Ratings based on 814 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: upgrade quality. update d├ęcor. it is old and dingy
Location: easy walking to beach, and downtown and mall across the street.
this hotel has not been updated in many many years. while the staff was very pleasant and accommodating, there was an odor of some type when you walked inside the door. the rooms were made up (by housekeeping staff) very well and they were accommodating about more towels, etc. That being said the rooms and building itself was old and dingy which made the rooms seem less clean. If they were invest some money for new linoleum on the floors, better AC and maybe put a radio/alarm clock in the room, they may get better ratings.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

very nice and helpful staff.

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Very nice and helpful staff
Cons: Needs major renovations, new carpets, needs painting, furniture could be updated especially the beds
Location: Not much to do in town....big draw was it is close to San Francisco
Hotel was very dated, could use some major renovations. My bed was not very comfortable, had a tear in the bed linen, blanket had some red on it (looked like from a red inked pen) and could see a pad underneath the sheet and mattress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Apple Valley, Ca.

Great location!

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: The area, the room and the lake.
Cons: Make sure the sofa bed is not broke.
Location: Short walk to the beach, across the street is a wonderful shopping area.
Our room faced the little lake and was beautiful! The staff was friendly and the grounds were well maintained and lovely! The room was spacious and full of amenities! It was like having your own little apartment! It was also a nice quite area where you could enjoy your surroundings! I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Comfortable family accommodation. Inclusion of breakfast each morning made the stay financially beneficial. Loved the ferry ride into San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BOG

Nice and cheap

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: breakfast
Location: I stayed there because I wanted to do a lot in San Francisco, it is not very near but all you need is a rental car and pay a 4 usd toll.
It was a great hotel with everything you need, San Francisco is not a cheap place but this hotel makes up for all the other expenses...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

Pleasant surprise

Posted Sep 19, 2014
My room was upgraded to a suite without having to ask. Fantastic surprise. The bedroom, living room & full kitchen. I wish I had time to stay longer. The location was great, near the water & a mall across the street. Couldn't have asked for more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom chile

Nice

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Price, spacious rooms
Cons: better cleaning of rooms
Location: Excellent location
Huge bedrooms with all elements to have your own meal, nice surroundings, shops, restaurants end even a beach. Very kind and helpful people in front desk. Too little space for breakfast, but you can take it to the room. Very poor housekeeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati,oh

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: I liked that it used to be a apartment so it was very roomy
Cons: a better, newer couch
Location: the beach is within walking distance
It was very nice hotel within walking distance of the beach
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Regina, Sask, Canada

It was okay

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful. Allowed me to use the computer behind the desk and print of tickets that I had purchased.
Cons: Cleanliness. Upkeep to rooms. Update the room.
Location: Loved being so close to downtown. Beach was also very close.
Didn't get the room we booked (maybe because of our late arrival), we were however offered a suite. Place was a little outdated, needed some upkeep, a little bit more attention to cleanliness but you get what you pay for. Overall was happy with the experience as we just slept there. Staff were friendly and did what they could with what they had. Motel was close to mall and downtown. Would I recommend this place? Sure. It is cheaper than staying in San Francisco and was close. I had wanted to check out Oakland as well and Alameda was right in the middle to a good place. Would I stay there again? Probably not. Not that it was a bad experience, just that I like to move around.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2014 on Hotels.com