Ratings based on 805 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maui

Very nice!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Close to ala moana and convention center. Several restaurants nearby. Friendly staff and nice room.
Cons: Newer tv. It's a square box tv instead of larger flat screen.
Location: Near ala moana mall and convention center. Close enough to walk. Outback and red lobster 1 block away.
We enjoyed the stay. It exceeded our expectations. We stayed 5 nights and would definitely stay again. Everyone was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rio Rancho, NM

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Nov 21, 2014
My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai for 7 nights. I picked this hotel after reading reviews on Expedia, Yelp, and other web sites. It is an older hotel and the room was a little bit dated if you are the type of person that is particular about that type of thing but if, like me, you are not, and your biggest concerns are cleanliness, location, and functionality, then this is definitely a great place to stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I thought the room was rather large, the bed was really comfortable, and I loved having a full kitchen. Although we didn't cook, having a full size refrigerator we could stock with water and snacks and the ability to heat up leftovers or items purchased at the farmer's market as well as having all the kitchen supplies, including things like paper towels and dishwashing liquid provided was great. Also, there is a laundry room available on the same floor and a couple of packets of laundry detergent supplied as well. Had I known that I might have packed a little lighter. I also liked the location, it was on the quieter side of Waikiki beach which I considered a positive, I enjoyed the lagoon next door. We were able to walk all up and down Waikiki beach as well to restaurants and shops and the Ala Moana Shopping Center and only used our rental car for longer trips. I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Close to Great shopping

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Rooms & location
Cons: Bigger pool area.
Location: Shopping close, beach at door, restaurants all you need.
Suited us perfectly. We didn't want to be in the middle of Waikiki beach but close enough to frequent and also close to Ala Moana Shopping Centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Great location and quieter than the beach end

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Liked that the hotel was close to the shops and food pantry also trolley stopped right outside and the pink line trolley was $2 a trip down to Waikiki
Cons: Noisy air conditioning
Location: Shopping, beach, and more shopping
Booked into a studio apartment with free wifi and full kitchen. Stayed 8 nights and it was a great holiday at the IIikai. A short walk to Ala Moana shopping and a trolley ride down to Duke's. A lovely deep pool and shade in the morning and then a short walk to lagoon or beach for a dip in the sea. We took a helicopter flight over the island booked for us by the lovely Laurie. For us it ticked lots of boxes for a ho;liday break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

A great apartment-like hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Having a full kitchen and laundry facilities in a comfortable suite was fantastic. I could get meals from the convenience store in the hotel to save money. The hotel staff were very helpful so I learned how to take buses around Honolulu. Overall, the hotel contributed to a very nice stay on Waikiki.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom richmond, bc, canada

First time in Honolulu - we did not want to leave!

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: everything! Location. Clean. Staff is very nice and helpful
very nice place to stay. Close to the beach, very clean. Full kitchen with everything you may need and more, including toaster and blender. They did not have kettle in the room, I called the front desk and asked for one- they brought it in 5 min! Our safe did not work - we called- in 5 min it was fixed! Beautiful room, partial ocean view- the best place to watch firework Friday night! Did not really use the pool- less than 5 min walk to the beach. Internet was working properly all the time. Rented car through the hotel- they have a special service for booking cars and entertainment - which was significantly cheaper than in car rental compaly directly. Very happy! Our flight back home was very late at night, we rented a car in the morning, went for a drive around the island, and returned it in airport - and paid much less using hotel booking service. Did not want to leave...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New zealand

Love the hotels location and it's charm over many

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Very friendly atmosphere
Cons: Maybe deck area could do with update?
Location: Beach,Ala Moana Park,Ala Moana Shopping centre & Waikiki area
Have been staying at the Ilikai over the last 35 years and one of our favourites charm,quiet,location,friendleness and accessablity to almost eveything in HNL especially the Beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen Scotland

30th Anniversary in Hawaii:-)

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Like that there is a kitchen, nice big lanai and lots of room in the apartment. Also there are laundry facilities on every floor.
Cons: Air conditioning in the lobby and elevator. Also the rooms are in need of an update as they are looking shabby.
Location: Location is excellent for bus and trolley stop. Just far enough away from the hustle and bustle.
5tht time in Hawaii and we just love it. So much happiness there. You can explore the island as there is lots to do or it is a fantastic place to chill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NS Canada

Decent hotel close to the beach.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
The hotel from the outside is a bit dated but inside the Ilikai suites which is where we were staying is nice and updated. You have to check in on the second floor not the main floor check in. It is very close to the beach and there is a nice lagoon area just behind the hotel at the Hilton Hotel. We found the downside was it seemed liked we were always walking from here because the beach, shops,etc are better farther down and this hotel is at the start of Wikiki beach. After using the trolleys and buses we were able to let out feet have a rest some days.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Promising specs, yet confusing to locate and dated

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: We liked the location...we liked the hotel staff...we liked the speediness of the elevators...valet pick was fast...the kitchenette was nice to have.
Cons: read above.
1st, the location of the property was totally confusing...as the signage that point to the hotel was not prominent at all...circled around the hotel and had to call in order to get directions to the hotel. 2nd...the only option for parking your rental car at the hotel is VALET ONLY FOR $28 a night! SO...if you're planning to go in and out twice a day to explore the island which is probably why you rented a car,then you're paying $34 a night tip at least $3 for every pick-up. If you're not renting a car..then you won't have an issue here. 3rd.we walked to the hotel front desk....only to be told our 'resort' rental check-in is on the 2nd floor....so we went to the second floor....and saw signs for a resort sale office for the hotel..since that was the only prominent sign...we walked down a long hallway...which looked like a hospital hallway, no joke. we got there..and it was a room of sales people thinking we wanted to purchase a condo in the hotel....what the heck....we were then pointed into another direction in the total opposite side of the floor....4th.after getting checked-in by some REALLY nice folks....we got to our room..and ...we walked into a humid, hot and damp room because the AC wasn't on... isn't that usually a standard when you walk into a hotel room or resort room? To have the AC on in preparation of our visit? Fifth...the room itself was ok...if you don't mind facing heavy traffic souand other high rise buildings. NO option to upgrade to ocean view at all