Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close distance the event.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: quietness.
Cons: n/a
Location: a lot places to eat and drink.
Spent the day seeing the downtown Oakland. Seen a concert and eat at a great place dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: friendly staff, clean rooms that had been recently updated
Cons: vending machines that have snacks
Location: i was there for meetings and did not do any looking around.
The Clarion was a nice place to stay. The rooms are small, but nice. The staff was excellent: very friendly and responsive to my needs. There is a "hot" breakfast included with the usual buffet of breakfast foods. Parking is convenient, right next door in a fenced yard. The neighborhood was borderline, to me. I wouldn't go for an evening walk, but was able to walk to my meetings during the day comfortably.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worked for what I needed.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
We just needed to stay one night in downtown Oakland for the Warriors Championship Parade. It is just a couple blocks from the main Broadway steet and from Chinatown. The only thing I didn't care for is the somewhat unattended outdoor parking lot and the process to pay for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oakley, ca

Decent hotel. Great location.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Decent hotel in a great central location. Would recommend this hotel. Basic room but clean. You will need to pay extra for parking. Close to BART.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Good Value

Posted May 6, 2015
Cons: Elevator repair or replacement - extremely slow and sounded like it was going to fail.
Location: convenient downtown location convenient walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the Federal Building which was my destination.
Affordable price. Nearby Marriott double the price. Remodeled older building where my room wasn't much bigger than the double bed and had no view; but the staff was professional & friendly, convenient downtown Oakland location with affordable adjacent parking, and the hotel and rooms functional, comfortable and clean. Excellent Indian food in adjacent neighborhood family restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location of attending event at City Center

Posted Apr 30, 2015
After arriving 45 minutes before check-in time, waited close to 2 hours for it to be ready, people came in and checked in and got a room while still waiting. People came back down, room was not cleaned. Finally had to leave and come back, only to receive worst room in hotel, literally, the hotel venting system outside wall, circulates every 20 minutes for 20 minutes and vibrates whole wall with cool/heat unit - NO SLEEP. They did move me next night, it was better and they were polite, but that room should not be available and they know it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good value and quiet!

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Compared to other hotels I have stayed at in Oakland, this wins hands down for quietness. Everything else was good, not outstanding - rooms clean but small, breakfast unremarkable but free. Wifi seemed to be having some problems last day I was there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice People

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Lisa at the front desk was very nice and took care of me from check in to check out. She made my stay for my collegue and I very pleasant. I travel alot and meet many at the counters of hotels but I will remember her and the staff courdiousness.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lincoln from Clemson, SC

Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel had everything you need, plus it was clean and comfortable with a very reasonable room rate.