Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and typical Marriot

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Stayed at this location only for a short night. Within 2-3 blocks from the BART, hence, less than 20min from downtown SanFran. Very clean and well kept hotel with comf/large rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Location: Stay away from the nearby Mcdonald's. The BART is easy and affordable transportation.
Hotel staff was very pleasant. We had no issues with our stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in downtown Oakland

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The bed was great
Cons: Room smelled like it was formerly a smoking room
Location: Hotel was within walking distance of Jack London Square
Stayed at the hotel for two nights for a graduation. The hotel was conveniently located for us to travel to and from my relatives house, the graduation event and the celebration dinner. We ordered the valet parking package which is a must considering parking in this area. The room was typical Courtyard except the bed was really comfortable. All in all I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just a few quibbles

Posted Jun 1, 2014
No room service so we had to purchase a bottle of wine from the ground floor shop to take to our room. Otherwise staff and valet service were excellent. A minor issue over billing was promptly & correctly settled.
1 out of 5
by world traveler from S

Bad experience.

Posted May 26, 2014
When we checked in on Thurs, we were told that the hotel was "completely booked" on Sat and we could not have a room for Sat. Also, that they would not take my name down to let me know if they have an opening or cancellation. Then after asking for the manager to discuss the no waiting list policy I was deamed worthy of a room on Saturday. Then had people knocking on our door Saturday morning asking us to leave the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience. It is our understanding that our General Manager has been in touch with you to resolve this issue. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendliest hotel in Oakland

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: There is a great Starbucks in the lobby with good coffee and simple meal items. The staff there were also wonderful.
We stayed here during my son's graduation, and we have never met nicer people. The hotel is easy to find in a good location in Oakland. The staff are always smiling and our room was clean and just what we needed. We would recommend it to anyone looking for a place in Oakland.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Our staff is pretty awesome and we're glad you enjoyed our friendliness. ;-) We pride ourselves on being clean and friendly! Congratulations to your son and be sure to look us up if you're in town again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Benson from Connecticut

Good price, good location

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff are very friendly. There is even a PC for guest to check in and print boarding pass. Cleaning staff did a great job, rooms are clean.
Cons: body location, shampoo and conditioner all packed the same way, same color. I always ended up with two conditioner and no shampoo.
Location: BART, China Town
I wasn't sure about the neighborhood, but I know it is very close to the BART station for me to go to San Francisco and/or Berkeley. Once I got there, I realized that it was merely 2 blocks if you come out of the 11th street exit from the BART station. We never stay out later than 8 PM, and I really don't see that there is any safety concern. Again for the great price in the bay area, it is a nice little surprise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elevators !

Posted May 11, 2014
The elevators were out of service every other hour, causing us to walk up all those stairs. Other than that, it was pretty cool
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience we have caused for you with the elevator. We are working delightedly to getting it repaired. We hope to see you next time when you are in Oakland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by denise from PA

hotel worked out great for us

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Cons: The only thing that bothered us is that the coffee shop in the lobby was only open for a few hours in the a.m. and p.m.
Per the other traveler reviews, this hotel fit our needs perfectly. Our son lives in Oakland and we were very close to him. The BART was a few short blocks away. Chinatown was right there and there were also enough restaurants close by to fit our needs, without having to use the car. The free shuttle to Jack London Square stopped right in front of the hotel. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer & more helpful had they tried. Everyone was amazing! The hotel is a little dated but the bed was very comfortable and the room fit our needs. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dianne from Sonoma, CA

This hotel is lovely.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Cons: serve breakfast until eleven
Rooms are nicely decorated. Desk staff is very helpful with restaurant suggestions -- many nice eateries within walking distance.