Ratings based on 1,179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom LA, Ca

Trial - for future stay!

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: size
Cons: Door security
Location: Location is OK because there is a big shopping center across the street.
The room is big but noisy door always blown by wind. Our door could not lock inside, scary! We waited till next day, then the mechanic came to fix it and nobody cleaned our room for all the woodchips mess on the carpet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Frente a San Francisco

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Se ubica en una zona tranquila, al otro lado de la bahía, frente a la ciudad de San Francisco
Cons: Lo único tachable: la limpieza del lavabo.
Este hotel se ubica en una zona tranquila, al otro lado de la bahía, frente a la ciudad de San Francisco. La habitaciones son grandes aunque quedan reminiscencias del pasado como los aparatos de televisión y algún detalle más. La nuestra era con terraza en el primer y último piso, sin ascensor, por lo de cargar con la maletas al llegar e irse. Todo correcto. La atención de la recepción estupenda y el desayuno más completo que otro hoteles de la zona y estados vecinos. Lo único tachable: la limpieza del lavabo, por lo demás, disfrutamos de unos días estupendos y el establecimiento estaba lleno al intentar prorrogar nuestra estancia.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom White Bear, MN

larger unit away from pricy San Francisco

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: The location was good for general access to surrounding area. Free parking in an area where one may have to pay up to 20.00 per day,in SF.
Cons: Everything! The ownership needs to spend some serious money to upgrade the whole operation.
Location: Good for shopping, restaurants and local sites. Good access to Oakland and SF. Downtown Alameda has a nice downtown with lots of trendy shops.
Pictures on their website are not very truthful. Staff we dealt with were very helpful. Rooms were very dated and worn. Kitchen was good, but no dishes or cookware were stocked. Had to scrounge up plates and cookware, etc. from a kitchen elsewhere for use. Living room furniture belonged in the trash bin. Bed was comfortable. TVs are the old tube type, but they worked. General upkeep was uneven. It seemed that many of the occupants were using the units like apartment rentals. The location was near the bayside walkway and beach area. The photo seems to show it being on the bay, not so. It sits on a lagoon off the bay, that you can barely see and have no access to. Most of the housekeeping staff looked very young and did a hit and miss job of cleaning the units. The unit was listed as no smoking, but everything in it reeked of smoke. Notified the desk staff and they didn't have an answer for us. We didn't wish to move all our belongings to another unit so just dealt with it. The breakfast was continential. Bare bones basic.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom St Paul, MN

I was very disappointed in my "suite"!!

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: SEE ABOVE
The picture of Coral Reef (Alameda,CA.) showed a water view. The view was blocked by an apartment complex. No rooms had a water view. The "suite" had a full kitchen but NO cooking gear or plates or utensils. NADA/ZIP The "suite" had two TVs - one did not work and both were old -- like 1990 vintage!!! I could not figure how to get the shower running -- called the front desk (after 8AM) but got no response. I guess this is how they conserve water!!! Overall condition of the "suite" was poor. I checked out after only one day of my stay (had a two day reservation). I voiced my complaints and the manager checked me out with no offer of a refund (for second day) or any corrective action. At the price of about $140/day it was a rip off.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Staff, bed, cute pool
Cons: So much!
Location: Shopping, beach & beautiful Victorian homes and history!
I agree with other reviews that the staff was really helpful and friendly. And our bed was very comfortable. We chose Coral Reef for the location in Alameda which is close to the beach and shopping. I'm afraid, however, the hotel is staying afloat because of the location. I wish they would take the time to update the facility and take more time and care of keeping the rooms clean. In a nutshell, dilapidated vinyl floors, peeling wallpaper, small outdated TV, outdated furniture, broken sliding glass door, worn out plumbing fixtures, very chipped bathtub and MOLD, MOLD, MOLD. There was even mold in the ice machine dispenser. I use to live in Alameda, so I understand mold problems, but at a hotel which is cleaned on a regular basis, it's not acceptable. I wish I had the money to buy and spruce up this place. It has so much potential! But it felt so unclean, we didn't even take our clothes out of our suitcases. I guess $109 on a weekend in the Bay Area is a really good deal these days - but I'd rather stay in a chain hotel by the freeway than ever stay at this place again. Sad :(
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Porter Ranch, CA

Need upgrade.

Posted May 5, 2015
Everything is so outdated and not working properly. The bed is creeky. The bedlamp doesn't work. The bathroom and the kitchen are very outdated. Complimentary breakfast are very simple - Bread and Donut.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lincoln NE

Awesome!

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: pretty much everything :-)
Cons: Parking, the lot is quite small, but that's not that big of deal.
Location: Alameda is a cute place. The main drag is Park Street, it's a cute area with shops and restaurants. Hit up Wine and Waffles, it's amazing!!!
We arrived around 9 pm after an almost nine hour drive from Las Vegas. I did not catch his name, I really should have, but the night clerk was absolutely the best employee at the hotel. He was polite, upgraded our room free of charge (deck right on the lagoon, separate bedroom and full kitchen!) He would not allow us to carry our own bags, he insisted on carrying our things for us. He showed us the room, brought us more towels, gave us weather information each morning and suggested different things we could do while out. He was extremely accommodating and a nice person to see each morning while chugging coffee at the continental breakfast (free doughnuts, woot!) I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It's nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of San Francisco after a long day of exploring. Also it's adorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Coral Reef Inn & Suites

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Cons: t.v. carpet
They site says they have rooms that face the beach. Not really the door to the outside gets a sliver of a view. It is too bad that the bowling alley is right next door and blocking the view. It is a half block walking distance from the end of the beach area. The woman at the check-in counter was very helpful and was nice enough to let us check in a little earlier. She suggested some places to eat within walking distance. The bed was hard, I suspect it was really new, which is better than being lumpy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Hôtel pas très éloigné de San Francisco avec un très bon équipement permettant de se restaurer sur place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tennessee

Great Location, Excellent Value

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location, clean linens, large rooms. Safe, clean neighborhood. After spending several days in Alameda, we would stay here again!
Cons: Older wood trim could use a coat of paint here and there.
Location: Coral Reef Inn is located on Park Street, the most-visited street on Alameda island. Numerous shops, dining and entertainment businesses.
Coral Reef Inn and Suites is the best place to stay on Alameda island when visiting the San Francisco area. This older two-story inn provides free continental breakfast, clean linens, a lovely swimming pool and generous parking. Many rooms have a large balcony/deck overlooking a quiet lagoon. Directly across the street is a large retail area with grocery, drug, retail, and specialty stores, as well as a wide choice of places to eat breakfast, lunch, or dinner.