Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Dated but clean hotel near to hiking and rafting.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The hotel is dated but the staff is friendly and everything is very clean, the showers seem to have been replaced recently. The first floor smelled of mildew and faintly of cigarettes but the other floors did not have any odor. Do not waste your time on room service. We spent $40 on pretty much two frozen dinners. Besides that the pool was in nice condition but not deep or big- good for kids not adults. Hot tub was nice though. All in all I would say if your going to be outside most of your day, this is a great hotel for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gastonia,nc

Nice hotel close to town staff very helpfull

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: the pool
Location: close to town
had to call the front desk and get maintaneance to assist getting hot water in the shower. they were very prompt about it.other than this clean room and friendly staff and clean pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from Moneta, VA

Great place to stay while exploring the Gorge!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Everything was clean and comfortable. The desk staff were helpful, knowledgeable of the area, and courteous.
Cons: Brighter lighting in the reataurant during breakfast would have been nice.
Location: New River Bridge and Gorge Trams and "jetboats" on the New River, accessible from Hawks Nest Lodge Smokey's Restaurant is beautiful!
The hotel is actually in Oak Hill, several miles from the New River Gorge bridge. The hotel is close to Rt. 19 which leads to and from the Gorge. The included breakfast was better than most mid-level hotels-fresh, hot, varied, and delicious! We enjoyed talking to our waitress, who asked us, after seeing that both my husband and I have walking issues, several times whether we wanted anything else, filling our coffee and getting my husband more bacon, which was cooked perfectly. I saw that this hotel accepts pets with an additional fee, so we may bring our small dog with us next time.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for an over night .price for what it was

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Hot tub was nasty .pool was merky.no racquet ball.refrigerator wasn't cold ..staff was nice .just needs better management.game room out dated
1 out of 5
by Carl from Nashville, TN

Turned away for a pet at a "Pet Friendly" hotel

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Desk Staff, Policy clarity for staff and guests, Policies seem to be in desperate need of review and/or revision, update policies on websies
I was born and raised in this area and I am only able to get back "home" about three times a year. I booked this room for it's location and the website stated that it was "Pet Friendly". I called around 4:30 pm to inform the hotel that I would be arriving late but would be there. The third shift clerk canceled my reservation in order to run her audit. She allowed us to check in and sent us to a room which the keys didn't work for. After walking to the office and getting a second set of nonworking keys we were told that they would have to move us to a different room. During this time my fiance asked for a small bowl in order to give our cat some water and that is when we were told that we would have to leave because they didn't allow cats. "Pet Friendly" and "Pets Welcome" was found on the website of the hotel, Expedia, and Trulia at "Limit 2 per room not to exceed 40 pounds" but NOTHING about "We take everything but cats". The clerk informed us that getting us into a room would take a managers approval and since one wasn't there then we would have to leave. I am still being charged for the entire stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted May 26, 2014
Second time staying here and would stay again! Clean room, kind staff, and great location!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the nursing home

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: the staff was very nice
Cons: update everything
Really old building, smells like old carpet. The staff was very nice, very helpful. It's the only hotel in that area of Oak Hill and the price was $50.00 cheaper than Beckley.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Room was clean, breakfast was good
Cons: Front desk staff rude
Location: Pizza Hut next door
We rated the hotel staff as a 3, but if it was just based on the women that checked us in upon our arrival and out upon our departure, the rating would have been a 0. Both women were so rude. However, the staff in the dining area during the complimentary breakfast could not have been any nicer or accomodating. The dining room staff should be moved to the front desk!! Overall, our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the pool was warm and clean, and the breakfast was better than breakfasts we've had at reputable large hotel chains. Overall, it was a fine place to stay for 1 night stay to sleep after a long day of driving.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was OK

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Location: Not a whole lot around the area, other than white water rafting and some hiking opportunities. Plenty of restaurants within 15-20 minutes drive.
Nothing special. No weird odors, rooms were clean, bathroom was adequate, etc, etc. The hotel had many more amenities that we didn't try due to only being there one night. Wife did go to the fitness center and was impressed as they have nice equipment, including a few free weights. They had a small indoor pool and hot tub that we didn't try out. Overall, not a bad experience.
2 out of 5
by Dan from Washington DC

Aging hotel--could do better

Posted Apr 21, 2014
The hotel is ok for an overnight stay. The room was clean and the staff was courteous. However, the facilities are aging badly and in serious need of updating. As we arrived at Oak Hill WV, we realized that there were some newer chain hotels about 15 minutes away in Beckley, WV--charging similar rates for much newer facilities. We cut short our stay and changed our reservations to a hotel in Beckley. When you compare price, this hotel is not a good deal and certainly does not stack up to the competition.