Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crowne Plaza used to be nicer than Holiday Inn

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Cons: See above
This is the second Crowne Plaza I have stayed at in the last two months that has disappointed. Pre-paid a king non-smoking room. After parking the car on the other side of the hotel and walking 100 yards my room is a double bed non-smoking. Too tired to switch it at that point. Tiles in the bathroom coming apart. Stain on the chair. Rooms need to be remodeled. Come on Crowne Plaza you've got to do better. You used to be the gold standard and a notch or two above your Holiday in counterparts. Now I'd rather stay somewhere else.
2 out of 5
by mich from lathrop

Not worth the money

Posted May 30, 2014
room spelled dusty, mildewy. The television wasn't plugged in, had to fix it myself. Not worth the amount paid at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel appears to need a facelift

Posted May 20, 2014
Cons: Need to do some upgrades and repairs. It's looking a little old and worn.
It wasn't terrible, just not what I would expect for a Crown Plaza hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay with us! We are currently going through major renovations. We hope that you will decide to give us a 2nd chance if you return to the Union City area, because you will be very impressed with our brand new remodeled rooms. Feel free to check out our prototype show rooms to see how our rooms will be renovated, we hope you will be able to come back again when we are fully renovated. Thank you for your business. Cristina Lin - Asst. General Manager Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North - Union City
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2014
Great staff and rooms. Not the first time we have stayed and we will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your stay! We appreciate your comments and will forward this nice comment to our staffs!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Niceut disapointed

Posted May 5, 2014
Cons: Maintenance
Elevator to rooms, I just wanted to throw up. Pool was dirty Hotel neds more maintenance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, your comments and feedback are very important to us and the information is shared with our entire team. I was sorry to hear about your less than satisfactory expereince. These issues will be discussed with our houskeeping and maintenance teams to insure we do a better job moving forward. We are going through a major renovation and we hope you can give us another chance to prove better, because you will be quite pleased with our new remodeling. When you return to the Union City area, please feel free to reach out to me if I can be of assistance. Thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back. Regards, Cristina - Asst. General Manager - Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North - Union City
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good for a one or two night stay, not for a week.

Posted May 2, 2014
Very clean and comfortable room. Since I stay in the area for a week at a time the room was missing some basic necessities. The room did not have a microwave, to prepare any sort of breakfast. Since I booked through Expedia I would have had to pay for the "complimentary" breakfast. Their are no accessible wall outlets to iron my weeks stay worth of shirts. I had to move a nightstand and unplug a light to plug in the iron. The bathroom was as well lit as a cave. Also I never could get a parking spot anywhere near wear my room was. Again it was a very clean and nice room, perfect for a night or two, but if you are there for a week their are a lot of little inconveniences.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay with us! We are currently going through major renovations. We hope that you will decide to give us a 2nd chance if you return to the Union City area, because you will be very impressed with our brand new remodeled rooms. Feel free to check out our prototype show rooms to see how our rooms will be renovated, we hope you will be able to come back again when we are fully renovated. Thank you for your business. Cristina Lin - Asst. General Manager Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North - Union City
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Renzo from Brisbane

Comfortable and Pleasant

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Rooms and cleanliness
Cons: Hotel staff
Location: There is a walmart which is 10min stroll. Gas Station and a very large shopping centre. Very close to Motorway. Its very good location.
The rooms in the hotel were exceptionally kept, and the maids who cleaned them took a lot of time and care to do so. There was always an aroma that will filter through the room each and every day upon returning. Was very good. Hotel staff were lazy, rude and just inattentive. My pet bird knows how to run a hotel better than the lot at front desk. Waiting 45 minutes for a taxi, when another Blonde haired girl came, and knew exactly how to run the front desk. Taxi arrived in 2 mins. She was the ONLY one who showed interest in the guests, was attentive and showed she actually cared. The others are a waste of time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Minnesota

Nice & Clean but...

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Cons: Include breakfast buffet for ALL customers. Do not segregrate based on rates
Everything here was as expected or better. Only disappointment was they did not include breakfast buffet because we got an expedia rate. It should be included for all paying customers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for any misunderstanding in regards to the breakfast. As a Crowne Plaza full service hotel, we do not offer complimentary breakfast like our sister brand the Holiday Inn Express. There are breakfast inclusive rates and some corporate rates have breakfast negotiated in to the rates for an additional fee. Any feedback you have in regards to this is greatly appreciated. Otherwise, please see the front desk and they will be happy to issue you complimentary breakfast coupons for this morning as a courtesy. Regards, Cristina Lin - Asst. General Manager Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North - Union City
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommend overall.

Posted Mar 5, 2014
It was a nice hotel. Kind of an older style. My only complaint for the most part was the cleaning ladies started knocking on the doors to clean at 8:45 in the morning, then again at 9:45. It was kind of annoying or maybe my fault because I didn't put the do not disturb sign up. Whatever it was I didn't get to sleep in on a Sunday morning that's for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Nice place and around a lot restaurant .clean and convince .near 880 and shell gas