Ratings based on 1,727 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Not bad location, nice honour view, may stay in for next trip
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view noisy air conditioning

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Beds were comfortable, but the air conditioning unit was broken. The maintenance personnel fixed it, but the system was extremely loud. Very difficult to sleep. Restaurant was ok, but service was slow. Not worth the price overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our hotel. We are glad you found comfort in your guest room and were able to enjoy the views from our property. It is regrettable, however, that your encounter was marred by any issues with the air conditioner in your guest room. Please know that we have shared your feedback with our management team. It is our hope that we have the chance to welcome you again for a completely positive stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Eerste kamer die wij kregen, was vies. De tweede kamer redelijk. Restaurant en bar zijn erg duur.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs remodeling, it's old not like the pic

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Staff is very friendly and helpfull but when i booked my reservation i specifically asked for extra pillows and microwave since i have a kid , but they didnt even bother to ask. Hotel looks more like a motel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Good location. Easy access to SFO.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
A/C was very loud and would cycle on and off like a truck. Double beds were a bit small. Queen beds would be better. Other than that, had a great experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Decent Bay Area hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Salmon dinner at the restaurant was delicious -- a huge portion topped with a rich tomato jam and served with arugula salad alongside.
Location: Since we were just passing through, we just ate dinner and walked through the marina. There seems to be plenty of Berkeley within a short distance.
On the whole, this is a nice property. The marina location provided a pleasant evening stroll to watch the sunset. Dinner at the onsite restaurant was delicious, enhanced by fireside seating with a broad view of the marina. Our room was large and comfortable, with all the expected amenities of a good business hotel or a modest resort. My only complaint is that the listing described this room as a "premium balcony room" which I do not consider accurate. The room itself could be called premium, but the balcony overlooked the parking lot and was at most 18 inches deep. There is a difference between "premium room with balcony" and a "premium balcony room." Had I not anticipated a premium balcony, I doubt I would have been disappointed in any aspect of this hotel. Marketing should remember that a customer with fully satisfied modest expectations is happier than one who is mildly disappointed in high expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort feel. Good for families.

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Great for families, good shuttle service to local transport (BART). Needs a little attention here and there maintenance wise, but over all a great place to stay and excellent value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are so glad you enjoyed both the value and the great amenities you found here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. Thank you for sharing your review. Our complimentary shuttle service makes it so easy to get around the area. We hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, Mi

Nice hotel lovely setting.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Cons: A person sitting on the chairs outside in the early morning does not really want to hear the disco-like music that's playing in the lobby.
We stayed there for the weekend of July 10th 2015, and found the rooms clean and comfortable and large enough for two. Even the bathroom had extra room and counter space for spreading out on. The hotel's setting made for some nice early morning walks, since the property is right at the marina--lots of seagulls and interesting boats to look at. On the last day we ate at the $18 breakfast buffet, and I found plenty of things to eat for my low carb diet--plain Greek-style yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, cottage cheese, and of course there were the usual fruit and carb filled options too, and even some fried rice and some kimchee. For the price, which had coffee and juice included, it was a good deal, and I felt fortified to make the traffic-filled ride to the Oakland Airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for joining us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. It certainly seems as though you were able to enjoy much of what we have to offer during your stay and for that we are grateful. Our area offers some beautiful outdoor spaces to take advantage of. The breakfast choices here ensure that each of our guests is satisfied and it is great that you found numerous options to satisfy your hunger. Please know that your suggestions regarding the ambient music around our property will be shared with our management team. It is our hope that you will join us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

4th of July weekend

Posted Jul 14, 2015
I always read reviews when finding a hotel. In town visiting son at UC Berkeley. Location was close to campus for driving. Ample parking. Check-in was easy. Room very comfortable for 4 people with 2 double beds. Coffee shop onsite was great. Staff made weekend fun with 4th of July BBQ & blanket for fireworks viewing. Housekeeping did a good job. Will stay again when I come back to Berkeley.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We love knowing that we impressed you so fully you will return again! Independence Day at the marina is such an exciting occasion and we are happy to be a part of it and share some of the fun with our guests. UC Berkeley is just minutes from our property which offers great convenience for all visits to the school. Thank you for sharing your appreciation of our comfortable accommodations for your recent trip. We look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nephew wedding in Oakland

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing stood out.
Cons: The road from Frontage Road.
Location: Came for the wedding only.
The road to Hotel grounds from Frontage Road was horrible. Gives a negative impression of the facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We regret if you were inconvenienced by accessing our property via the public roadway or if you were not fully impressed with our offerings. If there was anything else we could have done to ensure your time here was special, we would love to know. Thank you for joining us for your celebration.