Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible management with no customer service

Posted Sep 3, 2014
The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful but the cleanliness of the room and subsequent response of the management was totally unacceptable. The bathroom was in general not very clean but our biggest complaint was that we found a syringe (capped but non-the-less- a syringe!) in the bathroom- the cleaning staff had obviously not done a good job and it alarmed us out that there might be other things they missed in the room. The front desk staff came up and removed it but said they couldn't move us because there were no other rooms that fit us. They said the manager would get back to us the next day with an apology and a reimbursement of some sort. The next day we heard nothing and so left our phone number. Now a week later we still have heard nothing. This was horrible customer service and we definitely would never stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is close I the downtown city center.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
It was fine. Parking is hard in the lot they provide. Spots are very narrow, especially for bigger vehicles.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Closet of a room.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
I stayed in a room with two twin beds. The room was substantially smaller than other rooms with queens or kings. Additionally, the window was tiny and designed to look directly into the room of another room. If I put my hand out the window, I could touch the other hotel room's window. If you like a cave the size of a closet, with no natural sunlight, this is your place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Tiny tiny room, no closet to hang clothes, no chair to sit on, no phone in the room. The room, however, was clean so that's a plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by David Monroe from Sacramento

Clean Hotel,great location

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Clarion is located perfectly in Downtown Oakland,for buses,Bart,food,etc.My room was very small,bed was so so...small rickety elevator(did the job) phone never working..noise level wasn't bad at all...front desk folks were nice but not overly helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
reasonably clean, closet-sized room with a view of a wall five feet away, no daylight. hairdryer missing - had to wait for new one - late for work. dialing '0' does NOT reach front desk per instructions, had to call from mobile phone. no cream for coffee. staff was respectful, but not the slightest bit solicitous. free "high-speed" Internet was less than 1mbs (download speed). very limited TV channel lineup. "hotel restaurant" was a dive with no American food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Center of Downtown

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Hotel staff great. Adjacent and connected restaurant Indian, so if you like Indian food it's right there. Secure parking costs 15.00 a night and is recommended rather than parking on street since you would have to move your vehicle by 8 am and could possibly be broken into. Two twin bed rooms very small, but clean and well-kept. If you plan on being out and about and just using the room for showering and sleeping instead of relaxing in hotel room, the hotel is a good choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Casey J from CA

Excellent staff

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was nice and clean and very affordable. I chose the Clarion based on its location to my destination in downtown Oakland. I arrived late at night and they were all prepared for me and had staff to open up the secured parking lot for me. The staff were wonderful that night as well as the next day. I would definitely stay here on my next trip to the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from CA

Convenient hotel downtown for simple biz travel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Clean, simple
Location: Golden Lotus vegan/vegetarian restaurant is one block away and outstanding
Room was dormitory-small; not a problem for simple use (sleeping, desk work, showering/dressing). Very basic but very clean. Did not have any trouble with facilities other than drainage of tub and sink (very slow). Did not personally enjoy the self-closing bathroom door, but understand the intent. Hotel staff courteously replaced my makeshift door-opener with a proper wooden wedge after first cleaning visit. No food options of course; otherwise seemed quite clean and well-maintained for a old building/hotel.