Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento CA

Good location and value

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: The convenient location to downtown Berkeley. Many choices for eating that are within walking distance and includes off street parking.
Cons: When the reconstruction is complete the motel will look better.
Location: See above on what I liked
The motel was clean comfortable and quiet. I would have gien it a 5 except that they are in the process of refurbishing the property so there was construction debris in places. When this process is complete, I'm sure the property will have a better appearance and no dumpsters around.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Office often locked. Late breakfast. Terrible food.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yuck

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Felt like a flee bag hotel. Worst place I have stayed in ever and it was not cheap to boot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ladera ranch

attend a welcome event at Cal

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Affordability and proximity to Cal.
Location: Excellent
We booked this place due to its proximity to Cal, which is our main reason of coming to Berkeley. The hotel is 3 blocks away, walking distance to Cal, since parking is expensive around the area. The hotel is close to traders Joe and walking distance to restaurants/fast foods. We did a lot of walking around, we felt safe doing it. Our hotel is decent, 2 beds, clean linens, freshly paint rooms, brand new shutters, flat screen TV, free wi-fi, to-go breakfast not continental, the lobby is under construction. We came in a bit early than check in time and the front desk personnel let us check-in, he is very pleasant and professional. The room is cramp for 4 people, but manageable, with the location you can not beat the price. There is microwave and fridge which is a bonus. I like the soap they have which is from san francisco soap company. Overall, decent, affordable, and practical.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocrity in Berkeley

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Great location just blocks from campus and BART.
Cons: Pretty much everything.
Hotel is under construction. Room was only partially painted and not particularly clean. Some of the furniture I looks as if it was pulled from a dumpster behind a dorm, stains and all. Water in shower surges hot and cold. I had to argue with the maid to get a packet of coffee for the room coffeemaker at breakfast. Breakfast room was locked for most of the morning, which was actually OK because the breakfast fare itself was below marginal. Oh, and the "coffee machine is broken", so there was no coffee. I'm not picky, and I'm not a neatnick, but even for me, this place was below the acceptable line. Way below.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent accommodation, convenient Berkeley location

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: General maintenance and cleanliness.
Two-night stay (two rooms) in March 2015 went smoothly enough, in terms of check-in and check-out. We did not have need for much interaction with staff, but they were pleasant enough, although the front desk person was not terribly helpful for recommending a restaurant.for a late-night dinner. The $1.50 per night charge for the room safe, eventhough it was never used, seemed tacky. There were renovations in progress, especially around the office area. This perhaps affected the breakfast offerings, which were meager at best. Rooms were comfortable though a bit on the small side (especially the bathroom), but with acceptable amenities (small refrigerator, flat-screen TV with free HBO). The main complaint was that the rooms are in need of better upkeep (although I've seen far worse). Carpets and upholstery on chairs appeared soiled and had visible stains. The bathroom towels were dingy looking and coarse. And the floor in the second floor room literally had several soft spots that sagged appreciably when stepped on (rotting floorboards?).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Only stay for one night, the room is kind of clean, but smells not good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland

Decent place to stay close to Downtown Berkeley

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Nice room, a quick walk from almost everything. I stayed there with my friend for a staycation 2 nights and it wasn't too bad. The only downsides were 1) the cleaning crew coming in the room at 8am; even though we yelled we were sleeping they came in anyway, then proceeded to argue loudly right outside the door. 2) the satellite channels kept changing what was available to watch; We were able to watch CMT on Friday night, but it was blocked for some reason on Saturday night. Continental Breakfast is a joke, but there's a Nations Burgers 1/2 a block away. Plus sides: Good water pressure, clean bed, clean bathroom, clean and working fridge and microwave, central location. Down Sides: lumpy pillows, not-so-great soundproofing, apparently deaf cleaning staff, kind of squeaky bed, room smelled like they were trying to cover-up something gross (WAY too much heavy-scented detergent and cleaners on the sheets, blankets, and bathroom), check-out time is noon but key cards stopped working at 11:30.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Berkeley

Posted Feb 2, 2015
It was fairly good. Good for the price!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location but old and smelly

Posted Jan 25, 2015
I wouldn't stay here again. paint peeling, bathroom stinks