Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mary from Indianapolis

WONDERFUL experience!

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
No stone was left unturned to make our visit special: real flowers in vases; a tray with chocolate-covered raisins, cashews, and short pretzel sticks; a caraffe with water and two glasses, access to the library, the living room (complete with a tray of bourbon, etc., for us to enjoy), and the upstairs hall area. The whole building sparkled. The bedding and towels were luxurious. The decor was over-the-top--and I'm a decorator! Breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, home-made breads, an amazing egg dish the first morning, and steel-cut oats the second morning, served with fruits, nuts, raisins, and cinnamon. The link sausage and raisin toast was a nice addition. Breakfast was served when WE wanted it, and they even accomodated our desire to have a later breakfast on Sunday, after we got back from church. We were staying there because our son who lives in Oak Park didn't have room for us at the house, but I could certainly see coming back for our own visit and taking the walking tour of Frank Lloyd Wright's houses. The neighborhood is incredibly beautiful--of course, it was spring, and all the spring flowers and trees were in bloom--with gorgeous mansions and beautiful gardens to enjoy on a walk or run. All in all, we really were made to feel special, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Cambridge UK

superb in every respect

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Everything: absoloutely no downside to staying here
Cons: Given the obvious trouble that Charles takes it would be rude to suggest any improvements!
Location: perfect for visiting Oak Park historic properties
WE stayed 2 nights here in order to visit the Frank Lloyd Wright houses in Oak Park. Charles is a gracious host who cooks superb breakfasts. Very comfortable room in a beautiful house ( almost a minor stately home.......) which is spotlessly clean and in a beautiful part of Oak Park. Remarkable value for money. Faultless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by F.T. R. from Chicago, Illinois

Paradise

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Dreams are made about this type of hotel stay. It was wonderful! The professionalism and attention to detail are found only in the world's great hotels. Yet, I felt so at home, I thought I was with my family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Barbara Hinkley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay Close to the City-But Not Too Close

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Bishops Hall is the epitome of class and comfort. If this seems like a pricey option for an Oak Park bed & breakfast I can assure you that the stay is worth every penny, and more. Chuck and Sam are wonderful hosts and have created a warm and inviting environment. My husband and I are from Chicago and stayed at Bishops Hall for a weekend getaway. The main floor, which is open to all guests, has a beautiful garden room, dining room, library and sitting room. The main floor would be a fantastic place to host a fundraising event, wedding shower, or baby shower, or any other classy event. The rooms themselves are exquisite. We stayed in the Coral and Blue Room, which is the largest of the three rooms, and is fully furnished with centuries old china and history books. The four-post bed is very comfortable, and the closet is a room in and of itself. Anyone staying here should also plan to spend a good portion of your visit in the bathroom. The shower is large, and also doubles as a steam room. The bathroom also hosts a cast iron tub, which makes for a wonderful bath. Bishops Hall is very conveniently located to the highway (if you are heading into the City) and many of Oak Park’s attractions. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in the Chicagoland area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elaine & Dick from Naples, FL

Elegant small B&B in the Estate Area of Oak Park.

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Every room was clean and decorated with exceptional good taste.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Located in the Landmark Estate Section of Oak Park, large mansions all around. Close to the Frank Lloyd Wright Studio, and downtown Chicago.
Bishop's Hall is a 3 bedroom B&B located in the convenient Estate Area of Oak Park. Close to public transportation and major expressways and the Chicago Loop via the El. The house is decorated with beautiful antiques and oriental rugs; the rooms are spacious; the 6 breakfasts we enjoyed were different every morning and each was delicious. The hosts, Chuck and Sam, made us feel at home, and gave us full access to the several rooms in this large residence, i.e. Library, Parlor, Music Room and common areas. The several guests we entertained were made welcome, and all were quite impressed. Looking forward to our next stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Bloomington IN

Awesome experience!

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Nothing
Location: Conveniently located outside of downtown Chicago. Close to excellent restaurants in Oak Park.
Awesome experience! Beautifully decorated home. The breakfast each day was spectacular. The proprietors -- Chuck and Sam were extremely welcoming and accommodating. Best bed and breakfast we've stayed at so far in Oak Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Impeccable

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Uber clean, very well designed rooms & art, with plush, comfortable bed, down comforter, & high quality cotton sheets. Hospitality was perfect -- discrete, yet everything thought of for guests. Breakfast included fresh grapefruit sectioned for us, homemade waffles with fresh fruit, cream, warm syrup and sausage. In an old Oak Park residential neighborhood of large homes and tree lined streets. Think long winter's nap -- a cocooned, nurturing stay that you won't want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Meg from Madison

the type of place you dream of...

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
I cannot overstate the uniqueness of Bishops Hall. Chuck's extraordinary sense of fine hospitality reminds me of my days as a child in Europe, he thinks of everything and makes it seem easy. Fantastic breakfast, lovely and comfortable room, wonderful bathtub, quiet sleeping. I felt like a dignitary staying at a foreign consulate.