Ratings based on 1,079 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saratoga Springs, Utah

Great Hotel!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
We traveled to the bay area to see San Francisco, and other sites. We decided to stay at the Doubletree by Hilton in Berkeley, and it was a great choice! This was our first time staying at a hilton or Doubletree, and I will for sure continue to book my stays at their hotels. The staff is extremely nice and always willing to help. The hotel offers great activities, beautiful views, and great amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, MI

Right in the middle of the Berkeley Marina, nice.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Would return again, reasonable price for the quality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Aging hotel with some improvements

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The hotel is old; it's prime time is gone even though some improvements have been done recently; we had a room with Marina view: it made the room cold; it is located in a secluded area: for bonus, for some disadvantage.... We experienced both really nice and "do-not-care" reception staff. Housekeeping was regular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2014
They need to hire more wait staff in the restaurant, slow service, tables were dirty when we went in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2014
We truly value your feedback and would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your impressions. Please accept our apology for any inconveniences you may have encountered while dining with us. We have let our team know of the issues you have shared here. It is our hope that you will visit us again so that we can offer you the type of encounter you deserve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Nice place

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Ocean View
Location: Dining out at downtown. We dined at Anh Hong restaurant. It's a good restaurant with Vietnamese food. They had live music too. They played jazz.
This hotel is a nice romantic place for couples. We enjoy it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Califorinia

A hotel showing its age.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: The hotel was built on the mud flats of the San Francisco Bay. As such it has views, paths and open space. It is a quiet location, but requires a car
The hallways are dark and and need a fresh coat of paint. The room are smaller than expected, but have been upgraded more recently than the hallways. The location of the hotel with its paths makes the differance with this hotel. If it were located within a city its days would be numbered. Another plus is the staff, they are friendly and helpful. A ok stay but nothing special.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2014
While we are glad you enjoyed our location as well as the service our associates provide, we regret that you were not fully impressed with the décor of our hotel. It is always our goal that everyone enjoys the best possible experience. We desire to create a positive and memorable encounter for all and it is disappointing to know that was not the case for your most recent visit. Your comments will be shared with everyone here as we are continuously working to improve our guests’ experiences. Thank you for your comments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great location!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: It was so serene...very relaxing!
Location: Walk the trail near the marina or walk the city of Berkeley.
This was an awesome place to stay outside of the city. The town of Berkeley was awesome!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2014
Our location is perfect for visits to Berkeley and the surrounding area and we are so glad you agree. Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you enjoyed about your stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. We hope you will come back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2014
i loved the place. staff was very helpful. Room was nice and spacious
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2014
We love our guests! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. We will be certain to share your feedback with everyone here. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Visiting San Francisco

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: renew carpets and paint
Location: Berkeley University, Botanic Garden; San Francisco
We stayed in Double Tree by Hilton Hotel at Berkeley Marina while visiting San Francisco. The hotel is nicely located by the water, away from the busy streets, Hwy and other buildings, in a very quiet place. The drawback of such location is that you will need a car to get to Berkeley or other areas. I have heard that their shuttle is not that reliable. Our room faced the waterfront, but some rooms in this hotel face the hotel parking with the water front behind the parking, so be aware of this. Do not expect a modern five star hotel built of granite, glass and mirrors although prices vary from 220-260 per night, and could be about $300 in a busy time. By first impression, the Double Tree resort was built at least 40 years ago, and has typical features of that time such as popcorn walls and ceilings. Four or five two-floor buildings are connected with each other and make a pretty confusing structure. The rooms were very clean and the beds are super comfortable. At the same time the corridor carpets definitely need to be changed and I can't believe the hotel can't afford it. In summary, it is a pleasant place to stay, with very friendly and hard-working stuff, and it all could be better, if they manage to renovate this facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comprehensive feedback regarding your stay with us. While we are glad you enjoyed some aspects of your time with us, including our comfortable accommodations, we must apologize if our décor was not more to your liking. All areas should always be at their best and we will use the information you have provided to improve. Your feedback is critical to us, as it is only through the eyes of our guests that we learn what we can do to offer our best. We will let our management team and maintenance associates know of your comments. It is our hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale ca

I love the hotel, nice and comfortable.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
I had lots of fun, and good memories, the hotel it was so quiet,and relax place, just I didnt like the pool area because they put to much clorexs .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2014
We love when our guests can make such great memories while staying with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina! Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed the comfort you found here and were able to relax while staying. Our indoor pool is monitored carefully to ensure that cleanliness is maintained at all times, but we do apologize if you were troubled in any way. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.