, but we didn't want nor did we expect 5 star. Our room was large enough, very clean, and most importantly, very comfortable. Our beds were nice and soft and we had no problem getting good nights sleep. Continental breakfast was included and whilst it did not include cereal, the selection of buns, croissants, and fruit was more than sufficient. The staff could not have been more helpful, especially KC on the concierge desk who we felt went far beyond what we would normally expect from a concierge. Overall. the Vive Hotel was better than we expected and together with the quality of their staff, made for an enjoyable holiday. We would certainly stay there again and have no issue in highly recommending it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Location,value for monet
Cons: perhaps a larger breakfast selection..cereal sachets and yoghurts
ideal location with basic amenities.we would recommend couples staying more than 2 days to upgrade to a junior suite for a more comfortable stay.position re ease to transport and close proximity to main beach and entertainment precinct are all a big plus.no pool but hey,there is the pacific ocean only a block away...great value for money!!