Ratings based on 363 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom eugene or

Car broken into and terrible customer service.

Posted May 17, 2015
One of the worst hotel experiences of my life. Drove all day and checked in around 11. I Wasn't expecting luxury and you definitely get what you pay for here. The real problem was when I woke up around 8 and found that my car windows had been smashed with cinder blocks. Luckily I had taken everything of real value inside with me but had to pay 300 dollars for new windows. The owner was incredibly rude and unhelpful and acted agitated that I had to wait in HIS parking lot all day to have my car windows fixed. I asked about the video recording devices and he told me that only the police had access to them... basically It would have been nice if he had let me stay in the room and have late checkout while I waited 6 hours for repairs but alas I was forced to sit on the curb by my car. Avoid this hotel like the plague. Don't choose a career in hospitality if you have none!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value in Berkeley

Posted May 5, 2015
Ive stayed here many times.Its quite a distance from downtown but the bus line runs right by it.I find it a good value and its comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Basic and Small

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Small and really bare bones. No place to put your stuff in the bathroom.
Location: Good pizza place two blocks away. Nice neighborhoods to run through
For the price it was a decent room in a good location. Close enough but not too far away. Small room but clean. Comfortable bed. Good for a business traveler paying their own expenses and not needing anything fancy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Simple, neat and clean

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Simple and clean
Cons: None
Location: Very convenience in town.
I like it and will go there again. it is a convenience location and people is very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Berkeley Inn.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
I checked in a little earlier that 3pm. The manager was very nice. My room was very clean. I didn't quite expect it to be so quiet and quaint. But it was. I dislike loud sounds. You can walk to the little town. I'd recommend this little Inn if you are like me. If I ever travel to Berkley again I will stay at the Berkley Inn. Thank you! Olive Hart. <3
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

decent for the price

Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels
Decent little spot. Friendly management were accommodating to the fact that I wasn't checking in till 5 am and extended the checkout free.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hillary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good for price paid

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
Berkeley itself is different - no big spaces, no big buildings, most businesses sharing walls. This Inn had no lobby (there is a check-in window in the hallway to one of the buildings, no pool, no bathtub (just shower), no coffeepot, no closet (just a hanger big enough to hang several hanging clothes from ceiling), no exercise room, and no restaurant or breakfast. However, it was clean, relatively quiet, had fresh towels and plenty of soap, shampoo, conditioner each day, beds made each day, and was right next door to a Moroccan café that had wonderful breakfasts (oatmeal, granola, lot of specialty egg dishes, lots of coffee and tea, pancakes, etc.) and wonderful lunches and suppers. For the price you pay, it was good. It claims to have wifi, and we could get wifi on our laptop computer, but for some reason we could never get wifi on our iphones or ipad. Berkeley itself has a crime problem, and you see bars on windows all around, but we didn't ourselves experience any problems at all with this.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alex

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Romeofrom Torrance, CA

Good hotel -for people on a budget

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels
We've stayed at this hotel before--several times. It is one of the the least expensive hotel --that's in a "good neighborhood" and in close proximity to UC Berkeley campus.Some of the rooms may have stained carpets,peeling paint(eg small areas near the bathroom floor),or stained bed covers( the bed sheets underneath are always clean.Besides, even expensive hotels do not change bed covers every time there's a new guest). The rooms are always clean. The area is quiet at night. You get cable channels like HBO. AC/ heater are in good working condition. Rooms also come w microwave & refrigerator. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, & there is a boutique shop next to the hotel that my wife goes to (she always buys something from there). My only complaint is that there are smoking & non-smoking rooms. Even though we always stay at a non-smoking room, we can still smell the cigarettes, when someone is smoking.To make it worse, some guests at the non-smoking rooms would smoke @ balcony area (this also happens at other hotels that we've stayed at)--I suppose the only solution is to stay at a hotel where ALL the rooms are non-smoking.This hotel is also about 1 1/2 blocks from Acme Bakery - where there's always a line of people waiting to buy freshly baked goods.We will be staying at this hotel again (or at our other favorite budget hotel)- on our next trip.