Ratings based on 1,179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KC

Marcia and Mike's review

Posted Aug 29, 2014
We always stay at Berkeley Marina, Double Tree when in SF area. We did not get our marina view as requested and we paid a month in advance so that was disappointing. The hotel staff and having the marina to walk around morning and evening made up for it. We wanted to relax and we did!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel front desk was very rude.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Cons: Customer service.
Cecelia at the front desk was very rude. We have stayed at this hotel before and this time Expedia made a mistake. When my daughter got there, there were no longer any rooms available. They kept repeating that it was expedia;s problem. I simply wanted an email stating that my daughter had not stayed there because I wanted to make sure that I got the refund from expeda. They did let her use their phone at 2 AM to call me. I think that it would have been very simple for them to send an email saying that we did not use the reservation. All that she did was repeat the same phrase over and over again. It seemed that they could not be bothered. That is not the way you treat your customers. My daughter attends Berkeley and we are in the area quite often. We will not be staying there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Wonderful time swimming with my granddaughter. Lovely hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rockaway, nj

disappointed

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: staff was very accomodating. it is a beautiful location!
Cons: booking of rooms.
room i booked was not available! was given a smaller room with 12" balcony facind a hallway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: the laundry room service
Cons: more laundry machines
Location: nothing
We love the ocean view of this hotel and the services at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
There is nothing more beautiful than a view of the sparkling bay! Thank you for letting us know what you enjoyed most about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. We are glad you were able to take advantage some of our services and amenities while here and hope that you will choose to visit again for your next trip to the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but very bad experience

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Quite place and nice restaurant for breakfast and lunch
We booked a double bed room and the day of the check in we arrive very early and the room was not ready yet, the person at the customer service made sure that our room was on the same level and next to our friends, as least it's was he told us. We left the hotel mentioning that we will return very late. What a surprise when we arrived at almost midnight and our actual bedroom (prepaid) was given to someone else, leaving us with a king room for 3 people!!! the solution they gave us either getting this room or driving 36 miles to get another room, you were very upset knowing that the bedroom was prepaid and that was supposedly pre-checked. Our daughter had to share the bedroom with our friends because there was no way we will drive past midnight 36 miles. They gave us free breakfast, and after talking to the manager the next morning she made sure we get reimbursed for the night (we are still waiting for that)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It is extremely disheartening to learn that your experience did not reflect the standards of service that we have set at every level. While we appreciate knowing you found our hotel to be very nice overall, we are terribly disappointed to learn that there was any confusion over your anticipated accommodations. While it is not completely clear in this forum as to how your reservations were made, it is understandable if what you expected was not as it should be as that can truly be frustrating. We have shared your feedback with our management team, as we hope to resolve any outstanding concerns as soon as possible. It is regrettable that we were unable to help while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. We appreciate your input and hope that we can welcome you back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brandon, FL

Beautiful views.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The staff was excellent, and the bed super-comfy!
Cons: No refrigerator in my room, though there was a space for one. Vending machines far away.
Location: This hotel is located a few miles outside Berkeley. Nothing within walking distance. Marina lovely, though.
There didn't seem to be a lot of hotel choices in this area. One of the main reasons I chose this one was it was a name I recognized. Generally, it was a very nice hotel, and I would stay there again. There is a restaurant on-site, and though a little pricey, the food was excellent. A nice pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are so glad you chose to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. Our brand is well known and we are glad it is how you were able to select our property for your visit. All of our associates believe that each guest should be treated to individualized service and will be pleased to know you found their efforts to be, as you put it, excellent. From comfort to views and delicious dining, your trip sounds like a success. As you mentioned, downtown Berkeley is just minutes away and if you ever need area recommendations we are here to help. We also feature a complimentary shuttle service within 3 miles of the hotel to get to all area points of interest with ease and would like to point out that refrigerators are available upon request. We certainly hope to see you again. Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good !!!

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location. Free parking!!!
Cons: Personal in restaurant slowly take order :(
Location: Location is a beautiful near hotel
We're stay 2 nights only. Location good for walking around hotel. Restaurant good , but slowly take our order. Food is good. Room small, but beautiful!!! When we stayed before front desk in the hotel all my family gave cookies with chocolate !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It can often be the little things that make all the difference. The DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina is committed to providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests and we are thrilled to learn that you found so much to your liking while you were here. Nothing beats a warm chocolate chip cookie! We do apologize if there was any delay in service while dining. Please know that someone is always available to address any issues you may have while you are staying with us. Thank you for the kind words and glowing review. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from University Place, WA

Pleasant Hotel with Great Staff

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The staff. The rooms were like most any great hotel, not overly fabulous, but the staff made up the difference.
Cons: Not much. The drive over the Bay Bridge.... could be quicker and easier.....
Location: Berkely is an amazing town. We spent most of our time in San Francisco. We chose this hotel so to not pay parking fees (ie: $40.00 a day in San F)
When I called around 10:00am, after we landed, they told us they would have a room ready early for us! This was great, it allowed us to start our vacation early. Robert and Zoie (2 names I remember) were fabulous, everytime I asked for directions to a specific place, or a suggestion on best ways to get somewhere, they had a map already for us. Really a great place, with fabulous staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
At the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, we love nothing more than to provide our guests with an excellent stay in all ways. An early check in is a great way to start off a vacation! Thank you for sharing your review and appreciation for our hotel. We couldn’t be happier to know you enjoyed such a good time and that our associates left you with such a positive and memorable stay. San Francisco is just a drive over the bridge. Alternatively, guests may choose to utilize the BART system to get around the area. We would love to welcome you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Access to Frisco that saves $ for entertainment

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Rooms are good. Views are nice on less foggy days. Most of the hotel staff was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. Our easy access to San Francisco is one of the many appealing aspects of our hotel and we are glad you appreciated it as well! Our associates at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina are always working hard to ensure that each guest find the hospitality they deserve here. We hope you will come back again soon.