Ratings based on 1,656 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet with free parking

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: the setting
Cons: the service
Location: dog park across the street, boat rides in the marina, a lot of good restaurants nearby
The hotel is a bit run down but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The service is very very slow, however. Only some rooms have mini refrigerators. I asked, twice, to have one delivered and it never came. The restaurant is acceptable but again the service is very slow. I waited 45 minutes for a salad, on two occasions, and then had to ask for silverware and a napkin. The front desk didn't know how much the self service laundry cost, perhaps I got a new person? The cleaning staff only knocked once and then walked into my room at 9AM before I could run to the door and ask them to come back in 30 minutes. They seem short staffed, unfortunately, or poorly managed? However, the nightly price is as high as anywhere within Berkeley but I prefer the marina because of the setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Moreno Valley, CA

There for Grandson's graduation

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The staff, the surroundings, the food. One of my most pleasant experiences traveling.
Cons: My only complaint is that there was no micro wave in the room.
Beautiful view, beautiful surroundings. The breakfast buffet was to die for. The gentlemen that checked us in asked if we were there for a graduation and I told him we came to attend my grandson's graduation from UC Berkeley. He gave us breakfast vouchers for the three days we were there. And there were three of us and extra one for my grandson. Location to UC Berkeley approximately 15 minutes. Bay bridge is close by if you want to venture over to San Francisco. Going over the Bay bridge to SF not bad; toll $ 4.00. Coming back was an nightmare. We got caught in rush hour traffic. Hotel was everything I hoped it would be. I would have given it five stars for room comfort if it had a micro wave.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Barbara

not up to usual DoubleTree standards

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Rooms not exactly spacious, but not cramped either; decor OK. Comfortable beds, good shower pressure.
Cons: No refrigerator to chill celebratory wine. Very slow followup to problem with thermostat.
Location: Nice location on the marina, with walking paths to the bayside park, which I would have liked to explore had I not been waiting to change rooms.
Booked and pre-paid 2 rooms, 2 nights, 4+ months in advance at Expedia Special Rate non-refundable, no cancel, no change. Arrived shortly after official check-in time (4:00 pm). Rooms assigned were on different floors but in same building - OK it was a busy time (during Berkeley graduation week, which was the reason for the visit.) Had a brief pre-dinner celebration in one of the rooms before going out to dinner. Upon return later, went to second room and discovered that the thermostat did not work, which meant I had to manually control the unit, which meant it was making noise all night, as I did not arise from bed to fine tune. Called to report the following early afternoon after returning from an event. Engineer visited room and confirmed thermostat did not work, which he reported. Desk called and offered to change rooms, and said they would send up new keys. Waited...waited...waited...I finally called back 2+ hours later, was told new room was not clean yet (but by this time it was check in time for the next day!), was put on hold, 10 minutes later new person comes on and asks what is the problem? Explained again, a cleaned room was found, and keys delivered, but I was unhappy at having basically wasted several hours cooling my heels.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you chose to stay with us for your celebratory occasion. Our waterfront location is something that we love to share with our guests. UC Berkeley graduation is a very popular time here, but despite how busy things may be, our guests should never be expected to wait an undo period of time to make things right. We appreciate how patient you were during this time and know how frustrated you must have felt in the delay. We hope that you will give us a chance in the future to fully impress you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed Again!

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: The marina view. the view of the bay bridges, the trails around the marina for walking/exercising.
Cons: Don't give away rooms ! I booked my room 2 months in advance and expected it to be available!
Location: Close to Berkeley, San Francisco, Oakland and all that is related!
This is the second time in the last 2 trips from Irvine to the Bay area where we stay here and have been very disappointed! We drive up from Irvine for family celebrations and book 2 months in advance requesting a balcony view room. When we check in we are told those rooms are gone! So then we are offered a room in the back up on the top floor that will give a view but does not! So we are offered 2 days of free breakfast buffets and one night refund which we need to wait 3 weeks to get back from you, Expedia! So, we are very unhappy and will never stay at this hotel again even though we continue to travel to the area several times a year.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback. While it is not clear in this forum as to how your reservations were made, we cannot speak for third party booking sites and are truly disappointed that you were not able to enjoy your preferred room. We will do all we can to ensure our guests are satisfied with their stay and ask that you accept our apology for any inconvenience. It is our hope that you will reconsider another visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom f

Nice getaway

Posted May 10, 2015
We were very happy with the location of the hotel, easy access to the interstate, downtown Berkeley and campus. We read some review that had concerns about noise, but we had no issues at all. It was a great location with a great view and good amenities. We would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It is great to know you enjoyed such a nice getaway with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. Our location is conveniently located to make it easy to get around the area, including the UC Berkeley campus and you certainly can’t beat the great marina views from our property. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Nice hotel

Posted May 9, 2015
Pretty location, clean room, loved the pool and hot tub. I wish there were shops closer. A shuttle to the city would have been nice. Menu in restaurant could be expanded.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know what aspects of your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina were so impressive for you. We are so glad you enjoyed our location and accommodations. We would like to point out that we offer complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius of our property which includes access to the BART station for public transportation into San Francisco. We hope you get a chance to visit us again and take advantage of all that we offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Pricy

Posted May 9, 2015
Got premium room, interior was nice and clean. We were next to the elevator,so there was machine noise throughout our stay. No view from our premium room. Pool and hot tub were nice, Cafe was closed in the morning when we needed it most.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching us to us with your impressions. We are glad you enjoyed some aspects of your time with us, including the use of our indoor pool, however, it is disappointing to learn that you were troubled by any sounds outside your guest room. Our restaurant opens at 6am for our early rising guests to enjoy a bite to eat, but we must apologize if the hours were not convenient for your stay. We hope you will consider visiting again so we can provide you with the type of encounter you desire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheapest room-no view of the bay

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Most Beautiful location!!!!
Location: Eating near campus in Berkeley, Rose garden,Lawrence Hall of Science,University of California Botanical Garden at Berkeley
$18 buffet bacon, eggs,sausage,potatoes,cereal,fresh fruit and omelet station. Missing maybe eggs Benedict or nice salads(waldorf)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are so glad you enjoyed our location during your stay with us in Berkeley. Our breakfast buffet choices have something for everyone and for smaller bites, guests can always consider our a la carte menu as well. There are so many great area destinations, thank you for sharing them here. We hope you will come back again soon to the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Phenomenal panoramic ocean views!

Posted Apr 28, 2015
If you go to Berkeley this is the place to stay. Next to the hotel is Chaves park which has a great walking trails along the water.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Phenomenal panoramic views indeed! We are so glad you had a chance to enjoy them as well as the beauty of Cesar Chavez Park adjacent to our property. We would love for you to come visit us again at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grass Valley CA

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Easy location to and from the freeway. Restaurant and bar in site. Very clean and comfortable room. Traveled with my daughter and we felt safe
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Feeling secure when traveling to a new area can be so important and we are glad you felt safe here with us. At the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina our location makes stays convenient while our onsite amenities offer comfort. Thank you for letting us know about your encounter. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.