Ratings based on 1,292 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Proximity to where we wanted to be. Brunch
The staff treated us to a free brunch...very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA/OC/SD

Great water marina view balcony room!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Nice vaulted ceilings complimented my king size room with a beautiful marina view and balcony. Wonderful helpful staff and awesome pool/jacuzzi environment with views of the marina. Fun restaurant/bar with fire pits at outdoor tables. The layout of the complex can be a bit confusing the the sprawling layout makes it feel a bit more intimate and secluded. Feels out of the way and private despite close proximity to berkely central and striking distance from SF area, parks and hiking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. From your well-appointed guestroom all the way to the views from our windows, we are glad to know you enjoyed your overall stay. The layout of our accommodations is designed to maximize our guests’ views of the marina and we regret if you found it to be inconvenient. We hope to welcome you back again for your next visit to Berkeley.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Scottsdale AZ

Comments from a 40 year Professional Intl traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Bed was great. Of course, the cookies were outstanding.
Cons: Everything else. It was far superior when Doubletree managed the property.
Location: Leave the hotel as no strong reason to stay in facility unless you are going for good bed to sleep.
Old facility. Bathroom had light on (could not turn off) and bulb burned out after 2 days. Maint was going to replace bulb and switch but never did. Breakfast Buffett is at best on a "Zero (Bad)-10 (best)" rating a 3. Food was a 4, service was a 3 and hostess a 1. At the price charged I expected a omelet bar but could not do better then burned scrambled egg's possibly as old as me. Pastry was very dry and lacked flavor. We also had to request that they place clean plates on Buffett as they ran out and all that was available was dirty plates already rejected by other guest. View was great but who cares. I requested and was charged for a room with a view of the bay. I got a room with a view of the other rooms. Drive away from the hotel and the views are great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your point of view. It is with great regret that we learn of your stay, as this is not the experience that we intend for any of our guests. We take all reviews very seriously and will be certain to share your feedback with our management team so that we can resolve any matters you have brought to our attention, both with regard to maintenance and dining. It is our hope to welcome you back again so that we can regain your trust.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great location, friendly staff, unexpected charges

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: The staff from waiters to front desk, even cleaning staff, were extremely friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was great; beautiful views
Cons: Only charges that are specifically approved (signed for) should be added to my bill. I reviewed my credit card and discovered several extra charges.
Location: Berkely is a neat town; the shuttle will get you to the Bart to go into San Francisco.
My family stayed here for a nearby wedding. It was fun staying in the same place together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My favorite Pillows.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Incredibly comfortable bed and pillows, clean looking and smelling room. Everything in working order. Excellent customer service and free shuttle. Awe
Location: Shuttle can take you to town for free. No need to pay for a taxi. Free parking is a plus.
Incredibly comfortable bed and pillows, clean looking and smelling room. Everything in working order. Excellent customer service and free shuttle. Awesome views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno

The staff is great

Posted Nov 10, 2014
The hotel is nice, right on the marina. It was beautiful. We checked in late, after 10pm and the staff was wonderful. We are a playful couple and the girl checking us in jumped in on our jokes. We of course got the warm cookies, but we were more impressed by the staff. The rooms are older, but still nice. The bed wasn't my favorite, but I loved the pillows. In the morning we had the breakfast buffet and it was great. The service was wonderful. I am overall very happy and would absolutely stay agin!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room, probably the worst location possible.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Everything about the room itself was good. Comfortable bed, clean, everything in working order...but I think we were put in the worst located room in the entire hotel. We were on the ground floor nearest the lobby, the family pool, and a bank of elevators, so depending on what time of day/night it was, there was usually some kind of noise going on seemingly right outside our door. Also, a 4pm check-in is pretty late and they were not able to accommodate anything sooner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Beautiful view, comfort in each corner of the room

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: the Jazz band that plays on Saturday at 8. A great combination with the views of the Berkeley Marina
Cons: Front desk not a friendly service
Location: Really close to the downtown Berkeley
A beautiful hotel! A little expensive if you want a view to the marina. We stayed in the building #4 upper floor and got a little view of the marina. You need it to expend at least the double of the money if you want a room with view. Great installations. I recommended this hotel for you to stay and enjoy the view, swimming pool and jacuzzi!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom north carolina

Enjoyed the stay

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: For a one night stay it was comfortable.
Location: We did not go outside once we got to the room.
After a long day of travel the room was a welcome relief. The coffee available in the room was used and enjoyed. There was a desk available for storage or computer work. There was Wi-Fi available and easy to use. For a one night stay, we were very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aiken, SC

Awesome stay

Posted Nov 4, 2014
From the time I checked in until i checked out, the staff seemed very welcoming and family oriented amongst each other. Every person I encountered were very friendly and seemed to really love what they do. They went beyond what I expected to ensure my stay was pleasant. I will be definitely staying there on all my trips to that area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
At the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina we truly do love what we do and we so glad that our efforts were so well received. Your comments are such a pleasure to read as our associates strive to create the ultimate stay for each guest who visits. We will be sure to let everyone know you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you again.