Ratings based on 1,595 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grass Valley CA

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Easy location to and from the freeway. Restaurant and bar in site. Very clean and comfortable room. Traveled with my daughter and we felt safe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel by the marina!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location and view.
Location: On the bay and very near to sailing centers.
Great location beside the marina. Great views. Spa shower was dirty and manager had it cleaned same day I reported it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom caçapava sp brasil

Localização privilegiada

Posted Apr 16, 2015
O hotel é muito bom, a localização excelente, acordar pela manha ou ver o por do sol da janela do quatro com vista para o mar foi uma experiencia unica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bayern

Hotel in Berkerley

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Lage
Cons: Frühstück anbieten
Location: am Pazifik spazieren gehen / Golden Gate Bridge war in der Ferne zu sehen.. toller Sonnenuntergang
Unser Zimmer lag direkt an der Bay -2m von unserem Zimmer lagen die vielen Yachten und es war einfach beruhigend draußen zu sitzen und die aussicht zu genießen... Man konnte schön spazieren gehen und aus der Ferne die Golden Gate Bridge sehen und der sonnenuntergang war einfach traumhaft---- Es gab einen kleinen Laden und ein Restaurant im Hotel... der kostenlose Shuttle transportiere die Gäste zum U-bahnhof BART wo man für ca 8$ eine Hin- und Rückfahrt nach San Francisco bekam..Die Fahrt mit Shuttle und U-bahn dauerte ca 1h , aber es wars wert wieder in die beruhigende Nähe des Wassers zu kommen:-)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In one word TERRIBLE

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The view and the cookies upon arrival.
Cons: New staff with better attitudes and a complete remodel.
Location: Great location for things in the bay area and the views are wonderful.
The hotel, at very best, is extremely tired. The restaurant/lounge is over priced, and poorly staffed. The food was cold when finally served and 6 out of 7 breakfasts had to be returned. The view is lovely, but even the road approaching the hotel is rutted and in need of replacement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
While we are happy to know that the views and the complimentary warm chocolate chip cookies were a highlight of your stay, we are truly disappointed to know that your entire experience was not as we would hope for one of our valued guests. It is extremely disheartening to learn that your experience did not reflect the standards of service that we have set, both with our accommodations as well as your dining experience. We regret not being able to make things fully right and we ask that you accept our apologies. Your comments will be shared with our management staff. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Loved the room, but wasn't impressed with the restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are always grateful to hear from one of our guests. Thank you for sharing what you enjoyed about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. We are glad you loved your guest room, but it is disappointing to know that you were not fully impressed with your dining encounter. Our associates are always available to help in any way they can. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The view of the water and marina.
Cons: The restaurant's not-friendly and slow service.
My husband and I stayed just one night, on a Saturday to catch a show up at The Greek Theatre in Berkeley. We had called a few times the week of our stay to request an early check-in, but were told we could not ask until the day of. We called the morning of and were told to ask again in a few hours....We ended up just driving up thinking we could just dine in the restaurant if we were not able to check in. We attempted to check in around 1:30, but there weren't any rooms available. We did dine in the restaurant, which was actually a quite disappointing experience, with the exception of the beautiful marina views. We were able to check in around 3pm, one hour before check-in time-better than nothing! We proceeded up to our "premium room", which we chose because it was said to have a better quality bed...it did not. It was actually not very comfortable at all. The room was very clean, but there were half drank water bottles in the mini bar fridge. I worked for a similar hotel for 4 years doing all sorts of jobs, so this was a big no-no for me, but regardless, we were happy to be on a stay-cation, so it did not derail our fun. We got back to the hotel fairly late at night, but we woke up early to enjoy our view, our room service, and a pleasant morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. An overnight getaway to take in a performance at The Greek Theatre can be such an exciting time and we are honored you chose to stay with us for the event. It is delightful to know you enjoyed the beautiful views from our marina property as well as relaxing over breakfast in your room the next day. Our standard check in time is 4pm, as you mentioned, and we will do everything we can to help our guests with early arrival, when possible. The information you have shared about your dining encounter are a concern and we will share your feedback with our team. We hope you will consider another visit in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Redmond, WA

Great views of Marina

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Lovely view of marina
Cons: Elevators very slow
Location: Just a couple miles from Berkeley so easy access to shops and restaurants. Close to lovely trails along waterfront for hiking, biking, and sunsets.
Hotel was very clean and maintained. Our room had a lovely view right over the marina. Free, plentiful, parking. It was nice to be away from the cramped hubbub of Berkeley.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
A peaceful place to rest can be so important while traveling. We are glad to know that our location made such a positive impression on you during your time in the East Bay. Coupled with that peace is our beautiful marina view and well-maintained accommodations. Thank you so much for letting us know what you enjoyed while staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. We hope you will visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Meyers, CA

Confortale and convenient

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Friendly folks, great view.
Cons: A less expensive breakfast.
Location: Well, there's music and food in Berkeley. There is everything in S.F.
Double Tree at Berkeley Marina is a convenient location for all of Berkeley and Bart to S.F. Hotel shuttle works great, staff are friendly, small things such as bottled water, apples, and cookies make a guest feel appreciated. The marina, sails on the bay and the city as background create an amazing view--highly recommend a room with a view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Berkeley is filled with amazing attractions and at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina we are so happy to share them all with our guests. From the gorgeous waterfront views to the area attractions, here and in San Francisco, our hotel is the ideal choice. The special touches we offer, including our complimentary shuttle, bottled water, fresh fruit and signature cookies are designed to make you feel welcome! Please know that our lobby shop has pastry and light bites for a quick breakfast and our restaurant features many a la carte items for smaller appetites. We hope you will come back and visit us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location But Disappointing Stay

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Great location but disappointing stay. Poor overall cleanliness of room and facility in general. To top things off, the room toilet wouldn't refill properly. Hotel needs to hire staff to do basic maintenance. Hilton can certainly do better!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It is truly disappointing to learn that you found any issues in your guest room. Please know that our associates are always available should something arise and your comments will be shared with our housekeeping and maintenance staff so that we can improve. We hope you will consider another stay in the future.