Ratings based on 1,698 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

so so

Posted Jul 5, 2015
old hotel so noisy and back side view is not good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hopewell NJ

Left a few days early

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: free parking
Cons: the rooms
Thought it would be nice to stay near the water, save money on parking at SF hotels, and to explore Berkeley. The hotel was dingy, dated and disappointing so after enjoying exploring Berkeley we left for another hotel. Would not recommend this hotel as the savings were not worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chico, Ca

Quiet Marina Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Quiet, awesome views and atmosphere, clean, friendly, great parking, restaurant was great, pools and fitness center was nice too.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Bart to SF, downtown Berkeley, shopping, marina, walking and taking in the atmosphere.
My wife, infant and I stayed at the hotel, very happy with hotel and staff. Will definitely stay at again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad start/ok finish

Posted Jul 4, 2015
The area is pretty but the hotel is outdated and there is no fire in the desk staff. They messed up our reservations - giving us first a view of the parking lot instead of the marina and then a shabby first floor room right next to the noisy elevator - and the first night and day were awful. We had to change (awful and unclean) rooms twice and the staff felt no urgency in rectifying things for us. The room we were finally given, though dated, was pleasant and the view very nice. The rest of the stay was comfortable, though I had wished they had updated wireless service and a safe in the room. None-the-less we enjoyed the final room and the housekeeping staff kept us comfortable in it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't get it right

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Booked into a room with no electricity. Moved to a room next to elevator and ice machine. Moved back then had to dodge the water drops going out to balcony. Moved a third time! Smaller but functioning room. Ugh!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Great location, great view, great experience overall
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Marina and other attractions

Posted Jun 24, 2015
I like staying in this hotel. You can walk at Marina and drive to many other places in the Bay Area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roseville,Ca

Love the view!

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Got a late Resveration. Forgot my shaving kit with phone charger in it. Staff went out of their way to help me out!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
The view from our property truly cannot be rivaled! We are so glad your late reservation brought you to the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina and that you were able to enjoy the great service we are known for. Our associates are always happy to help out however they can. We would love to welcome you back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bad nights Sleep

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Spacious.
Cons: Don't put people in rooms next to elevators unless the hotel is fully booked.
Our room was across the hall from the Elevator, and we thought it would be okay. Well all night long we could hear the elevator. Not a great nights sleep. The next morning I was taking a shower, and the water temp was luke warm, and mid way I had to turn the temp to full hot. They the temp went to the other extreme, and back again. Fortunately my wife and son did not share the same experience, but mentioned it to the staff when I was checking out anyway. As this only happened to me, I did not discount the rating for this weird event.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us. We ask that you accept our sincere apology if your encounter was not completely refreshing, or if your rest was not disrupted by sounds outside of your guest room. It is never our intent for guests to experience anything less than a fantastic stay and we want you to know that if we could have done more while you were here we certainly would have done so had we known of any issues prior to check out. Our maintenance associates have been alerted to the concerns you have mentioned with the water temperature in your guest bath. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again for the visit you deserve as our valued guest.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

Hotel over looking the Marina and San Fran

Posted Jun 17, 2015
I am a repeat customer as I have to travel a long distance to see my medical doctor in San Francisco, so I'll stay a night or two. The hotel is friendly and clean and there is no charge for parking, which other hotels in the same area do. What I don't like is you hear everything in the halls and it's disturbing when you are in your room. They provided earplugs for the first time. The food normally is good, but expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for joining us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina so often. We are glad to provide you with the convenience and value you need when visiting. As you mentioned, parking is complimentary at our hotel and we provide easy access to the city. We do regret if any sounds outside your guest room were of any disruption to your peace. Please know our associates would be happy to help in any way they can. We hope you will visit us again if your travels bring you to the area.