Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in this price range.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
The room was clean and quiet and the location is superb: close to BART, the campus and many restaurant as well as Trader Joe's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pleasantly surprised by this motel better than some hotels in Berkeley. Room is neat, wifi working fast, free coffee, and fridge+Trader Joe's across the street a real bonus. Not to mention the great location.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Too much for nothing

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Was able to check-in early. No parking charge.
Cons: The rooms really need to be updated. Specifically, the beds, sheets, towels, carpet, shower, bathroom window, paint.
Location: Location is pretty good and close to the Berkeley campus. Gas stations and places to eat are walking distance.
I paid too much for a 1 queen room! Looks like Travelodge just bought-out this out-dated motel. What is updated? The door locks, TV, and windows…that's it. Automatically there's a stench in the air when you walk in, smelled like moldy carpet. This place has a later check-out than other hotels, 12:00pm, with a 2:30pm check-in. The front desk guy did let us check in early at 12:30 with no extra charge, so that was great since we had driven more than 6 hours to get to Berkeley. Although it was nice staying close to campus, looking back, I would have rather stayed further away in Emeryville. The only reason I stayed here was because all other decent hotels were all booked. I would not recommend this Travelodge unless they completely update their rooms. I actually did the check on my body to see if I had been bitten by bedbugs! Ugh, never again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Tahoe, CA

Decent motel close to UC campus

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to UC Berkeley campus & Greek Theater
Cons: The $119 + tax (about $145 total) price was a little high for the type of motel and size of room, but the central Berkeley location made it worth it.
Location: On University Ave, centrally located in downtown Berkeley, walking distance to UC campus, shopping, pubs & cafes.
Saw Jimmy Buffet concert at the Greek Theater on UC campus, and this motel was perfect location to park the car, walk a few blocks to the Triple Rock Brewery for cheeseburgers in paradise, then a few more blocks to the Greek. After the show, a leisurely stroll back to Margaritaville (aka Berkeley Travelodge) made for an enjoyable getaway! Older motel with small room & tiny bathroom, but everything was clean & functional, and clerk was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

Cheap and Easy

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Comfortable, clean, and cheap. Check in and out was fast and easy. Recommend this place for a cheaper alternative to staying in the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the Greek theater at UC Berkeley.

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Had tickets to see jimmy Buffett. This hotel was very close. No extra amenities or frills. But cheap. Breakfast is non-existent. Cold cereal. Didn't need fancy for the purpose of the stay. May stay here again if attending a concert but otherwise no way.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor

Posted Oct 12, 2014
The smell of AJAX was the first thing that hits us like a bat when we entered the room. The towels had holes and were torn, the pillow cases were stained (post crime scene?), noisy and the "continental" breakfast a laughable joke. We paid less in the past for a 4 star hotel. If you can stay somewhere else, do it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Manny was kind and nice staff. Just one thing, the room smelled weird. Everytime I opened the door it just hit me. Even I could smell the weird air in my clothes when came back.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christinafrom Los Angeles

Poor condition

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bed was comfortable, but the air conditioner sounded like a jet engine, and the bathroom had holes in the walls and significant water damage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels.com