Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor

Posted Oct 12, 2014
The smell of AJAX was the first thing that hits us like a bat when we entered the room. The towels had holes and were torn, the pillow cases were stained (post crime scene?), noisy and the "continental" breakfast a laughable joke. We paid less in the past for a 4 star hotel. If you can stay somewhere else, do it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Horrible neighborhood

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The room (although in overall shabby condition) was relatively clean and beds were fairly comfortable.
Cons: The price. Not sure how they can ask $159 per night(taxes and fees not included) for this dump
Location: There is nothing nearby except rundown looking businesses and homeless people
If you are visiting UC Berkeley DO NOT stay here. There is no point when for the same price you can stay at a garden hilton.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad room

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Very dirty carpet Smelly all the time No air out in bath room Water is very small and not warm enough during shower
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by T. Fisher from Pennsylvania

Close to UC Berkeley

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable urban motel which was very convenient to Berkeley. Smallish rooms but very clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Tatiana from Brazil

Great location

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel location is great, the bed is really comfortable, and the room size is good. Breakfast is really poor and the staff could be more polite and kind. If you don´t get up at 7, your room won´t be clean, housekeeping is too early.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Not worth it all stay elsewhere, run down building. Bad area
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The room was nice, not fancy.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: The location was nice for visiting the Berkeley campus. It was close but out of the center of all the activity. The hotel was surprisingly quiet.
Cons: The continental breakfast was just a bowl of cereal and a cup of coffee in the hotel lobby. Nowhere to sit and not worth the effort.
Staff was pleasant. Room was tidy. Parking was convenient.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chelsea from St Louos, Mo

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Needed some renovation and repair. Bathroom window latch was broken, so the window could not be locked. I rigged a system to keep window from being opened. Breakfast was bad - - watered down juice and packaged sweet rolls. There were no rolls at first, so when I mentioned it to the clerk, he got a few packaged rolls from the office and put them on the table. Not good. They ran out of coffee and did not make more . Would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by KC from Los Angeles

More than adequate

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The accommodations and service were fine. My only concern was that some of the other guests were noisy at all hours. Perhaps a sign would be helpful, reminding guests to be considerate.