Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eureka, CA

I would go back again

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Safe layout, parking near first-floor room possible for all rooms. Comparably reasonable price for quality level. Firm mattress.
Cons: Good coffee with real milk and honey. (I can't eat regular sugar or substitutes, but I bring my own honey.) Fix the air conditioning.
Pros: I really liked the closed-courtyard layout. It felt very safe for myself and my car. I could park very close to my room. About 3/4 of the rooms were street level; there was one second story building. The mattress was quite firm, which I liked. Some people have complained about the age of the buildings. However, having lived most of my life in pre-1930s homes, I find "old" comforting and didn't see what the problem was. Cons: If you prefer flatter pillows, bring your own. There's no breakfast, but I have many food allergies and can't eat most standard breakfast foods anyway. The coffee was bad, and all they have are powdered milk packets. Next time I would go out for coffee. There was a little coffee maker in the room, but I don't use those. The air conditioning didn't work, but there was a strong 3-speed fan that got the room cooled down, combined with opening the windows. On high, it was noisy, but I turned it off before I went to bed and the room stayed cool. I did hear train sounds in the early evening, but not after 8-8:30 PM. I would definitely stay here again because of the safe property layout and being able to park very close to the room. I am older and I really don't like having to haul my stuff up and down staircases. I listed all the "cons" in case those are important factors to anyone, but they are less important to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich M

STAYED HERE YEARS AGO AND CAME BACK

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: I like the price and the nearness to BART. This made travelling to the Oakland A's game and to San Francisco very easy.
Cons: The lock/keycards needs to be fixed in Rm 124. It was ok with me, once I figured out how to manipulate the card. Other patrons may not like that.
Location: Close to BART. What else can I say?
First of all, I had problems with the keycard. Instead of giving me another room, they advised me to keep trying. Out of four cards, I finally found one that worked. Minor problem. The room itself was comfortable, but was very warm because of a hot spell in the Bay Area. I understand that most residents of the Bay Area do not have AC, because of so few warm days. The wall mounted fan seemed to do the trick. Hopefully they will get the problem with the room keys/lock fixed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by jack

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Portland, Oregon

Nice motel for the price.

Posted May 24, 2014
This is a nice hotel for the budget price. It was clean and pleasant. The front desk staff were all friendly and helpful. We stayed for five days while we visited UC Berkeley. They have three separate buildings. One is right on the busy street and is probably very noisy. We stayed in the building which is away from the street, and it was quiet. The noise was probably blocked by the first building. The buses to UC Berkeley were easy to catch. The motel is on the corner of San Pablo and Cedar. From here you can catch the #52 bus, which goes to the campus, and then circles the campus. These buses don't come very often (about every 40 minutes). If you walk south on San Pablo for four long blocks to University, you can catch the #51B bus which comes quite often, and also goes to the campus.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Curtis from San gabriel Valley

close to UC berkeley

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room is small and smelly . toilet tank lid mismatch .and won't offer my AAA discount due to reservation booked thru HOTEL.COM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Sequim, Wa

A funky, relaxing, small old-school motor motel.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: I really liked how small town it felt. It was unpretentious and welcoming. The room had an vintage style ironing board cupboard that was cool.
Cons: It was cool weather so I would have liked additional blankets.
Location: It was close to the hip Shattuck area and I was able to walk to and from both that area and the Bart station. Easy, breezy.
It was a easy place to stay. I arrived late in the evening so I called to warn them, arrangements were made to pick up the keycard. I felt like I was staying in a small town motel or at a friend's place. The location was convenient for the workshop I was attending-I walked to the Shattuck area, through a pleasant neighborhood. The room was quiet and a little quirky. I felt totally at home.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by kathleen from woodland hills, ca

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Some of the guests could've been more respectful of others. They seem to gather outside at a picnic table and carry on very loud conversations. I bought some ear plugs for my next visit. Management could tell them to tone it down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex.S from Los Angeles

Good enough for rate

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Hotel seems a little older from the inside, but very clean.A bit noisey in the morning ,but not that bad.It was good enough for what needed it for .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex.S

Perfect

Posted Jan 20, 2014
A little old ,but clean .Hotel was perfect for are weekend stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Noisy Street..

Posted Jan 18, 2014
We visiting Cal, so were gone most of the day, but it was a very noisy street so it was hard to get a good nights rest. Beds were hard, shower water was lukewarm and low pressured. TV was a 19 inch miniature flat screen.